2-27-14 Mittens AMPS 340 & dosing ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lyndsey & Mittens

Member Since 2013
Numbers aren't great today-bouncing from last nights low.

Not sure what do do regarding Mittens dose. He's been on 1.25u for the past week or 2-yesterday's numbers were great-in the blues all day & last nights PMPS was 134, & I gave him the 1.25u. +4 was 52 & since it was so early in the cycle I gave him 2T of HC food to boost his numbers (since he tends to nadir late). & I needed to get some sleep last night.

Not sure if I should decrease to 1u (or fat 1u) or continue to hold the 1.25...I'm 110% sure that if I hadn't given him HC food at +4 he would have dropped even lower.

Thoughts anyone?
 
You held the dose this morning and shot thru the bounce right?

When I knew my Lucian would have gone lower than I prevented, I would shoot thru the bounce that would always come next cycle for him and then lower it on the next shot time. But that's my Lucian.

You know your cat better than I do and you hold the syringe. If he can't hold the reduction, you can always take him back up, it's not a big deal.

I think it would be a good idea to reduce and get a few extra tests to add to his SS data. If, after a couple cycles, he's staying too high, take him back 1.25.

Next time you are steering with food, use his regular low carb and if he needs extra, go with a medium carb. Sometimes it is hard for them to get over the high carb. Sorta save that for emergencies.
 
I was going to say the same thing about the food as Debbie advised. I give my sugar a higher but still low carb snack (8%) near his nadir so he won't drop low enough to bounce. It's been working well.
 
Ditto on what they said very seldom do I pull out the big guns of the HC food with mine even when Autumn's in the 30s. Just the highest low/med carb stuff. I use a sharpie to mark all the food with its carb percentages so I know what I'm grabbing at a glance.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top