2/26 Zoot! AMPS=71;+1=75:+3=71;+7=74;+11.5=67;PMPS=72;+2=77;+3=51;+3.5=56; +4.5=57

Cinnie Cole

Member Since 2019
At 71 at AMPS, that is pretty low. Waited 15-20 min and got 73; gave him his dose about 15 min later. Lowest number I have shot at but I will monitor.

QUESTION: Zoot! would have "earned" a second reduction due to his dropping below 50 on Monday, but we decided to delay dropping the dose because we felt the depot was in play.

I think he probably has earned his .25 reduction, but what is your advice?

FYI, looking at last nights numbers, I suspect as well that he may have fallen below 50 yesterday but I could not get that PM+3 reading.

Thoughts?

Yesterday's thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-118-2-81-4-65-5-5-77.226168/#post-2533963
 
Last edited:
I think if you can feed him some higher carb food if need be and monitor past that +3 timeline where he sometimes drops you should be fine ....
yesterday's numbers look pretty steady
 
I think if you can feed him some higher carb food if need be and monitor past that +3 timeline where he sometimes drops you should be fine ....
yesterday's numbers look pretty steady
Thanks for getting back to me - I did give him the full dose (edited my first message above after I did) and will monitor. I gave him the 8% carb Lamb that he loves, so I think we are okay.

But I still wonder if he has already earned that .25 reduction from Monday's below 50 and whether I should drop him down tonight (depending on today's nadir and readings). What do you advise?
 
Thanks for getting back to me - I did give him the full dose (edited my first message above after I did) and will monitor. I gave him the 8% carb Lamb that he loves, so I think we are okay.

But I still wonder if he has already earned that .25 reduction from Monday's below 50 and whether I should drop him down tonight (depending on today's nadir and readings). What do you advise?


I'll defer to someone more experienced for that ...
I do know that back to back reductions on TR are sometimes discouraged- depending on the cat's history with reductions and their overall BG range I believe.
Seems like if and when a sugar kitty wants a reduction- they will really earn it with similar numbers again, so
 
I'll defer to someone more experienced for that ...
I do know that back to back reductions on TR are sometimes discouraged- depending on the cat's history with reductions and their overall BG range I believe.
Seems like if and when a sugar kitty wants a reduction- they will really earn it with similar numbers again, so
thanks - yes it would be tomorrow in any case if he earns it.....wasn't counting correctly pre-coffee :-)
 
Zoot is a tricky cat & I am a newbie, so I won't give advice though I do have a guess at "the answer" that a more senior person will give -- I will hold onto my hunch & see if it turns out to be right lol.

Of course, now that you've spoken of dose changes....these kitties like to do crazy things when they catch wind :P
 
I'd adjust your title and add the question mark so people know you are waiting for reduction advice...maybe add" dosing ? " after the BGs

That is one flat cycle...the benefit of shooting low to stay low :)
I think you should keep doing what you're doing- reductions are typically taken right away or sooner rather than later. I don't think you would " start" a reduced dose tomorrow- increases work that way.
We'll see what others think ...
 
Pretty flat indeed! So we will see how tonight goes, I am okay with shooting low (nervous, but okay), I do see that he is hanging in the 50-80 range but TR say should be under 100 for a week, so that is quite a few days off. So I am thinking no reductions (regardless of the 46 we had on Monday). Does that make sense?
 
Correct, I would wait for a week in green or another below 50 before reducing, since you are following TR.

Awesome surf today! :D Lantus at it’s best on shooting low to stay low.
 
Zoot is looking fabulous! Let him be your guide...unless he's under 50 shoot low to stay low...

So exciting isn't it? :joyful::joyful:
 
Correct, I would wait for a week in green or another below 50 before reducing, since you are following TR.

Awesome surf today! :D Lantus at it’s best on shooting low to stay low.
He is at 67 right now (+11.5) So is there a point at pre-shot where if his number is low, that I would have to forego shooting? Like what if his pre-shot goes lower - I just want to be prepared. I shoot in about 35 minutes.

EDIT: I see @Sue and Luci's shoot low to stay low comment (shoot unless under 50) - I will use that guidance.
 
Last edited:
QUESTION! So PM +3 seems to be Zoot!'s normal low point in the evening - should I preempt a low reading by giving food at +2 or +2.5?

I did not do that tonight, but am asking in general: if I know that is his cycle has it's low then, should I ultimately be managing it with food, if possible?
 
I'd reserve HC for anything under 40 in the future and maybe try a higher LC option or some MC food...you want less inflated numbers and a steady surf. Depending on how carb sensitive he is ... a higher LC option might give you those flat greens.
I think we had discussed before feeding a higher carb LC (maybe 10%...?) option at +2 to keep him from trying to hit borderline reduction numbers around that +3 mark.

IF you feel like you can't get him to come up quickly and have already tried LC - that's a different story, but you have a little time and some good data IMO
 
I'd reserve HC for anything under 40 in the future and maybe try a higher LC option or some MC food...you want less inflated numbers and a steady surf. Depending on how carb sensitive he is ... a higher LC option might give you those flat greens.
Right, I only had HC FF on hand (Chewy arrives tomorrow :-)) That is why I didn't give too much, but I think it won't move him up too much.

I think we had discussed before feeding a higher carb LC (maybe 10%...?) option at +2 to keep him from trying to hit borderline reduction numbers around that +3 mark.
Yeah, I did feed him LC (8%) at +2.5 thinking that would do it, but he still dropped lower than I thought.

Just checked him and he is 56.
 
Right, I only had HC FF on hand (Chewy arrives tomorrow :)) That is why I didn't give too much, but I think it won't move him up too much.


Yeah, I did feed him LC (8%) at +2.5 thinking that would do it, but he still dropped lower than I thought.

Just checked him and he is 56.


Sounds good.
 
I'd reserve HC for anything under 40 in the future and maybe try a higher LC option or some MC food.
Depends how carb sensitive your cat is, and at what point in the cycle you see the lower numbers. I always did HC for under 50, we don't want them lingering there. Under 40 got karo/syrup. Above 50, LC. That's what worked for me. Earlier in the cycle the insulin is stronger and you may need more carbs than you do later in the cycle. Remember, ECID. I think it was fine to go a little bit extra carbs. Good to see he's hovering and not dropping now.
 
Depends how carb sensitive your cat is, and at what point in the cycle you see the lower numbers. I always did HC for under 50, we don't want them lingering there. Under 40 got karo/syrup. Above 50, LC. That's what worked for me. Earlier in the cycle the insulin is stronger and you may need more carbs than you do later in the cycle. Remember, ECID. I think it was fine to go a little bit extra carbs. Good to see he's hovering and not dropping now.

true.. ECID
he did do well.. and does well with the 8% carbs too honestly.
 
@Wendy&Neko
would it maybe be a good idea then with his given trend to feed some higher carbed food with his shot maybe...? I think she might have already asked this though, so I might be repeating a conversation
I remember when Makoto started running out of room with reductions, someone had mentioned that LC and especially the 0-3% I was feeding, might not be enough to get him through to onset especially since he was a bit harder to bring up once he started to dive
 
true.. ECID
he did do well.. and does well with the 8% carbs too honestly.
@Wendy&Neko
Hopefully this is going okay - He is at 57 now and he got his last snack of 2 tbsp 8% LC food. Hopefully the numbers are rising now. Was I correct to feed him? Do you think he is going up on his own now or should I continue to monitor through the night?
 
he looks to be holding which is good :)

He might have gotten a small food bump ( although not much of one) which will wear off in a few hours but he seems to flatten out around +5 so far
I forget his snack schedule...does he usually get more food around +5 or +6 anyways?
 
The slightly higher carbs should wear off after a couple hours, so if that 4.5 is two hours, you should be OK with snacks out. Hopefully he got a snack before you went to bed as well.
would it maybe be a good idea then with his given trend to feed some higher carbed food with his shot maybe...?
Not as a general rule, unless you cannot monitor. I did occasionally give Neko higher carb (8%), if she was iffy on eating and wanted to boost her numbers a bit.
 
Back
Top