2/26 Tinka 113 PMPS (LC),115 +1,83 +2 (LC), 65 +3 (HC), 101 +4.5 (LC), 104 +5.5, 112 +6.5, 106 +7.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Good morning all,

Tinka was 117 this morning, I fed her 46g of LC food and just shot her with 2.0 U of insulin. Plan on getting a +2 and +3 to monitor?

Thanks

Ben
 
Hi Ben, the +2 is a good idea, this may be an active cycle for Tinka, looks like she is getting back to business after the skipped shot.

:cool:
If she drops a lot by +2 you might need to get a +2.5.
Wait and see.
 
I agree with giving a snack, but I might check at +2.5, just in case she's got a shark hunt in mind. The way she's dropped into amps and into green @+2 from blues last night has me thinking she might gather some momentum.
As it's early in the cycle she could just be getting started.
 
Thank you both, I just took a +2.5 she dropped to 63. Should I give her a snack now?
 
Just fed her 1 tsp of LC food, hoping that will help curve her up a little? Will check at +4
 
Hi all, Tanya here :) DH, Ben, did an excellent job with Tinka this morning allowing me a sleep in. Thanks to you all for your help! Her +4 was 64. I'll be getting a +5 in 10 mins. I'm amazed she's getting into lagoon surfing so soon after the dose reduction yesterday AM. She seems to be really working the juice ;)

Not sure if DH mentioned but we went back to using the accu-check since yesterday AM. So we only used the freestyle lite Thursday PM cycle and Friday both cycles. The accu-check does requires more blood is older but it's been working well for us. Plus when switching to freestyle lite I also used the accu-check for a comparison and as @Gill & George experoeiced, I also experienced the same thing where the reading on the freestyle lite was about 16 points less than the accu-check or the other glucometer Gill was using and that's a lot. So much so that if I was using it today it would have indicated a hypo value already. We've been using accu-check 2 months and I believe it's been working well for us. Would love to hear from others if it works well for them too.
 
Ok so her +5 was 61. We have to go out this afternoon and I'm getting to know Tinka's patterns that she typically will surf in the green's like this all the way to PMPS, but that typically requires a LC food or treat regularly and then she's often to full up to eat her dinner and then we shoot low and its difficult getting food into her in the eve to curve her. I'm not comfortable leaving her in green's till I see she's curving up and I'm not sure that'll happen without a little help. I'd rather she be safe while we out. I just fed her some lunch but not all of it incase I need to feed her again later to help curve her and I added a drop of honey. She never spikes up with a drop of honey. If anything it either doesn't affect much or gives a gentle curve or helps her surf. So I'll test again around +6 and see where we are at. Hopefully a food bump and then curving up slowly at +7 so we can head out safely. She sure does like to keep us busy ;)
 
I took her +6.5 and she is now 76, llikely a little food bump. Hopefully she'll curve up or at least surf in the 70's and up. We'll stay home for another 2 hours to be safe.
 
Nice to see Tinka working the juice so well after just 3 cycles on the new dose.
Makes me wonder how long it will be before she will be done with it.
Thanks Gill yes it's really exciting too see! Plus she's on a low dose steroid so I'm really pleased to see that she's getting these greens on the new dose! :)

I know it's early days but just thinking ahead. Is it possible to hv a cat in remission on low dose steroids or only tightly regulated? I'm not even sure she can stay on the low dose steroid long term but I'm struggling to wean her off lower without the itch returning. At the moment she's only on 1/16th of a tab in the AM and 1/8th of a tab in the PM and there's none or very little itch.
 
I don't know whether it's possible, but it will likely make it harder.

You are both doing a great job, and are certainly giving her the best chance.
:D:D:D
 
So Tinka is now 69 at +8. She doesn't seem to be curving up though and I'm heading out in 30 mins. I'm going to give her 2 tsp LC with 2 drops honey. The other drop of honey from earlier seems to have worn off pretty quick. Wondering if I hadn't fed her LC earlier if she'd actually have taken a reduction. Lately it seems harder to curve her up even with a little honey. Maybe she's looking for another reduction. Do you think if I test her in 30 mins time and she's the same or higher that would be safe to go out for 2 hours?
 
Surf safe today Tinka! :D It's hard to say on whether it's OK to go out. Now that you've given the honey, I would expect her to be up. How long are you going to be gone? If Neko was surfing, I could give her a little bit of high carbs and know she would be good for two hours.
s it possible to hv a cat in remission on low dose steroids or only tightly regulated?
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey 's Harvey was on a low dose of steroids and well regulated in quite small insulin doses.
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey 's Harvey was on a low dose of steroids and well regulated in quite small insulin doses.
He came close to going into remission until his other health issues intervened. Never say never.

Tinka is rocking this dose. It's good that you kept her surfing - the longer you can keep her on insulin, the better chance that her remission, if she ends up going OTJ, will stick.

Shout out to Ben for pitching in and for posting for guidance. Great teamwork! :)

Now, Tinka, cut the beans a break and let them go out for a while to unwind.
 
Good job, Tinka. Beans need to get out every now and then.
Thanks Tricia very true! We are celebrating our 8th year wedding anniversary this week :) Just went for a swim at the hot pool. Home to test, feed and shoot. PMPS was 112 and we just fed and shot 2u. Home for another 30mins or so will get in another BG then we having a bite out. Can't remember the last time we ate out has prob been 5 months! My mom can get in a +2 and feed if needed :) Hopefully she behaves tonight ;)
 
Last edited:
You and DH certainly deserve this, Tanya. You've been working very hard to get Tinka doing better, and she is! Enjoy your evening, and happy anniversary!

I would recommend your mom get that +2 if she can. I'll try to check back later to see how it's going.
 
You and DH certainly deserve this, Tanya. You've been working very hard to get Tinka doing better, and she is! Enjoy your evening, and happy anniversary!

I would recommend your mom get that +2 if she can. I'll try to check back later to see how it's going.
Thank you Tricia that's so kind of you:) We had a lovely dinner out. Got in a +1 before we left which was 117, mom got a +2 which was 83 and fed her 2 LC treats. We just got back half an hour ago and got +3 and she's dropped to 65. Seems like it's going to be an active cycle, but it's already 11:30pm so we gave her 1tsp LC & 2 drops honey. Hoping this will steer her up. I'm surprised by her back to back low greens today. Almost looks like she's trying to earn another reduction. Could she still be affected by the 2.25u depot? How many cycles till it doesn't take affect? She's keeping us busy today. Just hoping we won't have to be up all hours.
 
Last edited:
Hi Tanya.

I'm glad you and DH were able to go out and relax together. It's really important to take care of your mental health (and your DH).


Could she still be affected by the 2.25u depot? How many cycle till it doesn't take affect?
Normally you can expect the depot to affect the BG up to six cycles. Although it's only been four cycles on this dose, you did skip a shot in between, so I think it is unlikely that there is much, if any, of the 2.25 depot left.

You and Ben did a great job steering her today. Tonight's cycle is looking pretty similar. You may need to be steering for a while. If you feel you really need to get some sleep, you could try adding a little more honey and see if you can get her to surf higher. Of course, there is the concern it could wear off and she could drop, so if you can't set an alarm and get up to test, you could really carb her up and abort the cycle.
 
Ok so we just got in a +4.5 and she's now 101. Tbh I was surprised by that increase as lately 1-2 drops home doesn't make much difference. Just checked with DH as we are using raw honey and he thought 2 drops was about 1/8 tsp but I've been estimating wayyy less than that. An 1/8 tsp is about 7 drops I just tried to measure it so that's probably what she got at +3. Whoops, well I guess that'll sided things along so we can get to bed soon. Almost 1 am now. Giving her last feed now as she only got a tsp earlier. How many more tests do I need to do, 3 more, 2 of which are non food influenced? How many hours after food equals non food influenced? Thanks!
 
Hi Tanya.

I'm glad you and DH were able to go out and relax together. It's really important to take care of your mental health (and your DH).



Normally you can expect the depot to affect the BG up to six cycles. Although it's only been four cycles on this dose, you did skip a shot in between, so I think it is unlikely that there is much, if any, of the 2.25 depot left.

You and Ben did a great job steering her today. Tonight's cycle is looking pretty similar. You may need to be steering for a while. If you feel you really need to get some sleep, you could try adding a little more honey and see if you can get her to surf higher. Of course, there is the concern it could wear off and she could drop, so if you can't set an alarm and get up to test, you could really carb her up and abort the cycle.
Thanks Tricia for this info:) We ended up feeding a bit more honey then planned, DH thought a drop was bigger than iv been using so we def saw a bit of bump up from +3 to +4.5. We used about 7 drops which is only around 1/8 of a tsp but its more than we usually use. We just fed her last LC meal which she just finished at +5. How long do I have to wait to get a non influenced food test. We'll stay up longer till she's safe or set an alarm at a last resort.
 
Sorry, Tanya, I was off for a bit. Stuff here at the house require attention. :rolleyes:

Generally we say two non-food influenced tests. I usually did one 30 min after last food and then one 60 min later and called it a night.
 
Sorry, Tanya, I was off for a bit. Stuff here at the house require attention. :rolleyes:

Generally we say two non-food influenced tests. I usually did one 30 min after last food and then one 60 min later and called it a night.
No problem Tricia totally understand and really appreciate all your help. That's great as I did one test at +5.5, 30mins after she ate and she was stable and next one will be in 15 mins at 2:30am which will be a +6.5 If she the same or higher that should be good then. If not I'll get another at +7. Thanks again for your help you're a star!!! :)
 
Ok so Tinka is now 112 at +6.5 that's been 1.5 hrs since LC food and 3.5 hrs since HC. She bumped up from last reading too so I'm thinking we're good for the night almost 3am here so we're all ready for bed. Thanks everyone for your help today! Thanks @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey for supporting us through the late night much appreciated :)
 
Tanya! You are supposed to be in bed! I see you got another test in and Tinka snuck down just a smidge. Give her some food with honey and go to bed. That's where I'm headed now. Nite!
28.gif
28.gif
28.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top