JenM
Member Since 2013
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-24-tink-amps-172-2-200-reduction-earned.133659/
Well, Tink threw me a nice low PMPS (89) last night - so I stalled for 30min to see which way he was headed. I've not had great results shooting green with him. Anything over 100 usually is fine... but under that and he likes to dip too low. So, I retested half hour later and he was up to 92. Though that's essentially the same number - I shot anyway... figured at least he wasn't still falling. WELL... that didn't work so well. At +2 he was already in the 50s. His regular lc meal did nothing - he went under 50. I broke out the mc (11%) and that kept him surfing in the 50s, but I had to give him a whole 6oz can of it to accomplish this.
I am not sure whether I should reduce again or not. He was bouncing pretty good this morning (our first trip to the pink floor this month), so I did give the 4u dose this morning - but thinking about reducing tonight. What do you guys think? On one hand, last night was only the 9th cycle on the newly reduced dose - so I'm thinking the depot may have still been contributing. I also shot quite low. Still, this is his second dip under 50 within those 9 cycles.
Part of me thinks the safer thing to do is to reduce again... but we've been making so much progress... I'd hate to reduce too much too soon and mess things up. I'm thinking that perhaps if I make it a rule to feed him mc, rather than lc, on cycles when his PS is under 100?? I don't know what to do. Appreciate any input.
Well, Tink threw me a nice low PMPS (89) last night - so I stalled for 30min to see which way he was headed. I've not had great results shooting green with him. Anything over 100 usually is fine... but under that and he likes to dip too low. So, I retested half hour later and he was up to 92. Though that's essentially the same number - I shot anyway... figured at least he wasn't still falling. WELL... that didn't work so well. At +2 he was already in the 50s. His regular lc meal did nothing - he went under 50. I broke out the mc (11%) and that kept him surfing in the 50s, but I had to give him a whole 6oz can of it to accomplish this.
I am not sure whether I should reduce again or not. He was bouncing pretty good this morning (our first trip to the pink floor this month), so I did give the 4u dose this morning - but thinking about reducing tonight. What do you guys think? On one hand, last night was only the 9th cycle on the newly reduced dose - so I'm thinking the depot may have still been contributing. I also shot quite low. Still, this is his second dip under 50 within those 9 cycles.
Part of me thinks the safer thing to do is to reduce again... but we've been making so much progress... I'd hate to reduce too much too soon and mess things up. I'm thinking that perhaps if I make it a rule to feed him mc, rather than lc, on cycles when his PS is under 100?? I don't know what to do. Appreciate any input.
Last edited:
I wish I knew why some days he's so low at PMPS. I never seem to catch that when I do a curve. I mean, they're great numbers... but why does he surf so long (or is he - was it because he went lower than I thought, etc??) on some days, but not most days. Why can't there just be a rule book for FD that the sugarcats actually follow?!?!
