2/26 Smudges Lantus Adjustment or Remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenni

Member Since 2015
Hello,

It's been awhile since I last posted which is great because it means Smudges is doing great. His numbers this year have stayed in the blue and green. He receives .5 units of Lantus twice a day. Tonight I decreased his dose to .25 units. Since he has dipped below 100 multiple times now, do I keep him at .25 units and see how it goes or take him off Lantus completely to see how that goes?

Thanks so much for all of the advice and help you've given us!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1WavmJDiU4YEeRfAkLUU1qDQ_7ezj1FCo4kET4h4oZhQ/edit?usp=sharing
 
First of all are you following SLGS or TR? Are you testing with a human or pet meter? You don't have any night tests after pmps so it's impossible to know what the nadir is. Normal numbers are 50-120 on a human meter. Can you set an alarm to test at +5-7 at night? I wouldn't stop lantus at this point but you do need more info.
 
Under SLGS he earned that reduction to .25 with the drops below 90. Congrats on the reduction, I would hold him at .25 units until he drops again. And you should be evaluating the curve each week with a curve. You want to make sure he's not going too low on a dose.

His spreadsheet does no look like a kitty that's quite ready to go OTJ. But overall he's looking good. :)
 
I agree - he doesn't look quite ready for an OTJ trial yet, but he does look nicely controlled. Congratulations! Enjoy measuring that 0.25u dose! ;)

I'd also try to get a test before bed. So many kitties have their lowest numbers at night that it's really, really helpful to get a night test. Just to keep Smudge safe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top