2/26 Simon PMBG 245 PMPS +7=98

Status
Not open for further replies.

martimar

Member Since 2013
Good morning,
We were monitoring Simon late last night because we gave him 2 units after a reading of 70. (We are very new at this). His number this morning is 162. We are awaiting advice on his dose and feeding. Thank you! Marie & Jim
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Good morning!

Is someone going to be home today to get some spot checks on Simon? If not, at what +time will you be leaving?
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

No, I need to leave very soon for work and won't be home til 4:00...about 8 hours.
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Right now, I don't think you have enough data to shoot and leave Simon on his own. I would skip the shot this morning and we may want to think about a dose adjustment for this evening so you aren't worrying about Simon all day. This scenario isn't uncommon. Once you have more data, you'll know how Simon responds and what's safe.
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Thank you so much Sienne & Gabby. Will keep you post an update later in the day. When I do, should a post as a new topic?

I will feed him a can of Fancy Feast now. Is there any reason to leave him some dry food today while I'm at work?
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

No need for dry food -- ever! Dry is an absolute last resort measure. It amounts to feeding cookies to a diabetic. Since you're not shooting, there's no chance that Simon will drop low.

We open a condo on a daily basis -- one condo, per cat, per day. So, you've opened your condo for Tues. The updates, etc. will go here. One thing that I noticed last night, though. If you want to post new test data, indicate you've got a question, etc., you need to edit the subject line. However, you edit the subject line in your first post in the condo. It's that subject line in the first post that is visible to everyone on the board if they are scanning.
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Hi Marie, sorry I didn't get around to welcome you yesterday. You are in good hands here. Once you get the hang of it here, look around theres a lot of great info. Even more a lot of great people who "get it". The one thing I was really suprised at is how this "dance" brought Ruben and I even closer. Didn't think that was possible.
The experts here are truly gaurdian angels for our kitties. Breath, your doing great!!
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Hi guys .. Glad that Sienne was here to answer your questions ... this was a nice start to the day, but better safe then sorry especially when you have such little data .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 Dose Advice?

Thank you all for your kind encouragement. Can't take another night like last night; especially on a work night!! ;-)
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185

I got home from work and Simon is doing great. The really good news is...using the rice sock, I GOT A DROP OF BLOOD ON THE FIRST TRY!!!! :-D Simon is one hour away from what would be his evening dose and meal. Is there any advice yet, or do I test again in an hour and check in?
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185

welcome to Lantus Land!

It looks like you're having kind of a trial by fire, getting lower numbers this early in the game. I think Simon's starting dose was a little high.

The Tight Regulation Protocol that most of us use calls for a starting dose of 0.25 units per kg of ideal weight (or of his current weight if he is underweight). For a 10 pound cat, that works out to just over 1 unit. Instead of using the formula, some people just choose to start at 1 unit. How much does Simon weigh now, and do you think he is at a good weight, underweight, or overweight? Since Simon hasn't been on insulin long, it might be easiest just to start over at a lower dose and work from there.

Either way, get the test at +12 and if you're not sure, post for advice.
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185 PMBG 245 Dose Advice?

Hi Libby & Lucy - After reading all that I have in just a short time, I would agree that his starting dose seems high. Simon weighs 12 lbs. and I think he is at a good weight. I just posted his latest reading as PMBG 245, but now I guess I should have put +12 245? Still not sure how all this works. :?
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185 PMBG 245 Dose Advice?

If you want to use the weight based formula (initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms), the dose would be approx. 1.25u. Alternatively, you can opt for what Libby suggested and use 1.0u as your starting dose. If you're having to skip shots, reducing the dose makes good sense so you can comfortably give insulin twice a day.

It's your call how much to shoot. It is much easier to measure 1.0u, though!
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185 PMBG 245 Dose Advice?

Welcome to LL! You are doing a great job. FD is a tough disease. Simon sure got lucky coming to your house. :-D :-D
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: 2/26 Simon AMBG 162 +11 185 PMBG 245 Dose Advice?

Hi Marie. I just wanted to drop in and welcome you LL. You're in the best place for Simon and you. There is a lot of information to digest so don't worry about learning it all at once. Everyone here is willing to help in any way we can.

Take care and have a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top