2/26 Ripley PMPS 309, +3.5 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

I didn't increase her dose this morning.
I was expecting to do so, but when I saw that 136 at +6.5 last night I decided to give this dose of 1.5u some more time.
Plus, I won't be able to monitor/test nadirs (during the day) this week until Friday.
So I'm now considering increasing to 1.75 (if the yellows & blues continue) Wed or Thurs...

Ripley's doing well this morning. Greeted me with very quiet chirps (normally they're loud squawks), so maybe I woke her up before she was ready. (I know how that feels!)

I decided to serve b'fast without decorations (crushed freeze-dried treats) to see if she would it eat it anyway; she sat there looking at it, then walked over to the table where I keep her treats, jumped up onto it (she's not much of a good jumper!), and nosed the bags of treats, then looked at me. Jeesh. Talk about spoiled. This girl knows what she wants. (And, yes, she did get them.) BUT, she still didn't eat. She was hovering near her bowl, just staring. So I left her alone to check on her LB ~ she followed me into the laundry room, but then left quickly (I assumed to go eat). When I got back to her food bowl, she had left a cute, perfect little poo next to her bowl. :o :roll: :?:

I didn't know if she had to use the LB but got deterred when she saw me sifting thru it (which has never stopped her before, as she sometimes likes to show off her LB-using abilities in my presence), or if she was trying to tell me something. Sooooo, I cleaned up the 'gift,' and put her b'fast into a different bowl to see if that would make a difference.

She scarfed it down.

I have no idea what was wrong with her first food bowl -- it's the same one she's been using, um, her whole life. I'll never know. Maybe there was some residual dishsoap? Maybe my drooler licked it clean, and Ripley was offended? I have no idea. The things we do...


I hope everyone has a good day today!
Sending vines to Chyna & her worried bean, and to all other kitties & beans who need them.
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

Morning Josie ~O)

And good morning Miss Finicky :lol: Interesting way to ask for a different bowl...... ohmygod_smile
Good luck with the dosing :smile:

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

Good luck with the new dose! Oh my on Miss picky. What is up with the poo? You little buggar. Have a great day Josie!
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

Hi Josie. Looks like some blue numbers coming for Ripley, maybe some green too. They get use to those freeze dried treats crumbled on their food pretty quick. We have a civvie like that. I hope her little present she left by her bowl was a one time incident.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

Hi guys .. hmm what an odd morning for you! Wonder what was up with the food bowl and the poo .. probably just ripley being a cat, you know how that goes! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

Bit of a strange morning for you Josie. :lol: Wonder what Ripley was thinking? Sounds like a good idea to hold off on the increase until you can be around more. That's a nice low yellow to start, Ripley, blues are next ok sweetie?
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley AMPS 214

:lol: Ripley is such a character! It does sound like she was sending a message... very, how should we say, anal expressive? It could have been that she was offended that you were occupying the LB. We keep Kismet's LB in our bathroom, and if someone is in there and doesn't leave the door open when he has to go, he will either yell, and I mean HOWL outside the door until you let him in, or he will go downstairs under the living room table and leave his prezzies there. He is more inclined to use the bathroom at the same time as me, but if DH is in there, he is more inclined to go under the table. (Maybe DH's toileting offends him :lol: ) I don't know. It's pretty rare, though, and has only happened 2 times.

Best of luck with the dosecrease on Friday. I think K is ready for one, too.

I hope Ripley has a great day (spoiled girl!) and you, too!
 
2/26 Ripley PMPS 309

Hi, all -- thanks for the visits today!

Ripple is back in the pink. Very LIGHT pink, but still pink. (sigh)
I don't know if she got into the blues today. I had an appt. that took most of the afternoon; I hate not being able to test.

I'll test tonight at +2/3, then do a midnight alarm test.

She's eating, but keeps pausing & looking at me as though something's missing. I'm not sure what else to add to make her happy. I think she would love it if her food was 10% Wellness Turkey and 90% freeze-dried shrimp/turkey :roll: .

She seems to be 'over' tuna flakes and oregano, and didn't like the parmesan cheese from several weeks ago. Also not crazy about fortiflora (but I'm avoiding it anyway due to her constipation issues). Hmmm -- tuna water?? But I don't want her to become addicted to tuna... She really likes Cowboy Cookout, so maybe I'll start adding more of that (right now she gets 2oz Wellness, .5oz CC). Miss Finicky/Picky is right! Well-earned nicknames indeed. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/26 Ripley PMPS 309

Wow, Miss Ripley sure made quite the statement this morning about her fuds, didn't she? Kitties are such characters? One of my civvies also gets "funny" about his food bowl, too...he doesn't poo next to it, but sometimes he prefers a different bowl, even though he's also had the same bowl most of his life, and will eat out if it 98% of the time. Sometimes I really wish these guys could talk!

Maybe Ripley is sick of Wellness. Trix isn't super-duper finicky, but she does get sick of certain fuds, and I have to occasionally rotate something new in, to keep her interested. There are days that Trix will take two bites of her fuds, then attempt to dive into civvie kibbles ohmygod_smile ...always keeping us on our toes, these furry little ones!

Have a great night, Josie!!
 
Miss Ripley! Did you poor next to your bowl? Major message there, mom....just what does it mean :lol:

Josie....Ripley needs an increase to her dose as soon as you are able to feel safe doing it....but sooner rather than later.

Hope you find no more surprises in places they shouldn't be ;-)
 
Hi, Marje -- "major messages" indeed! After seeing the most recent test, I'm rethinking my decision to incr. at the end of the week. Tomorrow am = up to 1.75u. I miss the days of decreasing her dose. Maybe that's what she was trying to tell me this morning: "Mom, change the flavor of my food AND increase my insulin!"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top