2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, PMPS 368 and...he's an AcroCat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Condo from 2/24

Today's supposed to be the day we get the acro results. nailbite_smile

The last few days have been kinda all over the place. A few blues, but also yellows and pinks again. No green in 10 cycles; 5.5 units for 16 cycles now. I think it's time for an increase to 5.75 units. I gave 5.5 units the benefit of the doubt since it gave me greens and blues again, but it's starting to disappoint me! Thoughts? Take a look at our rainbow of a spreadsheet!
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

you might want to have your vet call msu for the results. i'd hate to see you have to wait til monday.

dose... it's *possible* pablo dipped into green on 2/24 and you're seeing a high before a break with this 331 @ +8.5. if it were me, i'd wait to see how the rest of the cycle goes before increasing by 0.25 unit.
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

Jill & Alex said:
if it were me, i'd wait to see how the rest of the cycle goes before increasing by 0.25 unit.

You mean wait to see what my PMPS is? I just want to make sure I understand you.


And....I called MSU myself. His IGF-1 is 397. I have an acro cat. :cry:

See here: Thread in High Dose
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

(((Holly))) I am sorry to see this.
I'm gonna just say, this board has a huge support group with big hearts for acro kitties. One of them is Carolyn/Spot who does frequent LL often, plus you got Jojo who can help out when she can.
So please know, ur not alone. ((((hugs))))
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

yes, i'd wait to see if pablo drops into a better pmps before making the decision to increase.

(((holly))), i'm sorry about the diagnosis, but at least you now know what's going on. the acro moms will be better able to answer your questions than me. i'm sure they'll be posting soon. i'm going to send a shout out to a few of them now...
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

(((Holly))) I am so sorry about the diagnosis. I hope it's of some comfort to you that you at least know what you are dealing with and are in the best place to get help.
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +8.5 331, +11.5 329; Increase? asap

Okay, so +8.5 was 331 (1.5 hours after eating a can of FF) and +11.5 is 329. Increase?
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

Hi Holly
I just read about the acro diagnosis you received for Pablo today.
At least now you have some answers.
I am sorry to say that I have not followed your condo very much but I was just looking
at Pablo's ss and I was wondering what brought you to testing him for acro?
I have not done so for Max, nor was I widely advised to do so and we are at 5.75u (just down form 6) and are now seeing some greens.
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

Randi & Max said:
I was wondering what brought you to testing him for acro?
I have not done so for Max, nor was I widely advised to do so and we are at 5.75u (just down form 6) and are now seeing some greens.

Some angels following my threads mentioned that I ought to poke around on the High Dose board because I was experiencing insulin resistance with Pab. Someone in a thread even said that it should be considered if a cat reaches 5-6 units without seeing any regulation. Since I work for a vet, there wasn't a cost other than for the actual tests, so I figured I could swing $70 for two tests. I'm glad I did.

If I were you, I'd browse that board and ask for opinions. In my opinion, you will never regret doing tests to rule out diagnoses...if they don't have it, great. If they do, now you know and can do something about it.

If not for this board, Pablo would probably be dead, and certainly not diagnosed with acro. My vet gave me a blank stare when I told him I was doing the tests. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

Hi Holly,

I'm sorry about Pablo's DX.... but at least now you know.
There are quite a few acromoms on this board so I'm certain that you will get lots of helpful help. (((Holly)))
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

Holly -

Holly & Pablo said:
you will never regret doing tests to rule out diagnoses...if they don't have it, great. If they do, now you know and can do something about it.

I think this is the absolute right attitude. The knowledge gives you so much more power to make choices and rest easy knowing what you now know.
 
Re: 2/26: Pablo's AMPS 182, +5.5 220, dose advice needed

I'm sorry, Holly. :sad:

The good news is that there's no better place to get the support you need.
 
Thanks for the encouragement and hugs! I haven't cried yet...though the night is still young, so the tears may be a-flowin' soon.

I increased to 5.75 units tonight, and my +2 was 400! OUCH. Bright red. I'll keep you posted.

Again, thank you, thank you, thank you. Everyone on this board is amazing. Do I still get to have a Lantus condo daily? I like Lantus Land...I don't want to leave. :cry:
 
Leaving is not allowed! :lol: This is your home, the difference is now you can have two homes and two families here, if you want them.
 
echoing the others in saying i'm sorry the result was positive but very grateful you tested and got the answer. now you know what you're dealing with, and you can dig in and keep him healthy.

you'll get lots of tips on handling the dosing from the other acromoms. don't know of any other place that has the same great resource (multiple acromoms all working together), so we are all very lucky.
 
Hi Holly,
I'm an acromom too. I'll be checking in periodically and can offer you advice and support as well. You stay here, but also we'll love to see you pop by HD group too. We've been a bit adrift since the recent board switch, but we often have entertaining discussions about commonalities we all see in our babies. You will find the HD group the most unique family atmosphere with some truly incredibly intelligent and kind posters. However, you have a Lantus kitty and many of us L/L (lantus/levemir) acromoms peruse this board so you're perfectly fine staying in your First Family as well as visiting your new one.

((((hugs)))) Breathe. No tears. Remember, nothing changes. Pablo has no idea he's got acromegaly, he just knows he's got a great mama. You are about to embark on a journey that will bring you so close to your cat that you will be shocked. Acrocats are known to be very special, very inspiring cats.
 
hi holly.
okay so know we knew what we suspected is true. knowledge is power. however pablo can't read lab reports so remember as far s he is concerned today is just another day, snackus, sleepus, purrs, eat a flying bug if really lucky. all diabetic cats are special, acros are extra special. (you'll know what i mean by that later on).
how it works is this, you have your LL condo everyday just like normal. there is plenty of other acros around right there. but you are also a card carrying member of HD ISG now and can open a condo there whenever you want, for any questions you have about acro stuff (although you can get answers about that from both ISG's, acro is not some 'rare condition' anymore and plenty know enough about it answer questions anywhere on board).HD ISG happens to be a very supportive place and would be good to introduce yourself. there is also the catacro board, a sister board of FDMB's that has info and support which you shoudl register for.
so what has changed for how you will handle this? first you have to understand what acro is. your cat probably has a fully functioning pancreas, the high BG numbers are not about lack of pancreatic insulin output, they are about hormone output 'blocking' the insulin from working, insulin resistance. the output is not something that can be controlled, rather it is something you learn to 'flow with'...there will be times of great insulin resistance, rev ups of hormone output and times of ebbing, or phase down eras when insulin needs are reduced. how the hell are you suppose to know what to shoot then? what i suggest is that you get to a L dose that gives you some nice hours of blue, and pick up some R insulin~ which is a very handy tool for acros. R is very flexible and lets you use it with a scale (including zero being on that scale) allowing for quick corrections should GH output be changing at times. like you will never get to a L dose that gives the perfect curve and be able to stay at that dose forever. L doses will go up and they will go down in response to what pablo's acro~ness is doing. due to the shed action of L insulin it is harder to make quick changes, but by adding R into mix you can compensate.
every acrocat is different. you might be like nina/KB and hang out at a fairly low dose for long time making little changes up and down to that dose or you might be like lorna/girlcat and have big rev ups and phase downs on the dosing scale. time will tell.

so things to add to your toolbox:
~a bottle of R insulin.
~lots of cans of HC. because you probably have a functioning pancreas if you do have a cycle that is giving you lower than needed numbers feeding LC will cause pancreas to spit out more insulin, so need that HC around to bring a number up.
things to know:
~do not try to pill your cat or let anyone else do so. pills get crushed and syringed in with water, or the med given by injection or topical, most meds are available in other forms than pills. (this is cause of the overgrowth of soft tissue on throat that occurs in mot acrocats at some point. btw, also the reason for the snoring most acrocats do).
~do not let vets or tech do jug sticks to draw blood. (also cause of the same reason. along those lines too, if anesthia is ever needed say for dental or something, let vet know that they will want to have small ET tube handy to use, like more kitten's throat size than adult cat's).
~if you notice any 'arthritic type' of things going on with back/back legs, talk about it so that supplements can be started.
thinks to do:
~introduce yourselves over on HD ISG.
~sign up for catacro board.
~get the R and HC in house.
~read and learn and ask questions. people are around to help you!
~relax. this so did not occur overnight, hence nothing needs to change overnight, and remember above all nothing has changed in pablo's eyes.

any questions right now? sure you will have plenty of questions after you've had some time to digest, no worries we will help you.
~jojo
 
Sorry to hear Pablo is an acrokitty, but knowing will help you take care of him. Good you could do the test yourself and not have to argue about it, such a waste of time.

Nice AMPS this morning. I would love for all of KB's tests to be blue! So you're doing well.

((( Holly )))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top