2/26 P - AMPS: 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Member Since 2014
Oh yeah! Woke up to some sunshine this morning! Just barely, but hey, I'll take it!

Just got back from the vet. We went ahead and got another full blood panel and a urinalysis. Should have the results in a few days. The vet also said his teeth are fine, a little tartar build up, so I should get P a cleaning in about 6 months. P had the "blues" this morning. There's a certain look he gets in his eyes, and I can just tell he doesn't feel like he normally does. Nothings ever been wrong, he just has off days sometimes. Even before he was diagnosed. He also had some loose poop last night, and diarrhea this morning. And one of the fur kids puked, but I don't know which. But when we got to the vet, he was his same old self. Roaming all over the room, rubbing his face on everything he could reach, loving on the vet tech...he's always so curious. He's acting fine now.

The vet said he wants to wait to see about the results before doing anything about the diarrhea and vomiting, since I'm not sure if it was P that vomited or not. And he was really impressed with my testing and spreadsheet, but he thinks I'm tweaking the dose too much and I'm not surprised. He was the one who told me to give the 2 units (his original dose) no matter what P's BG was. The vet seems to think our magic number is 4.25 units and wants me to hold that dose for a week, and not to change unless I get a low pre-shot number. Humph. I think I'm going to keep with 4 units for now.
 
Sometimes you have to go with your gut. The vet isn't the one staying up all night with your hypo kitty. You've been dealing with P from the start, use your best judgment.

Because of my work with Lucian, my vet doesn't give advice at all, but asked what I need. She still does his checkup and geriatric panel when needed, but leaves his FD to me, with the words, and I quote, "You know your cat better than I do."

Hang in there, it will get easier as you gain knowledge. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

BTW, nice start today!
 
My thinking is that we saw some really good numbers on 4 and although he could go lower, I'd like to see those numbers a lot more. The 4.25 didn't seem to do anything for him so I want to try out the 4 some more. And if my vet gets upset, he will just have to get over it. We're moving soon, so I'll be a getting a new vet anyways. I can't complain too much though, the visit went a lot better than the last time I talked to the vet on the phone. He was mad when I lowered the dose. But he was so impressed with everything I was asking about because of all the research I've done. I think he may be jumping on board with letting me take the reins...

:YMHUG:
 
I haven't gotten many tests in today...Tues and Thurs are my long days at school. So far though, he's looking pretty good. +6: 308. That's the lowest he's been during the day for a while. Maybe he was even lower earlier, or maybe he'll go down a little bit more after his food spike...
 
Ahhh I didn't know about your schedule, I was concerned that you hadn't posted. Good to know everything is ok. :YMHUG:
 
He's just barely dipping into those yellows, but it's still good to see. :-D

Hopefully he'll get a little more used to them and therefore, less prone to bouncing when I decide to change his dose. I don't want to talk it up too much, just in case he can hear and decides he wants to throw me a curveball!
 
Nice to see those yellows! Looks like he's bouncing from them this AM. :? It looks like his body is super-sensitive to bringing him down from those pinks even just a little bit!
 
I think so too. I think it would be best to work our way down more slowly. Get him used to these yellows before doing anything else...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top