2/26 Oren; AMPS-425; +3-349; +5-345;+6-364;+7-330; +8-398;+PMPS-375,pm+5-359

Status
Not open for further replies.
question; though I only have a few pm mid cycle tests, is there a reason why they seem to be so much higher than the daytime mid cycle numbers?
 
question; though I only have a few pm mid cycle tests, is there a reason why they seem to be so much higher than the daytime mid cycle numbers?

Enjoy it. In my case more often than not the drops were at night but are now shifting to the day. Nature of the beast. No reason.
 
Some cats are higher in one cycle than the other. Take Blackie, for instance, her day time cycle is better than her night time one. Some cats are higher during the daytime, than the night. ECID. Like Carla said, it's the nature of the beast. You're doing a wonderful job with Oren. Keep up the excellent work!
 
oops, entered wrong number in the title before for +5; dropped to 345 from 349. Hardly at all! and already back up by +6, 364. I think tonight maybe a dose increase?
 
Last edited:
hm, wonder what's up here, +7, down to 330. wonder if that 364 was a bad test? (he moved at last minute, and the blood smeared a bit on my finger, was able to get the reading, but?)
 
looks like she's in a bounce cycle today from hitting the blues yesterday.

I'd take a break from the hourly testing while she's high like this. Save your strips! You probably just need a pmps and one before bed test today.
 
Last edited:
Oops I just posted in your condo from yesterday with the .25 dosing info.

Oren is bouncing, also known as save a strip time. Until the bounce breaks you don't need to test so often - but look how good at it you've become :)
 
yes; i wasn't planning any more besides PMPS and maybe another before bed. I'm amazed at how much better it is going though!
so regarding the syringes; that paper which includes the printable scale for finer dosing w/ the BD needles seems good. But is it ONLY usable for the BD syringes? I maybe able to get syringes from Walgreens for 1/2 what I paid for the BD's ... but they're 'generic' Walgreen brand... Curious what other people use and where they get the syringes. Walgreens told me i don't officially need a prescription, just proof of insulin use (that is, show them the box from the insulin). I still have 30 some of the original 100 BD's I bought, but they are also the 1/2" (12.47mm) length and I wonder if people here use the shorter needles, like 6mm or 8mm?
 
Definitely get the before bed test to check if the bounce is breaking yet.

I prefer the short needles.

We don't have Walgreens so I can't comment on their syringes but the coloured water method and using sample syringes that I dmentioned in yesterday's condo will work with any syringes. If you make up samples of each dose - .25, .5, .75 and 1 at the same time and compare to each other you should be able to get them pretty accurate. Take plenty of time doing that and getting them just right then it's relatively easy to compare the dose you've drawn.
 
he's weird today. the pmps shot went down a bit: from 398 +8 to 375 (and somehow, I failed 2 attempts, w/ E-6 tests, yeah, how NOT to save a strip.) give me strength.
 
the paper strip templates were only for BD.

The important part about dosing is that you can repeat a dose, or decrease/increase it when you need to. Your 1.0u doesn't have to be the same as anyone else's - just consistent for you. The trouble we've had here is that most of the syringes seem to have inconsistent markings. They get printed on the syringes but if you compare 5 or 10, you'll see that the markings don't all start the same distance from the top, making the markings off. Some cats are very sensitive to slight changes in dose, and it can matter. That's why so many people have added calipers to the routine. They cost as little as $7 from Harbor Freight and then you basically ignore the markings on each syringe. Your caliper is the measuring unit. If that makes sense.

You can also do the sample syringe that Serryn's talking about - that works really well, especially if you have a petsitter giving a shot.

by the way, regarding Jill's post yesterday: we can help you with either the Start Low Go Slow method or the Tight Regulation Protocol. Most people follow TR. I think we have one long-term member that's following SLGS, other than that, i'm not sure off the top of my head if anyone else is. However, if you want to follow the SLGS method, just make sure you say so. Put it in your signature line or mention it when you're asking for help with dosing - anything so we know.
 
never left 300's all day. I'm going to bed. and you all probably think I'm crazy, but I'm getting the fructosamine tomorrow. I need a more complete pic of the past 2-3 wks. since he seems to be all over the board in my wk. of testing. I'm really trying to understand everything and do the best I can. it's all i can do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top