2/26 Oliver + 5 54 +6 74 +8 118 PM 304 +4 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
Kinda scared to shoot ? What to do in the AM with an 92 checked a min later and it was an 87 ?? UGH Its feeding and shot time? I will be here for most of the day with the exception of a few hours this late morning? HELP
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 ( HELP)

I would wait for 15 minutes and retest to see if Oliver is headed up or down. A 92 and an 87 are virtually the same number. Have you fed anything?
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 ( HELP)

I do have to get ready to leave for work very shortly...but....

Boy, Oliver sure doesn't like to ease his way down with his preshot numbers, does he? I see that you did shoot 94 with a reduced dose just a few days ago. Since you are going to be around today and are great with testing, I'd be inclined to consider doing that again, so that he doesn't lose his momentum.

If you do shoot this number, it's a very good idea to get a +1 and a +2 to start, to see where he is heading.
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 ( HELP)

Fed him going to check BG again and shoot a smaller amt this AM. I don't want him to go to low while I am away.
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 ( HELP)

If it looks like he's heading down when you're ready to head out, you can always pile on the HC food. Hopefully he'll give you a nice, flat surf, though!
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77

Thanks guys I did go ahead and feed (He was insistant on it) I should have recorded it.... Little stinker.
I then rechecked it was a 77 ?? and then shot a 1.5 reducie. :) So he will still keep the momentum but not suffer like the fur shot yesterday AM> LOL just gotta laugh or cry which doesn't help anything. SO laughing it is. :)
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77

So did you actually shoot the 77, and that reading was one hour later than your usual shot time? If that's the case, the 77 is actually your AMPS, not your +1. The other thing that you need to keep in mind is that your evening shot needs to be 12 hours from when you shot this morning.

Nice shooting...they do like to keep us on our toes. Now surf it safely, Oliver!!
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77

I'm just logging on and saw your note. For the future, you may want to review Libby's post on shooting low numbers.

The big rule if you're going to stall is to not feed. IMHO, I think you could have shot a full dose since you said you are going to be home. The difficulty with shooting a reduced dose is that you are starting your cycle count all over again and the reduced dose has an impact on the depot. I really want to urge you to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. It would be wonderful if Oliver would let you develop your comfort level gradually. However, it's not looking like he's wanting to do that. I would suggest you start thinking about where your comfort level is so that the next time he hands you a surprise at shot time, you're prepared to wait and see if numbers come up a bit or you feel ready to shoot.
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77 +3 60 + 5 54 +6 74 +8 118

I am glad I did not shot a full dose or he would have crashed today.I did state earlier I would be home most of the day with the exception of a few hours late morning. I was gone for a few hours my daughter was here some and doing BG and feeding a bit. She did a great job:) I was gone a little longer then thought.
I don't like stalling as I usually don't have time for that and then it makes dinner time late and Screws up time frames for weekend outings for us. But if necessary I could. It doesn't seem as though he would have came up and stalling would have worked out better this time though.
I plan on going back to the same reg dose of 2.75U this evening so that would be starting over then?
I guess I don't know how to get a plan together and know what I am comfortable with. ??? I have read the shooting a low dose many times and printed it out so I have it also. I am not sure when and If I would be comfortable no matter what. He has not had a low # like that before but one other time. So was not sure how to deal with it. But decided a lower dose for him would be better then too much. Which it would have been if i had shot the 2.75 U. RIGHT? :)
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77 +3 60 + 5 54 +6 74 +8 118

Wow :cool:

There is no way to know where Oliver would have gone today had you shot the full dose.
And yes, your cycle count starts over again when you resume 2.75u tonight.

Like Sienne suggests, think about what number you would have felt comfortable shooting the full dose assuming you or DD can monitor, and take it from there.
It's a leap you will eventually have to take but will be well worth it . It may help smooth out the ups and downs.
Nice that DD was around to monitor.

Go Oliver !
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77 +3 60 + 5 54 +6 74 +8 118

You did a great job today. It does take a while to get used to shooting lower numbers. You probably could have steered Oliver's numbers with food if you shot the full dose, but you also never know for sure, and you do have to do what you're comfortable with...some insulin is better than none. Very awesome that your DD helped with testing - it is so helpful when another person or two can share the workload. FWIW, I'm not a fan of stalling, either...it makes things too confusing. I did it a few times early on, but once I got used to the dance, I stopped doing it.

Have a great night, Kelly!
 
Re: 2/26 Oliver AM 87 +1 77 +3 60 + 5 54 +6 74 +8 118

Thanks for the encouragement :razz: and Yes I will shoot the full amount if i am here to HELP him all day. But knew I wouldn't be for a few hours. ??? Was unsure is all and feel He would have taken a dive BAD if I did not do the reducie. But OK I am thinking this through and hope to have a better plan next time. Which I am sure will be sooner then later with wonky butt. What are other's comfortable with shooting? #'s have shot and does it work out well right off?

LOL
Hugs all
Nighty night
:YMHUG:
 
What I suggest is that you try to become more comfortable by shooting progressively lower numbers. You shot 3.0u with an AMPS of 112. If the 87 was uncomfortable, what would be a dose lower than 112 that you would be comfortable shooting?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top