2/26 Nova AMPS: 349; Ready for dosing, possible increase advice

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
AM & PMPS tests have me convinced what I already suspected/knew. Nova is still running high--same as what she was during all (4) vet BG tests and after a 1 unit increase back in November. She's had a coupla greens and 1 blue in the last 2 curves. I am considering a .25 increase. Could someone please advise? I finally have some support at home, and am ready to do what I need to do without interference---especially since my (probably ex) Vet will not see her for at least another 5 months (!) Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
Hi Lindy - I'm pretty new here myself, but if I were you, I would increase, especially if you have good support and can monitor.
 
Hi Lindy - I'm pretty new here myself, but if I were you, I would increase, especially if you have good support and can monitor.
Thanks, Kat--I talked to my boss, and he is down for me to work from home during the week if needed. If I do an increase, it will be over the weekend to start, so I'm home & monitoring constantly. Looks like you're doing really well for a newcomer! Keep it up!
 
This spreadsheet doesn't look like one of the ones from here - are you following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow protocol?

That would be the determining factor as to whether you're due an increase, I imagine -- although, I am also new.
Yeah, it's an older SS--will switch over my data to a newer one when I can. I don't think I could do a TR, this late in the game, but hopefully someone experienced will chime in with some much-needed advice since my data is spotty.
 
Hello and welcome!

Your SS looks ok to me...however it is most definitely time for an increase. With that being said, please test every day prior to the shot. AMPS and PMPS are essential...no more skipping.

Definitely go over the dosing methods that were provided above and decide which will work best for you. A couple of factors for TR, no dry food at all and two tests per day between the AM and PM tests...that includes night time testing - so important to get tests at night as these kitties like to go low at night - some actually do their best 'surfing' at night. (meaning being in those beautiful green numbers and staying above 50)...so you don't want to miss out on that if it happens.

Great job on your title and your SS. Keep posting :)
 
Hello and welcome!

Your SS looks ok to me...however it is most definitely time for an increase. With that being said, please test every day prior to the shot. AMPS and PMPS are essential...no more skipping.

Definitely go over the dosing methods that were provided above and decide which will work best for you. A couple of factors for TR, no dry food at all and two tests per day between the AM and PM tests...that includes night time testing - so important to get tests at night as these kitties like to go low at night - some actually do their best 'surfing' at night. (meaning being in those beautiful green numbers and staying above 50)...so you don't want to miss out on that if it happens.

Great job on your title and your SS. Keep posting :)
Thank you so much for replying. Yeah, I know how essential those #s are, moving forward there will be no skipping. I don't think I can do TR--there is no way I can get 2 tests in during the day before pm every day--unless I can convince my reluctant hubs to do so. (Took me 4 months to get him to assist in the am & pm for cryin' out loud) That is a long shot for sure!

So, I guess that leaves SLGS

I will try to stay awake long enough to get at least a +3 hopefully +4 after pm shot as it was recommend by Chris R that I do so. If I am not out and about running errands I will do a curve every weekend, and I can work from home a day every other week or so while I'm in my slow season, I can fill in those blanks as well.

At her first increase--a full unit-- I nearly had a heart attack from anxiety---seriously---I tried but failed in so many ways to get the am/pmps until recently, and now I'm asking for an increase--funny how that works when you know the numbers and listen to your gut.

Anywho----should I increase tonight, or wait until the weekend so I can monitor/curve?
 
Oh my goodness! The recommended increase is by .25 only - never by a full unit...rarely by a half in some special situations.

Since there are so many blanks in the day/night recently I can't really say how long the current dose is taking her. If you can get at 2+ and possibly a 3 or 4 IF she's going down - you could increase by 25 tonight...but it's really important that you can test.

Some would be reluctant to suggest an increase without more mid-cycle testing so I'm probably going out on a limb here. SLGS is perfectly fine for getting started. You can always move up to TR as you become more comfortable with testing and how the insulin is affecting her mid-cycle numbers.
 
Right?!? I found this group & joined right after Dx. I knew that, but at the time, trusted my vet and was getting flack from those close to me. :banghead: (and I was using the pen needle--1 unit increase only-- until I overcame my fear of the syringe and just knew she wasn't getting what she needed)

I get it. I can hold off a bit and get some numbers in the next 2 days. When I did a decrease she really reacted and held the higher pinks consistently at the curve (I have no idea what am and pm ps were then) so, I am a bit reluctant to start tonight as well--I want to be able to monitor her closely. I am hoping for some consistency (maybe a lemon tree?), and then on from there.

I'll start on Saturday. Maybe we can get a couple more eyes on this post/my spreadsheet as well. (Please don't take that the wrong way) I appreciate all of your help. :)

So, when I do the increase---hold it for at least 6 cycles (shots) or is it 10?
 
The number of cycles you hold is based on the dosing method you select. If you choose SLGS you will hold the dose for 14 cycles (7 days). If you choose TR you hold the dose for 6 cycles (3 days).

Absolutely - let's get some other folks to weigh in and look at your SS - that's why they call it a 'forum' - lots of people tend to comment later in the day/evening hours after I'm long gone to bed...

If you're comfortable waiting until the weekend, by all means. Especially if it means you can get another mid-cycle test or three before then so we can see what the current dose is actually doing for her.

I presume by your comment that now you have syringes instead of just the dosing pen - and you will be able to measure by .25 for the next increase. Typically around here were recommend getting calipers to help you with that fine dosing, but there are pics of that - really close up - that will help you in the meantime.
 
upload_2020-2-26_16-20-3.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-26_16-20-3.png
    upload_2020-2-26_16-20-3.png
    80 KB · Views: 82
How long have you been in the 2.0 unit dose? There are some gaps in the spreadsheet before the 23rd, so I can’t see when you started it.

If you could get a spot check test before bed tonight and a curve soon, that will help us decide if an increase is needed. We determine if an increase is needed based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Preshot tests tell you if it’s safe to give insulin.
 
How long have you been in the 2.0 unit dose? There are some gaps in the spreadsheet before the 23rd, so I can’t see when you started it.

If you could get a spot check test before bed tonight and a curve soon, that will help us decide if an increase is needed. We determine if an increase is needed based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Preshot tests tell you if it’s safe to give insulin.
Hi Wendy,

On 2U since Nov 15--(see the 2019-2020 sheet) saw the Vet on December 19 & Jan 20 and she said nothing about the curve with the bounce the day before.
she went by the 4 hour yellow number and didn't raise nor lower. She doesn't want to see me for 3-6 months from then. Not going back.

I have done a curve recently on 23 Feb, but I'm happy to do another...prob on Sunday. (these are easy) I get it about the preshot tests, and have tried to get as many others as I can. Nova is all over the place.

I am totally embarrassed and was so frustrated that I couldn't get the am & pmPS, that I nearly gave up. I tried to get as many others as I can. Nova is all over the place.

Just need to move forward and not look too far back, right? I will get some tests tonight. I have a hard time staying up past 10, but I will try to get into a book so that will help.

I totally appreciate your help, thank you.
 
Thanks, that means the 2 unit depot is more than established, which is the info I was looking for. Never look back with FD. We all did things wrong - only go forward. :bighug: Speaking of going forward, you can go up to 2.25 units tomorrow, as long as your spot check doesn't find anything below 150 tonight.
 
Thanks very much. Holding my eyes open with toothpicks...for a spot check as close to +4 as I can....will start 2.25 in the am. :D
 
Thanks, that means the 2 unit depot is more than established, which is the info I was looking for. Never look back with FD. We all did things wrong - only go forward. :bighug: Speaking of going forward, you can go up to 2.25 units tomorrow, as long as your spot check doesn't find anything below 150 tonight.
OK, just got a 502 at +3----does not make sense at all---smallish sample---looking at it it doesn't seem to have filled as completely?? (meaning the bottom of the sample is not totally filled like with a bigger blood drop???)
 
OK, just got a 502 at +3----does not make sense at all---smallish sample---looking at it it doesn't seem to have filled as completely?? (meaning the bottom of the sample is not totally filled like with a bigger blood drop???)
99% positive I didn't do a fur shot...Geez!!! I hate this disease! :(:mad::confused:
 
It's possible he went lower than he was used to during the day. A fur shot shouldn't have caused the numbers to rocket up quite that far that fast.

If you ever think a test value is unexpected, a retest is the way to go.
 
It's possible he went lower than he was used to during the day. A fur shot shouldn't have caused the numbers to rocket up quite that far that fast.

If you ever think a test value is unexpected, a retest is the way to go.
I did that and it was higher--slightly--and at +4 @ 550 she kept me up until midnight--she must have dropped, because she was playing/carrying around her mouse and meowing to the cat gods.

This am = 256 she is stilll fighting the test. I cannot run home today before lunch--big meeting at work....got my hypo kit at the ready....my God Im tired! :coffee::coffee:
 
I did that and it was higher--slightly--and at +4 @ 550 she kept me up until midnight--she must have dropped, because she was playing/carrying around her mouse and meowing to the cat gods.

This am = 256 she is stilll fighting the test. I cannot run home today before lunch--big meeting at work....got my hypo kit at the ready....my God Im tired! :coffee::coffee:
So, what I looked at last night the .25 mark is in between the .5 and whole mark. Wish me luck.
 
Back
Top