2/26 Morgaine AMPS 235,+3 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day everyone!

Yucky 235 this AM for Morgaine. I knew she would be here as her numbers didn't budge from the 180's after her PM shot last night. She did step into her new box with her front paws and peed on the pee pad in front of it. She poo'd on the box lid with the pee pads on it so she gets it. It is progress in using these new items. She was meowing up a storm this AM, trying to get me up but I didn't budge until I had to. I think she wanted me pronto to clean up that stinky poo she was sitting next to when I got up. :lol: She gobbled her AM fuds and cleaned her paws and is now napping. I did get discouraged last night as she peed on the floor and it got everywhere, even under the mat and on the rug in the hallway. I am going to have to get this cleaned up as the mat is rubber and it is not good to have it sitting on top of a wet carpet. What a messy process we are dealing with. Hopefully my cleaning gals can get this done this week.

Hope you are all doling well and I am sending healing vines to all in need.
 
Re: 2/26 Morgaine AMPS 235

i don't know why, but as i was reading your post the saying popped into my head "love covers a multitude of sins." just thinking your love for her, despite her accidents and the incredible work it's made for you, well, your love says it all.
 
Re: 2/26 Morgaine AMPS 235

I'm glad she checked out the new boxes and seems to have found them acceptable. I bet you are always wondering what you are going to find when you get up in the morning! :? :roll:

Not a bad bounce at all after her diving yesterday!
 
WOW! Morgaine dropped from 235 at preshot to 85 at +3. She is really moving fast today. It is very unlike her to dive like that but I will take the green number and keep an eye on her. She ate her meal with some pumpkin and was purring and looking alert. I always watch her walk around to see how those paws are doing. Although she still does walk on her hocks sometimes, she is also walking on her pads. I remain hopeful that things will improve.

A question about the gabapentin. What is the average dosage for pain? Do any of you know? She was prescribed 30mg 2x daily and I am just wondering if that is a large dose. She weighs 14 lbs 8 oz.
 
julie & punkin said:
that's what linda's giving weezer - why don't you ask her?
I did ask her but she said that Weezer was on a very low dose since it isn't for neuropathy.
 
I found some dosing info here:
http://www.vasg.org/chronic_pain_management.htm

Gabapentin has been used for many forms of chronic pain, though its best application may be for neuropathic pain. A suggested starting dose is 5-10 mg/kg BID, though lower doses and frequency can be used if excessive sedation occurs. The dose can safely be increased as needed (usually by 25-50% every 7-14 days) until an effective level is reached. It is metabolized to a limited extent by the liver and excreted by the kidneys. Possible side effects may include sedation and weight gain. It may cause some initial drowsiness but this usually subsides after 3 to 4 days. Gabapentin is available generically in 100 mg, 300 mg and 400 mg capsules and 600 mg and 800 mg tablets. It is also available as a 50 mg/ml liquid preparation for humans, but this formulation contains xylitol, so it is recommended to have it compounded if a liquid version is needed.

It looks like she is being started at a very safe dose and did come from a compounding pharmacy.

Julie, thank you for helping me research this.
 
Gabapentin (Neurotin Rx): is a seizure control medication that seems to suppress chronic pain. It is expensive and we have not had a situation in which we had to use it so I have no personal experience with it. The recommended dosage is 1 to 4mg/kg every 12 hours in dogs and every 24 hours in cats. In humans gabapentin is reported to provide additional pain relief in extreme pain situations in which narcotics such as morphine aren't potent enough alone.


Read more: Pain and Pain control in Dogs - VetInfo
 
Beth, that is very diffeent from what I have seen. In cats, the Gaby metabolizes faster so 1x day would seem to be not enough. I will call the pharmacy tomorrow and ask them about the dosing as well as the vet.
 
I just checked the marisvet site and they indicate most dosing starts at once a day, but can go as high as 3 times a day.

http://www.marvistavet.com/html/gabapentin.html


If I run the weight of your cat and convert it, it appears your vet has seen fit to start at the low end of dosing, but twice a day. Given Morgaine's indications of pain may have played into that decision to get her the pain relief sooner and more steady.

Sort of like the vet described in the first article I posted, dealing with Morgaine's presenting pain threshold.

The International Veterinary Academy of Pain Management has a web site (http://www.cvmbs.colostate.edu/ivapm/ ) that provides pain relief advice for veterinarians and pet owners. According to information on this site, gabapentin can be used in cats at a dosage 25 to 50mg per cat initially (approximately 5 to 10mg/kg), given every 8 to 12 hours. If necessary the dosage may be increased to 100mg every 12 hours.
 
Thank you Beth. I will bookmark the site you linked to. I appreciate all of your assistance.

Marje just came by and gave Morgaine her final dose of bupe. We can start the Gabapentin in 3 days.

Big hugs for Marje! How lucky am I to have such a lovely and kind woman right here in Tucson?
 
Wow, that is quite the drop but it's sure good to see that green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Marje is a total sweetheart - I agree!
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top