2/26 Miss Kitty AMPS 92 +2 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
Good Morning

I'm having some low readings this morning, so far I am stalling her shot. I increased her on 2/25 from 2.25 to 2.50. This morning she reads at 94, so I waited half an hour and she was at 82. So I have not given her the shot yet. I'm going to check at 7a. If I shoot her at 7a, I need to give her the shot tomorrow morning at about 530a, do you think that will be ok? When I check her again at 7a, if she her number has not risen a bit, I don't see any other choice but to not give her the shot. Any thoughts? I guess she is sensitve to the insulin sometimes like the vet said.
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

I wish I could see your numbers on your ss.
If you shoot at 7:00 this morning, I would not advise shooting an hour and a half earlier tomorrow morning.
An early shot is like a dose increase, just as a late shot is like a dose decrease.

The insulin schedule can be safely adjusted in 15 minute increments each shot time, or by 30 minutes once a day.

If you skip this morning's shot, then you can shoot the PMPS at 5:30pm tonight and then at 5:30am tomorrow, no problem.

I'll wait for your 7:00 test.
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

We really don't like to advise people to skip a shot.
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

Ok, I didn't skip the shot. At 7a, she was coming back up and she was at 92 and she only had some tuna to eat, so I gave her the shot.

Someone on here before said to shoot low to keep low, so that is what I did. I can keep a good eye on her today. So, I guess I can give her the evening dose at 630p tonight and then 6a tomorrow?
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

I'm glad you shot. Good Hooting!

The saying is Shoot Low to Stay Low. :mrgreen:

Maybe, tonight, Miss Kitty will be in a bounce and going up, and maybe, you can shoot up to an hour early depending upon the numbers. Like if she is well into the 300s or more. Please get a +10 or +11 and post and ask for advice at that time. I will be at work then, and will not have access to the forum.

Otherwise, if her numbers are not high, then you can shoot at 6:45pm tonight and at 6:30am tomorrow morning.

The other way would be:
Sunday PM 6:30pm - Monday AM 6:30am
Monday PM 6:00pm - Tuesday AM 6:00am
Tuesday PM 5:30pm - etc....
Or you can do:
Sunday PM 7:00pm - Monday AM 6:30am
Monday PM 6:30pm - Tuesday AM 6:00am
Tuesday PM 6:00am - Wednesday AM 5:30am
But if you work I would go with the first example, so you are not leaving the house on an early shot each day.
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

Ok great. I'll check in again later in her cycle. I'll be checking her all throughout the day though too. I think this is the lowest I have ever shot her. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

I would start with a +1 and a +2 :mrgreen: you did good.

You can now change the Subject Line in your first post to say something like 2/26 Miss Kitty AMPS 92 Eyes Please
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

Good job on the shootin'! I was scared as heel the first time I shot low, but I made sure I had plenty of strips and MC or HC food and all was well. Good luck!
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

Great job today! It is so scary shooting a low number for the first time and even now, after over a year, I still get nervous. It is good to know that no matter how scared you are, there are always people here on LL that will give you support and advice.
 
Re: 2/26 Miss Kitty AMBG 94 + .5 82 ADVICE PLEASE

Nice shooting and great information from Dyana.

A couple of things...

  • Please get a +1 and a +2. Whenever you shoot your lowest number to date, you want to get early tests. I presume you have strips and HC food at home.
  • Whatever number and time you shot is your AMPS. (AMBG only applies if you haven't shot.)
  • It helps to remember that Lantus onset does not begin immediately. Lantus usually starts to work at around +2. So, between feeding and numbers continuing to rise, you are shooting the number at +2, not your pre-shot number.
 
Great shooting this morning, April. Glad you remembered how important it is to shoot low to stay low!!

Very nice +2...glad to see it's not less than the AMPS. Hope Miss Kitty has a lovely green cycle today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top