2/26 Max AMPS 169~+6 287~PMPS 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning.

Okay I do not have the data to shoot this kind of number. I have no clue what to do.

recap of last night:
+2 287
+4 124
+5 79....surfed green until I gave up at 57 at 6.5
I am functioning on 4 hours of sleep.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 - Help please

Are you home? Are gonna be at home for the day? You can see this is a rising number (means your last dose is wearing off) you are not shooting this number but rather what he will be at in a few hours (probably over 200) If your gonna be around and can at least set some alarms (and get some naps) to test I don't see why you shouldn't shoot. I know Max is on a big dose, but this is what you've been waiting for!
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 - Help please

Are you home to test today? You just decreased so to me it looks like a good shootable number. Lets see what others say.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 - Help please

Am I still considered a newbie? I read the stickies and it says don't shoot below 150.
I have to be out in an hour.
DH said he could stay until DPS gets here but I won't be here. That would be at +3.
I fed a bit of food and was going to test again.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 - Help please

I wouln't say newbie, you have alot of data, this is just some new data! You fed so your number is likely going to rise more, I think 145 is shootable number, the other day you shot a few minutes late and he had risen quite a bit. why don't you wait 15 minutes and test again to see how fast he is rising, if it's going up then SHOOT and test as much as you can till you leave then let DH take over. Max has a strong liver so I don't think it will be a problem.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 - Help please

Okay. Testing now. We will report.
But I have been looking at his SS and Max does drop by +2.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169

BOS for me today. I get to finally say that.
Condisdering I stayed up till 2:00am last night with him watching
his green surf and testing, I was not going to lose the progress that is being made.
This is what we are waiting for.

Shot the 5.75 one hour late and fed again.
Leaving soon. DH is with him until DPS is in. I have full confidence in her
ability to monitor Max and if I need to come home from work, I will.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

WOOT for you! Have a good day Randi, I'm sure Max will be fine and if he has somebody watching him everything is under control. Yes this is what you've been waiting for, hopefully Max is on his way down the scale. After the lows last night it could be that his bounce is comming so it's a good thing you shot to try and control it.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

See what happens when I go back to bed. Sorry I missed all the excitement this morning, but very happy to see the big guy making some giant steps forward.

First BLUE pre-shot ever that is great, and I totally know how you felt this morning about being nervous to shoot that number. I found out very quickly that you have to take the plunge at some point, and it is always best to do it when someone can monitor.

Can't wait to see the green pre-shot number that Max has hidden somewhere under is coat.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Randi....wanna give up the harpoons and go back to using the shorties now? :lol:

You did a great job this morning AND last night. I know what you mean about 4 hours sleep, believe me. I hope you can function ok today..I'd skip the giant slalom if I were you...what do you think?

Aren't you happy that it's Friday?
Good luck today with Max....this is so great....hard on you, but great for Max... :YMHUG:
:RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Nice hooting!!

Housekeeping: Whatever the number was that your shot, that is your new AMPS. The clock starts at that number. You will shoot an hour from that 169. If you need to move shot time back, if Max's numbers are high tonight you could conceivably move it back a full hour. However, there is less impact on the shed if you move by 15 min. per cycle (i.e., shoot at +11.75).
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Yes I can say TGIF.
Pat I have up the harpoons after that near miss I had.
I was too afraid to have back to back fur shots.
I'm still in shock.
What a journey this is. And talking about giant
Slalom we have not skied this year because of
Max schedule.
Tina how dare you go btb when you are in trials. Lol.
Thanks everyone for your help and support.
You are the best.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Wow I missed all the excitement!! Great hooting!
Looks like this could be Max's dose for now! You may see some great Green today..
You will get used to shooting lower numbers--It takes some BOS, but you will get used to it..GULP :shock:
The small needles are more comfy for Max, and not so hard to do..Practice with an orange--it makes you quick & used to smaller needle--
All in all--YOU ARE DOING TERRIFIC!!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Yay for blue pre-shot! You did great, Randi. I bet Max is feeling great these days!

Have a good Friday - Max will be fine, he's in good hands w/the DPS.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 145 ~.5 174~+1 169-gave shot

Hi Randi,

Look at the Maxman go! Green surf last night... very very nice!

I second what Sienne said re: housekeeping. If you want to make up a touch more time because Max is on a trip to rocketville, post your +11 or +11.5 and ask for an opinion.

And also for the record.... you're not a newbie anymore! :-D Well, maybe you are a relative newbie. You know the sugar dance and you have DATA! I'm not saying that you should shoot every number under the sun without thinking, but IMO the 150 rule certainly does not apply to you and your situation (ie. data, data, data, someone home to monitor and open the can of gravy if need be). Disclaimer....... This does not apply to all relative newbies, but remember with lantus and levemir, you gotta shoot low to stay low.

Go MAx go! Short rebound pls!
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 169

Housekeeping all taken care of. I put this morning AM numbers before stalled
shot at +13. I hope it looks good.

So +12 145
+ 12.5 179
AMPS 169

So far Max is doing well and waiting to see the +2, should be shortly.
As it happens the new pushed up schedule is good for now as it will be easier for
DH whileI am going away. I will have a little difficulty for a few days but yay I can sleep in
an extra hour this weekend.
Can't wait to see wherehe goes today.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 169~+6 287

Max is doing the same thing as he did yesterday, although today is flat yellow instead of
the flat pinks.
I'm not even going to try figuring it out. I was so scared to shoot that number for Max, figuring putting 5.75 u of insulin into him, he would drop.

So here are some of my theories:
1. Late shot equal to decrease dose, which is already on top of the decrease we had this week
2.Rebound from being so low all night
3.Getting ready for more action tonight
4. He's a cat.
I'm glad we did not skip this morning shot but am curious what would have happened
had I not stalled the hour. Oh the mystery and suspense of it all.
 
Re: 2/26 Max AMPS 169~+6 287

Ronnie & Luna said:
4. He's a cat
that's my answer! :lol:
You did good this morning Randi! Hey guess what? Its the weekend soon! Make sure Max reads your condo's! :-D

Yup, it's the cat. DPS tested every hour. Don't know whay once all this flat yellow was showing.
I can't figure this cat out. Now we are shooting 8am/8pm so if he starts giving me crazy night numbers I am so done - +6 would be at 2:00am. Yikes!

I have been reading a lot about acro with Gayle/Shadoe testing and Holly/Pablo results today.
I asked Holly why she tested because I was looking at Pablo's ss and dose compared to Max and I think our numbers are worse.
It was recommended to her to have it done but with Max it was barely mentioned.
Now of course I am second guessing myself and should maybe consider this as well for him?
 
(((Randi)))
I read your post about Fortiflora in Logan's condo:

2/26 Logan AMPS 398
by Randi & Max » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:38 pm
I never heard of the Fortiflora, what it is, or where you get it.
(I'd like to know though)

I get mine from my vet. If you would like to try out a couple of envelopes, pm your address to me and I can mail you a sample.
 
Hi Randi,

You might want to ask for some opinions about getting Max tested - it's certainly a good idea to rule things out or to know what you are dealing with. Of course, it's a little more expensive for you, mailing from Canada. Maybe PM Carolyn/Spot to see what she thinks.

Max is on a high dose and his responses are sporadic. However, he "responds" much more than Boo ever did...Boo was always very, very flat.
 
I thought we had talked about testing Max a while ago (I shouldn't say "we," I think it was Cassandra and Jill). Wasn't it you whose vet didn't want to do it until he got up to a certain higher dose (6? 9? I forget...) and then quoted you a huge price to do the tests and u/s and x-rays and all kinds of things? Maybe I'm confusing you with someone else.... :oops: You hadn't brought it up anymore, so I assumed you either wanted to go with the vet's suggestion to wait, or the money was an issue, or you just weren't ready yet.

It seems like it's a little harder (and more expensive) for Canadians to have these tests done, but I'm sure Gayle can fill you in on how she did it. Max *is* responding great right now so it's up to you whether you'll feel better having them done now, or waiting to see what happens next. If it was $100 or less like in the US, I would probably go for it just to know.
 
Good memory Libby. You are so right. It went down that way.
Carolyn felt that acro was not screaming at her and then the ridiculous vet talk so I just
put it in the back of my mind. Then Max had some nice greens finally so I stopped thinking about it.
Of course I am very on top of what Gayle is going through with Shadoe, and our doses were neck and neck. Max had a break but sweet Shadoe kept going up.
Then today when I read Holly and Pablos condo and checked out Pablo's ss I said to myslef that Max' dose is higher than his and his numbers were not as good either.
So if Pablo tested positive to acro then maybe I better rethink Max.
I think when I come back from short vacation I will see if I can get those plans done.
I will speak to my vet #1 rather than vet #2 that was very resistant and quoted crazy prices.

Boo, thanks for stopping by. I was going to pm you and ask for you to have a look at Max. And then I saw your post tonight.
I am very familiar with who you are and where you have been with Boo.
Thank you for looking.
 
happy to hear you're re-thinking having the tests done. max may not have either acromegaly or IAA, but it's good to know one way or another.
 
Hi Randi!

What a night you had last night! That's great for Max. I totally feel your pain re: sleep and Max being a cat. :lol: Hope you are able to get some sleep...Six swore he did not call Max today to plant he night or pm Max. You might want to check your inbox to make sure Six isn't telling a fib.

Lots to read in your condo today...thinking about you since you have loads to think about!
 
Hey Randi. It was me that mentioned the FortiFlora in Logan's condo.

It's a probiotic. For whatever reason, many cats like it a lot. My vet used to refer to it as "kitty crack." It's a good means of getting a fussy kitty to eat, helping with pudding/liquipoo, or coating something like cream cheese that's hiding a pill. I don't know if places like PetFoodDirect ship to Canada, but they carry it. So does Amazon.
 
Randi & Max said:
Good memory Libby. You are so right. It went down that way.
Carolyn felt that acro was not screaming at her and then the ridiculous vet talk so I just
put it in the back of my mind.

Carolyn thinks it looks more like IAA. Carolyn could be wrong though HEHE

Go talk to Gayle. She had to beat her vet around the head and neck area to ensure both the tests were done and that she was not quoted $1500 for her tests and she pulled it off. She will have handy tips. :)

Or use what the rest of us have pulled on our vets: "Just humor me. I'm paying for this."
 
Thanks for stopping by Carolyn.
I also subscribe to the policy that knowledge is power.
When Max was d/xd I had them run all the ultrasounds to at least make sure that there
were not any other issues besides his diabtetes due to his liver and bladder history.
Seeing that the timing is very precise for the tests and I am leavig town on Thursday I will set something up for when I get back.
My plans are to call vet #1 on Monday and see if they will handle it. vet #2 is at the emergency hospital but I have not spoken to them in a month, and they have not called to see what is up with Max.
 
I want to add something I think is important.. meant to say it first time around, but I'm sick, and apparently that is making me more airheaded than normal.

Like Jill said, it's quite possible he has neither. I don't want you to think because I said it looks more like IAA that I think you need to race out and have these tests done. On the other hand, if you want to start narrowing things down, these are tests I would run were this my cat. These tests will start adding up though and I want to caution you that they could come back negative, leaving you right where you are - not sure. We don't know, and can't know, that Max is definitively either IAA or Acromegalic, because there are many things that cause the body's "misuse of insulin", including chronic illness, excess weight, poor insulin tolerance, glucose toxicity, allergies, Cushings, Addisons, Acro and IAA. We *can* say he appears to have an abnormal response to the insulin, and it's possible you just need to try a different insulin, such as Levemir. Stranger things have happened. I just don't want you to be crushed or angry with yourself if these tests come back negative. There are more things you can test for if this happens, and we'll help you with that, such as Cushings and other autoimmune disorders considered more rare.. and who knows, during the next few weeks he may suddenly straighten up and fly right. :)
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
I want to add something I think is important.. meant to say it first time around, but I'm sick, and apparently that is making me more airheaded than normal.

Like Jill said, it's quite possible he has neither. I don't want you to think because I said it looks more like IAA that I think you need to race out and have these tests done

I hope you are starting to feel better Carolyn. I miss having you around.
Don't worry about me rushing out for the tests. I value your opinion and you know we have talked about this before and I still have not done it yet. Life has been very hectic and I just have not taken care of it, especially when I have consulted with 4 vets and no one agrees with me or will work with me. So even deciding which vet to do the test is a decision in itself.
I have also questioned the choice of insulin. Of course Max was put on Caninsulin and I decided on Lantus - I did not know very much about Lev. How would I know if I should switch the insulin and would I have to start all over back at 1u and work my way back up?? That I would not look forward to but whatever I have to do for Max, I will.

Question: Did I read somewhere that an acro should not go green and if they do, what could happen.
 
Let's put it this way: There's no reason *not* to switch whenever you run out of Lantus. Their actions are the same, and for some reason, you are not getting the responses you want with lantus, whether it's due to the insulin or something else. I've really never heard of a cat not being able to tolerate Lantus, (I have heard some people claim it after not using it properly ;-) ) but it's a cheap test to see if that's the problem. Their costs are nearly the same. And.. Levemir and Lantus are so close in action that in a high dose cat you can go right straight across dosewise. No need to lose progress.

We do not like to see greens in acrocats because they have functioning pancreases.. could lead to a very prolonged hypo, combined with the fact that these cats are usually on extremely high doses. Leo for instance is close to 30u, so you can imagine what kind of scary time that would be. :o
 
carolyn, didn't the lantus sting for settle down? i seem to remember that.
website said about 6% of people felt sting/burning from lantus so there's a possibility some cats would feel it too. i haven't heard it in my year and a half on lantus, tho.
 
Lantus sting is quite commonly reported in higher dose cats. I had it with Leo starting around 4-5u, and my local diabetic cat mama I just cat-sat for is noticing it with her Milo (he's at 9u), and I noticed it with him when he was here too. Funny you mention this, I was with her at her vet today while she was getting a prescription for Levemir and reported the sting to the vet who was nodding knowingly.. mentioned many of his higher dose clients reporting it as well.

Leo has not flinched since the day he started Levemir. It's a very nice bonus. :smile:
 
So here is my stupid question. How do I know if it is "stinging" Max? Sometimes he makes a sound when I inject him but I thought it was the needle. We are using the 31g short.
He doesn't flinch, or maybe I should look for it but it is a sound. I also thought maybe I was pinching him.
Is the sting bad or just mean to hurt them which I would not want to do to Max.
Could that affect anything?
I have 3 more carts of the free lantus pens which at this dose is taking me 3 weeks to finish, maybe less.
I don't think I will find a vet that Lev i here. But at least I don't need a prescription if I want it.
 
So here is my stupid question. How do I know if it is "stinging" Max? Sometimes he makes a sound when I inject him but I thought it was the needle. We are using the 31g short. - Some HD cats notice better action with the 29ga 1/2" long needles. Only BD Ultra carries a smaller gauge 1/2" needle (30ga) so most of us are using 29ga.
He doesn't flinch, or maybe I should look for it but it is a sound. I also thought maybe I was pinching him. -He might just be making the sound because he knows it upsets you. Cats are very manipulative ;-)
Is the sting bad or just mean to hurt them which I would not want to do to Max. I don't know, but I'd guess it was momentary. They seem to shake it off pretty quickly in my experience. It was enough concern to me to make me very very happy not to see it with the Lev, but I'm a softy.
Could that affect anything? Probably not, if you are talking about the action of the insulin.
I have 3 more carts of the free lantus pens which at this dose is taking me 3 weeks to finish, maybe less.
I don't think I will find a vet that Lev i here. But at least I don't need a prescription if I want it. I wouldn't even bother asking. I'd just go do it and then tell the vet I did it. Your vets are not striking me as open-minded ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top