2/26 Kim's Simon amps 140/+2 67/+6 92 Summary of options

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
I could not be home today to test and gave a slightly reduced dose, basically the slightest bit less that I could get (one tiny drop).

I spent some time practicing my doses with my new white relion syringes. I do find it's easier to squeeze out consistent drops with them (probably because of the thinner needle allowing smaller drops). I was using 29ga before. I think some of my .25 gradations in the past few weeks have not been as accurate as they could have been. I think I have a better way in mind to standardize myself with sample syringes and a description of where the plunger should be.

Simon has gotten in the low-50s several times in the past few cycles, but PS's remain high. We are just waiting to see what happens.

Any thoughts on the following choices--we are pretty much doing choice A, but I am interested in your thoughts on other theories (why/why not/etc)

Plan A) Keep doing what we're doing for X more cycles. (consensus from yesterday).

B) Shave to .2u with this thought: Is there any way Simon is getting too much insulin? (He drops into the 50-60 by +2-3 but bounces up to mid-blue by pre-shot?) I just want to toss it out there to those more experienced, because it has been nagging me that this could be our issue. I'm not sure this fits entirely. BUT He got into a lot of contraband around 2/2 when he earned his reduction to s.25, and I wonder if that was why it didn't seem to be "taking." (He was eating dog kibble, perhaps more than I knew). We have anti-dog kibble safeguards and systems in place now :lol: :roll:

C) Increase dose and do the food flattening of curve? Instructions on this?

D) Revisit vet's prior suggestion of Levemir (Discussed here and here on Feb 8 and ruled out at that point.


Other than those pesky pre shots, it's more of the same for Simon. I feel good about what's happening, but it's easy to become discouraged. I had tears with DH last night because he said he doesn't see how Simon is going to get off insulin. He sees me putting so much mental effort into this dance, and I can feel it too. I need to be on the ball and giving my best to my three children and husband, but I'm stuck on the FDMB board obsessing about my cat. I told him about how many of you have encouraged me that Simon's doing well and has a good "shot" at OTJ (ha ha ha).

I just don't know how sustainable this can be for the long term! I am so tired! (My day in a blur: Wake up--or be awakened by a 2yo at 5am; feed family, start tea kettle, forget about tea, test cat, keep cat out of dog food, keep dog out of cat food, remember tea kettle, referee spats, keep 2yo away from lancet device, clean up poo from not-quite potty trained 2yo, pray, oh yes--carpool, education and moral training of children, reading books aloud, homework with 7yo, volunteer at school, eat meals standing up, carpool again, clean up various spills and floods of water that kids thought they should bring to animals, and oh yes... cook three meals and clean the house. Fall into bed :lol: . . .repeat. . .but always thank God for my many blessings, extravagant love I don't deserve, a strong body to serve others, three beautiful and healthy children, a DH who loves and serves me well, home that is warm in winter and cool in summer, resources to treat Simon, and three sweet pets that enrich my life.

That's it. . .Remember to keep things in perspective :dizcat )

Anyway, thanks for letting me ramble and thanks in advance for your input!
 
My thoughts? Breathe..... And I like Option A.

Don't be frustrated. Simon is doing sooooooo well. Remember, the point of tight regulation is to get the numbers into a range where the beta cells can heal, giving the cat a good chance at OTJ. You have done your job, getting him into the healing range. He has been on insulin for less than two months, and I think he just needs time to heal his beta cells.

He is beautifully regulated on a teeny dose of insulin. You should be able to just go on autopilot and not worry. He is unlikely to hypo on such a small dose. He might get low numbers, but the chances of a symptomatic hypo are small. What made me feel a lot better when Lucy was surfing low on 0.1 or 0.25 was to watch her - see if Simon goes to the food dish on his own when he is getting lower. Then see how much bump he can give himself from low carb food. Once you know that he can keep his numbers surfing with his regular food, you can feel a lot more comfortable leaving him alone.

The preshots are just barely in the diabetic range, and the rest of his numbers are very solidly green. Usually the preshots will come down on their own. We can fiddle with things later if we have to, but I vote for giving it some more time. Trying to force things can often make matters worse.

((((Kim)))) it's ok, we've all gone through periods when we didn't know if we could do it anymore. I know you can!
 
I couldn't agree with Libby more.

I'm not sure we can help with your remembering your tea, keeping the dog out of the cat food and vice versa, helping with potty training your 2 yo (or the poo on the floor), or all of the million other things as a good mom and a good bean that you're doing. We can, however, offer a ton of support and I think we all understand how emotionally trying this sugar dance can be.
 
Just got my lowest pre shot ever (73). I think Simon just tries to embarrass me when I start to worry...

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Gave .20. . .not sure if that was right or not. What I was calling f.25 was about .3 by these pictures. I actually intend to get out my macro lens and take some pictures of doses in these relion syringes soon.
 
cool. :mrgreen:

Since this is your lowest preshot, please get a +1 and +2. That way if he starts to dive early you can catch it and control it with food.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
cool. :mrgreen:

Since this is your lowest preshot, please get a +1 and +2. That way if he starts to dive early you can catch it and control it with food.

Will do, we are in for the night.
 
I haven't been around enough to have much advice, except: remember to breathe! You are doing a great job. I think it probably is best to keep doing what you're doing for a few days and gather data.
And I think you're handling it all great! I'm not married (have a bf, but he doesn't live with me), no kids, and I've certainly gotten overwhelmed with just my job, house, and cats. I can't imagine how exhausted I would feel if I had your workload. So I think you're rocking it.
Take care of yourself, and have a great evening!
 
I agree with everyone else...keep doing what you are doing. You are doing such a fabulous job and the pre-shots are always the last to come around. I can't imagine having to do all you are doing and taking care of your Simon. I only have my job (of course it takes up most of my life!), DH, and my two kitties and I am exhausted! I feel really good about how your Simon is doing. Keep up the great work! Give your Simon a big hug from me and my Simon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top