2/26 - Haly PMPS of 124

Is there a reason you don't get any tests at night? It's important to test after giving insulin - especially at night since a lot of kitties do their best work at night...

Have you posted previously? I'm not always around enough to see all the condos from previous days so I can't see what your history is here on the forum.

You can get help with your SS from members who can add all the dates into the column for you - and also align you times at the top of your SS rather than having those lime green (usually that color is reserved for low numbers)....cells in the middle. @Bandit's Mom - are you around to help with SS? @Marje and Gracie ?
 
Honestly after I give her her p.m. dose, I myself crash for the night. If I tried to get a BG after I've been asleep for an hour or so I would probably mangle her. I test, fed and shoot at the same time as feeding and we all go to bed. This is the second time I've gotten a "low" number at night. The other time was 133. I shot her anyway and she was fine. Just wondering if it would be safe to give her a decreased dose instead of the full 2 units.
 
Honestly after I give her her p.m. dose, I myself crash for the night. If I tried to get a BG after I've been asleep for an hour or so I would probably mangle her. I test, fed and shoot at the same time as feeding and we all go to bed. This is the second time I've gotten a "low" number at night. The other time was 133. I shot her anyway and she was fine. Just wondering if it would be safe to give her a decreased dose instead of the full 2 units.

I don't see any reason to lower the dose - it doesn't help to change the dose based on one day...

although I can't see what kind of insulin you're using - but I have to assume it's Lantus or Levemir since you're posting in this group.

Have you posted previously on the Main Health forum?

What time of day are you giving your AM and PM dose?

Many people adjust their schedules (me included as I'm an early riser and early to go to bed)...so that I shoot at 6 p.m. which gives me a chance to get a test or two before going to bed and sometimes DH has to pitch in at night as he's more of a night person than I am...
 
Thank you for your advice. I think I'm safe dosing her as usual. Like you say, probably not enough reason just based on one day. I'm trying to get better about testing. I literally juggle cats, my own business, my kids and grandkids all day. So some days I'm just very proud of myself for being able to give her insulin on time!! Have a peaceful evening!
 
I would try to adjust your shooting schedule so that you could get a test in sometime in the pm cycle on a regular basis.
At the moment you have no idea what is happening at night. A lot of kitties drop lowest at night. And insulin needs change over time.
Are you leaving food out for Haley to eat overnight?
 
Back
Top