2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 +5 93 +7 165 *great vet*

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89709

Good Morning! Gobbles was my back up alarm at 3:45 a.m.; the alarm went off and shut if off (it's far enough away on my nightstand where I can't reach it from bed and literally have to get out of bed to shut it off!!!), but I layed back down. Gobbles was not going to have any of that. He smothered my face with kisses and made his cute mewing noises. He ate sort of well this a.m.: 1/4 can of Friskies LC. Then he plopped down on his catnip scratching pad. I had some pieces of raw steak and made a game out of throwing them; he chased the steak and ate almost every piece I threw (drooler ate the rest); I'd say he ate about 1 oz. of the steak.

He has a monthly FD check-up vet appointment today at 4 p.m. (which will be his PMPS, so I'll be bringing his insulin in a mini thermal zipper pouch and I guess give it to him in the office)? The shot might be a little late.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361

Morning Kat,

The steak throwing game is cute, Zeus and I do that with chicken. :smile: he even sits up on his hind paws and begs like a dog sometimes, it's very cute.

Good luck with the vet visit and the shot in the office. Have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361

Thanks Kathie. I'll have to try the sitting w/paws with him. I think he's gotten a little spoiled with the raw meat, however, I've read it is good for him (it is straight cow with no preservatives, etc...) Have a wonderful day! Kat
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361

Thanks everyone. Gobby threw up just now so I gave him a 1/4 pc. of generic Pepcid AC. It is possible that he ate a bug because he was out on the sun (lol; its 25 degrees here and cloudy) porch this a.m.....

Good thing he has a vet appointment today!!!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? vet appt today-? tests ?

Would like opinions:

Gobby has a vet appointment today--I am leaving here at 3 pm EST. It is a routine monthly FD appointment. I am going to print out his SS and give that to the vet along with the TRP & some of the documents (vet stuff) within it. He's a good vet and originally started Gobby on Lantus 1 U. every 12 hours. He supports HT (though not to the extent that I do it).

I am going to mention:

Low appetite--vomited this a.m.
Run routine bloodwork
Check for ketonesI just tested--negative!
Check for dental/granuloma
Weight
Near-hypo event on the eve of 2/2413 (and refer him to SS for #'s, notes)

On a limited budget, are there any other tests and/or topics I should bring up?
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? vet appt today-? tests ?

Hi guys .. glad to hear that gobbles ate a little better for you today .. sorry for the throw up, but bugs will do that :-D Good luck at the vet's today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? vet appt today-? tests ?

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. glad to hear that gobbles ate a little better for you today .. sorry for the throw up, but bugs will do that :-D Good luck at the vet's today .. have a great day guys!
Yes, he is feeling better. He probably ate a bug (he was on the sun porch this morning, just for a few minutes though because its really cold here today)! I'm looking forward to his vet visit, but he isn't!!!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

Hi Kat! Good Luck with vet visit.....yes later we can compare notes.....Sabrina's visit went well, but vet feels like I'm "hoovering" over her!!!! haha_smiley I hope Gobbles listens to you today...... :razz:
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? vet appt today-? tests ?

TheBowHuntress said:
I am going to mention:

Low appetite--vomited this a.m.
Run routine bloodwork
Check for ketonesI just tested--negative!
Check for dental/granuloma
Weight
Near-hypo event on the eve of 2/2413 (and refer him to SS for #'s, notes)
This list looks good. I'm not sure I would mention a "near hypo event," though. It wasn't really a hypo, just some low numbers, which you controlled and then reduced the dose. Because you worked up to his dose in a systematic way using the tight regulation protocol, the low numbers were expected and you were in control the whole time (it might not have felt that way, but you were!). That's what happens when they start getting ready to earn reductions.

Be prepared for your vet to be upset about the lows, though. They are not used to people using this protocol and feeling in control of low numbers. In our mind being under 100 is healthy, in their mind it is usually scary because most of their clients don't test enough to understand their cats' patterns.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? vet appt today-? tests ?

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm not sure I would mention a "near hypo event," though. It wasn't really a hypo, just some low numbers, which you controlled and then reduced the dose. Because you worked up to his dose in a systematic way using the tight regulation protocol, the low numbers were expected and you were in control the whole time (it might not have felt that way, but you were!). That's what happens when they start getting ready to earn reductions.

So if he actually takes a good look at the SS while I'm there, and brings it up, then I will tell him something to the effect of "worked up to his dose in a systematic way using the tight regulation protocol, the low numbers were expected and you were in control the whole time....that's what happens when they start getting ready to earn reductions". T


I have everything in a file folder that I will give to him once he gets his physical, weight, etc. I have a tote packed with Gobby's testing supplies, the file and insulin (not packed yet; I have it in a thermal zipper pouch and will put that in the tote right before I leave). His vet appointment is at 4; same as his shot time. I'm going to test his BG while I'm there and give him his insulin while there...

Other than routine bloodwork, are there any other tests that I should ask him to run? Are there any "routine" blood tests that FD owners generally have done?
If he suggests a fructo test, I'm going to tell him no as I don't feel that it is necessary. And I don't need a ketone test; Gobby is finally completely negative (and may have been all along).
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

The only other possible test is a urinalysis or culture and sensitively. I had a IM vet once say they are good to get every 6 months or so, because diabetics can get UTI's more often but are often good at hiding it. I get a "senior or geri" blood panel, that adds a few more tests, including testing T4's for hyperthyroid. Not a bad test for cats over age 10.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

If your vet knows about Binky's list AND said ditch all dry food, he's probably in the top 1%, certainly not "uneducated" :lol: .
Wendy & Neko said:
"senior or geri" blood panel, that adds a few more tests, including testing T4's for hyperthyroid. Not a bad test for cats over age 10.
Great idea. HT is a real factor in regulation, AND keeping them OTJ (take it from me :YMSIGH: )

Good luck :!:
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

I agree with Libby that I wouldn't refer to that low number as a near hypo but I think it is a very good example of why it is important to test as much as you do and more than he suggests. If he's not that knowledgeable about FD, he might not realize that numbers are not always high and flat but do come down quite a bit as a cat moves toward a reduction. Most vets I've talked to say "just put her on 1u and leave her there...she'll be fine". The data helps them to realize that that is not always (usually is not) the case.

I actually have a different thought about the urinalysis. If he is not showing any symptoms of a UTI, I wouldn't spend the money. There are a few of the cats in this forum that have recurrent UTIs but the majority do not. So if money is tight and he's not having symptoms, I'd not do it. If you're looking to see if there is a UTI present, they need a cystocentesis which is more expensive than just a free catch.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

Wendy&Neko said:
The only other possible test is a urinalysis or culture and sensitively. I had a IM vet once say they are good to get every 6 months or so, because diabetics can get UTI's more often but are often good at hiding it. I get a "senior or geri" blood panel, that adds a few more tests, including testing T4's for hyperthyroid. Not a bad test for cats over age 10.
I will order a urinalysis (is that the same as "culture & sensitivey")? He had a senior panel in September and then November. He had the thyroid tests in January. "IM" ? vet
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

Marje and Gracie said:
I actually have a different thought about the urinalysis. If he is not showing any symptoms of a UTI, I wouldn't spend the money. There are a few of the cats in this forum that have recurrent UTIs but the majority do not. So if money is tight and he's not having symptoms, I'd not do it.
I googled the symptoms of UTI in felines and he has none of them.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

TheBowHuntress said:
Bruce & Simon said:
If your vet knows about Binky's list AND said ditch all dry food, he's probably in the top 1%, certainly not "uneducated"
You're right--I shouldn't have said it that way; what I meant was unschooled re: feline diabetes...I should be thrilled with him, right?
From some of the stories we've seen here.. yes. Tales of "2u BID, bring him back in 2 weeks for a curve, etc."... scary. Mine is like yours, a great guy, and he's come around a lot,
now prescribes Lantus instead of caninsulin, recommends wet food, etc. He leaves the FD management to "you and your internet board" :lol:
In the "economic reality" department, the waiting area still has a (non)healthy supply of those high$$ prescription dry cat foods :-|
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles AMPS 361 +6 209 ? help - vet appt today

IM vet = internal medicine vet.

Marje is right that the culture and sensitivity (different from basic urinalysis) is more expensive. It's one my regular vet pushes too, but I don't always go for it because Neko hasn't had the history or symptoms of UTI.

Good luck at vetty today.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 - unbelieveable vet appt - must re

i]OMG...the vet appointment was unbelievable! I got there and here my appointment was yesterday. The receptionist asked if I would like to see a different vet and I said ok. When I got into the room, I had Gobby's test equipment and insulin with me because his shot was due at 4 p.m. (and it was almost 4 p.m.) When the vet walked into the room I told him that I would get Gobby's BG & give him his shot. Of course, Gobby just laid there and let me test him (140) and shoot him. I handed him the folder with Gobby's SS, TRP & Roomp/Rand literature, abstracts--he literally lit up like a christmas tree and got soooo excited!!! I swear he almost hit his head on the ceiling! He said he just loves Kristen Roomp and goes to her lectures whenever he can; that she's so educated, a great speaker and pretty to boot. Then he mentioned Dr. Pierson and that he is enthralled with her website and research! He was overly impressed with what I gave him and asked if he could please make a copy of everything? I said, oh that's for your file. He then asked if I minded waiting while he went to get his tech (who has a cat on Lantus). She wanted to know about the pens, how long Gobby was on insulin, dosing etc. I wrote down FDMB website and where to get Lantus pen coupons (she said she is spending a fortune on vials). The vet told me that in his opinion (though he doesn't want to "jinx Gobby") there is a very good chance Gobby may go into remission because of the Lantus TRP. He said that he is fascinated with the study and specialty of Feline Diabetes. He even jokingly suggested that I go in and educate all the other vets & techs with what I know and show them how easy it is for caregivers to home test, and to speak with them about being proactive in the management of Gobby's FD. Needless to say, I was absolutely floored. As for the exam; Gobbles weight was 12.87. He thoroughly examined Gobby's teeth and said he has an absolutely healthy mouth & teeth and does not dental. He drew blood and urine; senior panels. He said his ears are not infected but if they continue to bother them, to flush (I have the vet ear flush already at home). He did notice the 2/24 PM low BG readings, asked me questions about it and thought I handled the situation beautifully. On my way out, I told him that if he gets any FD newbies and they need someone to talk to and/or shown how to HT, I would be more than happy to help. He thanked me profusely and apologized for taking up so much of my time!!! WOW...I still cannot believe it (Added: he said he wouldn't do a fructo test because in my case, with all the data, that test would be a big waste of money).[/i]
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 - unbelieveable vet appt - must re

Josie & Ripley said:
I'm speechless!
I think you struck gold, Kat!
I was too, I'm surprised I didn't get a bloody lip when my jaw hit the floor!!!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

On another note: Gobby's PMPS was 140 (taken by me at the vet's office)--good chance it may have been lower, however, I did give him his shot. On time.

Now 3 hours later and he's already at 81....I gave him a few tiny, tiny pieces of steak plus a little MC mixed in with a little LC--which he barely ate....hopefully, he'll begin to surf now, possible but more than likely he may go lower...perhaps I should check my coffee supply....

Is there anything else I can do/give him to slow the drop? I am feeding him very small quantities at a time since learning my lesson the eve of the 24th!!!

PMPS 140 (at vet's office)
+3 81
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

You done good!! :lol: :lol: Keep checking about every hour (less or more depending on how Gobby reacts to food) giving snacks as needed. If he takes a fast drop you might add a drop of honey or Karo. From past experience I know that 1 drop of honey will raise Tess up 20 for 2 hours, then she heads back down. But ECID and you should know how Gobby reacts by now.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

I think you're doing fine. At this point I usually recommend 2 tsp of low carb food to help him surf. That seems to be a good amount to get them to stop dropping and start surfing. Then see where he is at the next test to see if more carbs are needed.

Good job with the vet!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

Libby and Lucy said:
I think you're doing fine. At this point I usually recommend 2 tsp of low carb food to help him surf. That seems to be a good amount to get them to stop dropping and start surfing. Then see where he is at the next test to see if more carbs are needed.

Good job with the vet!
He really is snubbing food. I know that if I offered him some boiled chicken (skinless, boneless, no preservatives) or "ham off the bone" lunchmeat, he would eat that, or even a small amount of milk. Will any of that work Libby?
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

The lunchmeat was a great choice the other night Kat.

Sounds like you found an amazing vet! How ironic is it that you were able to do so only because you missed the appointment yesterday???

Carl
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

Carl & Bob said:
The lunchmeat was a great choice the other night Kat.

Sounds like you found an amazing vet! How ironic is it that you were able to do so only because you missed the appointment yesterday???

Carl
Yes, my boy sure likes his lunchmeat. I actually just got him to eat 2 tsp. of FF LC; new flavor (classic beef & liver) he's not had before... I'll keep the lunchmeat as a last resort :lol: Yes, this vet is so amazing...very ironic indeed...I had the 26th noted on my calendar but was sure it was Monday, though it couldn't have been because that was the 25th...
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

WOW!!! You and Gobby were meant to see that vet. :-D :-D :-D Get on your board shorts, G!
Liz
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

great job kat, so proud of you. and just as proud of your new vet, wish i could find one here.
hope the drop slows, i have no advise to give, i'm usually losing feeling on my left side and loosing vision when ruben would drop even a little, so all i can say is breath.. :-D
gobbles is lucky to have you, and even more your vets and all the cats lives you will effect by letting them know about (((((fdmb))))))
sending OTJ vines to Gobbles. She can do it.
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

Awesome vetty report!!!

Now, Gobby, start eatin' and surfin'!!!
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

Hey Kat.... just read your post..Awesome dancing_cat dancing_cat Maybe we should send the info to my vet....she seems to think I test too much & that's why Sabrina's #s are all over the chart.....she had trouble reading the ss because there' too many colors & times aren't consistent...... ohmygod_smile I think the vettys need a little bit of educational update....& don't assume we're crazy cat people going to extremes! :mrgreen: So glad you found a new advocate............Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/26 Gobbles PMPS 140 +3 81 ? slow drop + awesome vet

milfordcollector said:
Hey Kat.... just read your post..Awesome dancing_cat dancing_cat Maybe we should send the info to my vet....she seems to think I test too much & that's why Sabrina's #s are all over the chart.....she had trouble reading the ss because there' too many colors & times aren't consistent...... ohmygod_smile I think the vettys need a little bit of educational update....& don't assume we're crazy cat people going to extremes! :mrgreen: So glad you found a new advocate............Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
I'm so happy that I missed the appointment yesterday!!! I'm sorry to hear that your vet is the way she is. Testing has absolutely nothing to do with BG's, but we know that :-D I'm proud to be a krazy kat lady!!! Yes, I have a new advocate--I hope he and the tech join us here at FDMB!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top