2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8);+2=321;AMPS=251

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Back to our old "2's"...but I'm not complaining. Eating new low-carb food without complaint. May used old stash as treats - in little amounts. Froze snacks for today so we wouldn't have a repeat of yesterday's hunger spike. Will test at +2 before work.
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

He's only 40 points over yesterday's amps. Still good and below the renal threshold. When you can monitor and feel comfortable bringng up numbers if he drops low, you could try a fat .8 or even one unit when he is above 200 to see if he drops into greens.

If the stash is high carb, I'd save it for low numbers you need to bring up someday. Even a few high carb snacks can bring up numbers in some kitties. Finding a few pieces on the floor would bring Misty's Rumpel up a bunch....
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

Fat and skinny doses are just ways to increase the dose by less than .2 or .25 So, for a skinny, you draw up the amount and let out a drop. For a fat, draw up just a little more and let out drops till it is just above the amount. It is a way to increase by a tiny bit if you don't want to increase by .2. Likely an infintestimal difference, but some people like to be super cautious. So if you didn't feel good about one unit but wanted to try a little more than .8
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

My needles give me marks for 1/2 u, so I could work in those little spaces. It's easier to see on the u-100's :-D

I know I read about it, but could you explain what that renal threshold is, again? And, what is considered to be "regulated"? Is each cat different? At what point would food be sufficient to keep numbers in that range? Meaning no shots? Also, do cats who are OTJ still getting tested often?

Thanks
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

The renal threshold is the range at which we think the pancreas can heal, at which it is not "stressed". Most people think it is under 250. A regulated cat is thought to be in the mid 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir, but not below 40 (which is hypo territory)

We consider a cat OTJ if they test between 40-120, off insulin, for two weeks. Most people with OTJ cats test twice daily the first week or so, then maybe once daily, then every few days, then once a week, then every few weeks. When the cat has been in remission numbers for a month or so, most people test when something seems off (like more than usual peeing or water intake etc.)
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

Thanks...made notes.

Is nadir the same in each cat? Is it always between +5 and +7? Or is each cat's nadir determined from weeks of regular testing?
 
Re: 2/26 FRED AMPS=232(.8)

Not only is it different in every cat, but it can change based on time on insulin and even dose. Often new users have earlier nadirs than those when the cat has been on insulin a while. Generally, with ProZinc, it is 5-7 hours after the shot. We encourage people to do a curve every couple of weeks, getting a test every 2-3 hours during a cycle. That shows you how the insulin is working, in general.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top