2/26 Ember AMPS 308, +2 404, +4 318, +6 299

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
Why are we still not improving? I feel like we're just treading water and never really getting better. Maybe I should start a new bottle of insulin. I started this one on Halloween, so maybe it's not really working anymore. We'll increase to 5 units tomorrow since we never even saw blue on 4.75. ๐Ÿ˜ญ I'm just thankful that even though she's totally unregulated, Ember seems to be feeling great! She's been her happy and slightly sassy self throughout this whole process. ๐Ÿฉท
2/23 Ember AMPS 368, PMPS 368, +5 268
 
It's a slow process and takes loads of patience! Some kitties just take longer. You're doing great with her Elaine!

How's the food situation? What is she eating now?
I'm glad to hear she's her happy and sassy self! ๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›

Good luck with the increase tomorrow, let's go Ember ๐Ÿ˜ :bighug: ๐Ÿ„โ€โ™‚๏ธ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐Ÿ’•
 
It's a slow process and takes loads of patience! Some kitties just take longer. You're doing great with her Elaine!

How's the food situation? What is she eating now?
I'm glad to hear she's her happy and sassy self! ๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›

Good luck with the increase tomorrow, let's go Ember ๐Ÿ˜ :bighug: ๐Ÿ„โ€โ™‚๏ธ ๐ŸŒŠ ๐Ÿ’•
She's still mostly eating FF- I found some new flavors that she likes, thank goodness, so she's happier with a bigger variety. I've also found a couple flavors of Nulo pate that she'll eat. She's still getting 2 tbsp of Dr Elsey's dry per day and her absolute favorite thing on earth are these freeze dried cubes of cooked chicken breast from Weruva. I've been wanting to do a trial where I replace the Dr Elseys with the freeze dried chicken for a day to see if that improves things. Their carb content is about the same, so I'm not sure it will help, but maybe it's worth a shot.
 
I'm so glad she's seemingly feeling well. Elaine, you have been doing such a good job with her; sometimes they just take time, as Staci mentioned. I would definitely get a new vial of insulin. You never know if your fridge might have gotten too cold (freezing can render the insulin ineffective) or something, and since the numbers remain high, I would eliminate that variable. Also, if you can ditch the dry food and go TR, you could take dose increases more frequently. And I believe (but check with Wendy on this) that when they reach 5 units, you can take increases at .50 units rather than .25. It's possible she might have IAA. I hope not, but it's possible. I've read that one in four diabetic kitties have it. Wendy can also talk more to that issue, since she had a kitty with IAA.
 
Back
Top