2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Much nicer AMPS this morning. Here's hoping Cobb slides nicely. I doubt he dipped under 200 last night, given that he didn't bug me for food, which is his trademark "hey mom, my number is falling" alert.

All 5 P's in place. Appetite is good, not ravenous.

Happy hump day!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241

Nice sunny start for Cobb! It is nice to have a kitty who tells you when they are going low. Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Well, Cobb earned himself another dosecrease this evening. When wil it end?!???! Let's see where this takes us...what a wild ride we are on. :roll:
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Good call and good luck with the dosecrease. When will it end, no one knows. :roll: Finding that good dose is like chasing a moving target. And one day it will just be there.

Nice that Cobb will bug you for food if he's feeling low. Neko just curls up quietly at night, but will bug me if I'm up.
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Thanks Wendy. I feel like a hamster on a wheel trying to keep up sometimes. And I don't feel like I can get ahead of whatever this is. It's like we made good progress and then something happens like, family comes and stresses him out, or I have a fur shot that puts us back find starting the cycle count over...I just don't know how aggressive to be and when.

I have a vet appointment set. It is at the end of March. We're set to talk about high dose conditions, if Lantus is the right insulin, thyroid check, any infection, and the possibility of a dental (I've mentioned my reservations about that in the past). And the vet treated Sooty, so she has experience with a high dose cat with multiple high dose conditions, FDMB, and the protocol...so we'll see what happens. We just have to make it to that vet visit! :smile:
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Fingers and paws crossed that you will make it!!!
Hi Suzanne, I feel your anxiety and wish I could help ease it, but it is just something that, as Wendy says, has to be worked out. All I can say is don't worry too much about the things that throw Cobb off, like fur shots and company. These types of things are something we all deal with and our kitties always seem to be OK.
Sending "find that perfect dose" vines tonight. Just think how great it will be when Cobb reaches it and then starts to come down!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

I don't know how much you've been looking at SS of other high dose kitties, but it was something I did that gave me an idea of how unpredictable things could be. In addition to Neko, Black Kitty, Ole and Punkin, a couple others from high dose kitties whose beans who post regularly in LL are Tip and Pepper. The high dose forum has posts with other examples. The tests results will help tell you how aggressive you can be - end of March will come soon. In the mean time, I think you've been doing a great job with Cobb!

Dentals can make quite the difference as Sandy found out and also Linda/Scooter a recent example. All of the high dose kitties above use Lantus. I switched Neko to Levemir in September, to try in desperation to get her to change her night time only diving habits. I didn't succeed in that goal, but Neko is one of those kitties that is flatter on Lev so I think it's better for her.
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Hey!

Sending you the good vibes of wonderfulness with this increase. You can do it Cobb and Cobb's Organs! We're all desperately seeking good doses, so cut us a little slack will ya!

Have a good night Suzanne. Keep on doing the best that you can! Because it's pretty great.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

Rebekah, Wendy and Ella - thank you all for the encouragement. I really appreciate it. I guess my concern is just how high will this right dose be? We need to find it soon! :-)

It's +2 right now and Cobb is begging for some food, so I'd better check him. I'm off to bed soon anyway (hopefully).
 
Re: 2/26 Cobb AMPS 241 +3 315 +6 273 +8 308 PMPS 318 dosecre

i am confident you are doing as well as anyone could do, suzanne. truly. try to concentrate on one day at a time and just do what you can do for that day. :YMHUG:

as far as concerns about dental and anesthesia, it can be very scary. i think the key is to have someone you trust who has plenty of experience with "delicate" cats. punkin had 7 anesthesias - 4 for the SRT, 2 dentals and one for a growth to be removed from inside his mouth (we thought cancer and it turned out to be nothing *whew*). the SRTs were done at Colorado State University vet school, the growth removal was done at the local university vet school, one dental was done by a veterinary dentist (who gave me the option of having an anesthesiologist present for a mere additional $700! she did have a vet tech there constantly monitoring the anesthesia), - the only anesthesia that didn't have a specialist was the first dental, and punkin did fine.

i'm not twisting your arm, just want to reassure you that if you do choose to do one at some point, there are ways to minimize the risk for this sweet boy you love so much. unless the vet (new one) sees something suspicious in Cobb's mouth, i don't think there is any urgency to doing a dental. punkin had terrible breath and there was no question that he needed one.

in the meantime, you're doing everything you can do. he'll get to a good dose. have a great day! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top