2/26 Cinco at Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
2/25 Recap:
2.25 units bid
AMPS: 267
AM+3: 237
AM+6: 229
PMPS: 271
PM+3: 209
PM+6: 195

Yesterday's Condo

My flat yellow kitty of the past few days has decided he's liking blue so far today. I like it too. I just hope he doesn't get carried away on this slide, since I'm already nervous about leaving for 6 days!! nailbite_smile We'll have our cell phones on us at all times and the DCS knows to call if she has any questions or concerns. I'm planning to leave her a note telling her how to access the board, just in case she can't reach us for any reason. I'll tell her to put something like "Cinco's DCS Dosing Question" in the subject so you'll know it's a total rookie posting. I don't anticipate that happening, but I'm trying to cover all bases. Nervous mamabean here! I am going to have her text me his BGs, so I'll try to keep the spreadsheet up to date, on a delay since she works all day. Don't know if I'll post, but I'll try to read a few condos when I can, just to keep up on how everyone is doing!

The vet called this morning with Harvey's test results. Thyroid was normal (YAY!), and urine was bacteria-free, but his kidney enzymes are still elevated, and while he is not into CKD yet, she said that looks like where he is headed. :cry: He did not care for the Hill's KD chicken flavor I gave him the other night, although I did not try mixing it with his normal food (of course, all the other cats liked it! :roll: ) . I still have the fish flavor to try. I'm not going to have my DCS do anything different with food while I'm gone, as I think he will be stressed out enough, but when we get back I'll be looking for suggestions on what to feed him! :YMSIGH: He was the only one of my four cats with no medical issues. I guess when you have a house full of geriatric cats, you have to expect this, but it sure drains your wallet! $$$ :shock: And raises your blood pressure!

Got a ton of things to do to prepare for the trip. DH thought he had the truck fixed last night, but it broke down on the test run and had to be towed home again, so we'll be driving the Monte Carlo. I love my car, but it isn't the best vehicle for tailgating. I just hope it isn't snowing over Tahachapi!! :shock: :shock:

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Cheers to Linda and Scooter for Day 7 OTJ! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco AMPS 248 +3 162 +6 87

Apparently someone thinks I don't have enough stress in my life. Cinco picks this afternoon to check out the lagoon!! :roll: Plus, we noticed last night he had a brownish discharge from his eyes - the right one worse than the left. I cleaned it off and checked this morning, and there was none. Whew! BUT, when I did his +6, I saw the right eye looked a little inflamed and cloudier than usual, and when he bent over his plate, a drop of rust-colored liquid appeared! :shock: Panic button pressed! I called the OV and the tech said it didn't sound serious. She explained about a common issue that would cause this, but said if I was concerned I could bring him in this afternoon. Since we're leaving this evening, I told her I'd feel much better if he was checked out, so we're off to the OV at 3:45. :YMSIGH: Good thing no one wants to check my blood pressure today!

Since Cinco seems to have no problem dropping below 100 when he wants to, despite all the yellow surfs lately, I have a question about what to tell my DCS. I was thinking I'd tell her to call me if the preshot was between 100 and 150, especially in the morning when she was leaving for work. I was also planning to tell her not to shoot any number below 100. Does this sound reasonable? Should I up that to 120? I'd appreciate any feedback. I just want to make sure Cinco stays safe while I'm gone, and I'll deal with getting him back on track later. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco AMPS 248 +3 162 +6 87

Cinco sure likes to make things interesting. I hope everything is okay with his eyes. Sorry, I don't know about the dose for the DCS.
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

Guess I should have checked him at +7, but I really didn't think he'd drop this much. :o Now I'm wondering - even though he hasn't earned a reducie (yet) under the protocol, should I have my DCS shoot 2.0 instead of 2.25 while we're gone? I'm just worried he'll drop like this when she's at work. Help, please!
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

If you are worried about DCS not testing as much as you would, I'd think about doing a .25U reduction while you are gone. Rather Cinco run a little higher for those 6 days. Try to have fun!

For Harvey, you'll want to check out http://www.felinecrf.org/ when you get back. You want low carb/low phosphorus fuds for him.
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

Will post more later if I can. Took Cinco to OV an it's not good. He's at the vet for boarding and tests till we get back. Might be cancer.
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

Sending a ton of vines to Cinco. It sounds like it was a good thing you didn't listen to the tech and brought him in.
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

Oh, I'm so sorry to hear of Cincos troubles :cry: . I'm glad you got into the vet. Paws crossed for better news that they think. I'm sorry that Harvey has the newer early CKD diagnosis too. I'm sorry you have to go away now, I hope your trip goes ok. Many hugs for you! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: .
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

Sending tons and tons of prayers for Cinco....and you and Harvey and your whole crew right now.
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco +6 87 +8 57 Dose?

me too - how difficult to have happen at all, much less when you are trying to leave.

i'd agree about reducing the dose. you don't want him running low if no one is around to monitor.

there are quite a few over the counter foods that are easy on the kidneys. you don't have to use prescription food. Also, you can slow the progression considerably with the food change. be encouraged! Punkin's favorite of the low phos low carb foods was the Friskies Special Diet (not senior diet) Turkey and Giblets. Ann/Tess has a tab on Tess' spreadsheet with some foods and there is also a list on http://www.catinfo.org that lists in orders of increasing phosphorus values.

i hope you have all good news with Cinco and you get to enjoy your trip! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/26 Cinco At Vet for the week

We decided to postpone our departure until tomorrow morning. Just too much to get done and leaving at 8 or 9 would have meant getting into Barstow at 2 or 3 am. :sad: We'll just get a good night's sleep, start really early in the morning and drive straight through. We'll miss Thursday night's race, but that's okay. The DCS came and we got Chinese food and finished packing, etc. so we're ready to leave in the am. She was concerned about Cinco but relieved she doesn't have to worry about dealing with fluctuating BGs and insulin dosing. The kitties were so happy to see her they didn't want to bother with dinner - just wanted her to play with them! :roll:

The OV examined Cinco's eyes and said the left one looked really good & the pressure was perfect. The pressure in the right one was elevated and it was very inflamed. He said there was damage to the iris, and it looked like there could be a mass behind it. He said there was no good way to be sure - the only test requires a sample of tissue that is very difficult to get, and it isn't a definitive test. He told me to get Cinco to his regular vet right away and get a chest xray and ultra sound. He said a lot of times there is cancer elsewhere in the body first. If they don't find anything, and the additional meds he ordered (a third eye drop and more Azithromycin) don't clear up the inflammation and elevated pressure, he will have to remove the eye. If they do find something, obviously we have to decide how comfortable we can keep him and for how long. I asked if it could wait till we get back, and he said no, so I called the vet and they said they could board him while we are gone and do the tests in the next few days. I took him straight over. I hated leaving him there, but it's the best choice for him, and at least I know there is someone to check on him 24/7. I feel very drained right now and am glad we are not getting in the car and driving six hours tonight. It's been raining all day, too. :smile:

Thank you all for the good vines and prayers. Cinco is going to need all he can get.
 
(((Tricia))) Calming vines for you :YMHUG:
Positive vines for Cinco for the best possible outcome cat_pet_icon He will be in the safest place for him while you are gone. I know it won't be easy, but I hope you are able to enjoy yourself.
 
Awww, I'm so sorry. I'm glad he is being cared for at the vet and getting tests to see what is needed, I know it can't be easy to leave him there and go away :sad: . I'm sending many prayers for the best news possible :YMHUG: .

I'm not sure what a DCS is? But I'm glad the kitties were happy to see her and will have someone they love in your absence :smile: . Paws crossed you have a good trip.
 
I'm sending MANY vines to Cinco and hugs to you, (((Tricia))). It sounds like Cinco is in good hands while you're away.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Piling on the vines and positive thoughts for Cinco. Bad timing. Try to have a good time on your trip. The vet will only be a phone call away - don't be afraid to check in whenever you need. They're animal people and they understand worried mamabeans. Hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
Tricia, I am so sorry that all of this is happening. We will be thinking good thoughts for Cinco and are sending him lots of vines. He will be much better off at the vet's, where they can watch him and keep him safe. And, don't forget that you can--and should-- check in on your kitty every day by phone.

Have a good vacation and try not to worry too much. Your cat sitter has a good relationship with your kitties and they will be OK.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Adding more vines to the list for Cinco and Harry too! {{Hugs}} for the beans on top of it!

Hoping for good news when all the tests are done, and that Cinco will do fine through them and while you're away. The vet seems like the best place for him right now with his new tendency to slide into lower numbers.

I'm thinking DCS might be Dear Cat Sitter, but I don't know for sure either, Rachel!

Try to have fun on your trip Tricia. I know most of your heart you left behind with your dear kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top