2/26 Chyna AMBG +10 70 PMBG +3 61?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi guys! Thanks for all the hugs and support yesterday, please keep my kitty in your prayers, I appreciate it so much. The clinic just called and said Chyna is in the more "normal" range of numbers today in her bloodwork, so they are going ahead with the dental around noon (in an hour or so). The vet is supposed to call later with an update, as they aren't sure if she can come home tonight or if they need to monitor. SO another nerve wracking day today nailbite_smile Yesterdays condo:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89736
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

:YMHUG:

Hoping the dental is a huge success and Chyna comes home today.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

((Rachel))
I know you're worried but it sounds like they're taking really good care of your girl. You and Chyna are in my thoughts!
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

Vines to Chyna! I hope everything goes well and she is able to come home, happy and healthy.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

Hi Rachel :smile:

Adding my voice to the choir for an easy dental and no overnight stay :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

Paws crossed for great dental vetty vines!!!! Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

I hope the dental is smooth sailing.

Honestly, I'd rather have an overly cautious vet than the opposite. Your vet sounds very good.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

I am on my cell so just a quick note the vet office called and I can bring my baby kitty home tonight:) they took a few teeth but that's all I know for now will post later!
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

Wonderful news!!! You'll both rest so much easier with her home! Keep us posted!!
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna (was overnight/still at vet-dental)

Yay! That's great she is coming home. Just feed her tiny bits of food at a time, so she can get used to eating again.
Liz
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

We are home! Chyna was quite hissy at the vet techs, and even hissed when I got there but calmed down when she smelled mama bean and I picked her up. They said she'd been very stressed, which isn't a surprise, she likes calm quiet places. Once we got to the car she was all lovey against my fingers that I put in the cage. I'm trying to get her settled now, her glucose was 70 and she really isn't interested in her food yet, I mixed it with water and only put a little bit out but she did have 4 teeth removed. Maybe in a bit, right now she is pacing around all hyper from room to room. We've had ear scratches and a little bit of purring and she went to the litter box. I'll add more later, gotta make baby girl feel comfy to be home :-D
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

Yay, thank goodness she's home. I have to have Ruben's dental done soon and am already stressing over it...lol
I'm glad she's home with mama bean, no one makes us feel like mom does. enjoy having here home
sending healing teeth vines to chyna, kiss her sweet face for me.
Good job, mama bean. It's hard to take them to the vet but it's the right thing even tho it might make us go gray before our time :-D
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

They can be a bit spaced out for a while after anesthesia. Tess does the mewing/pacing thing too. Let her set the pace. Did they give you any pain meds? Or antibiotics? They are often RX w/ extractions.

Tess is early CKD too, really the only thing we have had to do so far is adjust to a low phosphorus food. It's a bit tricky to fin LC and low phos foods but they are out there. I have a tab for foods that meed both criteria on Tess's BG SS, you are welcome to download it. I just went through Dr Lisa's list and pulled out the foods Tess can have. Tanya's list recommends less than 250mg phos per 100 kcal foods. I've been keeping Tess under 200 and her numbers have gotten much better in just 6 months. It's OK you can handle it. There are a number of kitties here who are both FD and CKD.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

Did the vet give you any pain meds and if so, what meds?

Chyna may have some trouble eating and baby food may help. I say may since Gabby wanted no part of baby food and was happy to eat her usual food. Please get a test at PMPS and post. If Chyna's numbers are low and she's not interested in food, you may want to consider skipping or shooting a reduced dose. (Anesthesia lowers BG.)
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

We do have the same antibiotics as she was on before the dental, Clavaseptin. The vet said to skip it tonight since she had some with the dental along with pain meds. For take home pain meds, they said I can give her one later tonight, it's Buprenorphine which I had requested. I don't think I'm doing a shot tonight, since it would be in 30 minutes and I can't get her to touch food yet. I do have a few jars of the chicken broth and beef broth baby food which I tried a teaspoon of chicken and nada...she is still settling in. I'm a little worried she won't eat, but I guess if I'd had a bunch of teeth pulled I wouldn't want to either. Hasn't gone more than a few feet from where I am since we got home. Her ear bled pretty bad when I did the test when we got home:(

For the kidneys, she said they are looking worse than the labs done when she was diagnosed with diabetes by my previous vet but it can be managed, and to leave our routine for the next week or two while we do the antibiotics and dental healing, then we can talk about meds and proper food. She gave me some reading material on CKD.

I'm going to go kiss my baby girl now! Thanks for all the help, I'm sure I will be asking for more:)
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet!

One of the best sites around for kitties with kidney issues is Tanya's site. Dr. Lisa has a list of low phosphorus foods. If you check on the carb content, that will help you to pick foods that are in a good range for Chyna. There are a number of people here who are knowledgeable about kidney issues and can lend you a hand.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet! Food?

I'll check it out. She just finally ate the 1/8 can of food I had out for her. How long should I wait to give her more food, an hour or half an hour? I also get to figure out how to give her Buprenorphine...it says to put in her cheek fold or under tongue, I have a bunch of syringe type things filled in a baggie in the fridge but it looks like an awful big dose. They said one every 12 hours or so. And is it normal for pupils to be so large on the drugs? I guess she is all drugged up @-)
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 Home from vet! Food/Bupe?

Bupe is an opiate -- like morphine. It's normal for the pupils to be enlarged. What is the dose?
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AM+10 70 PMBG +3 61??

Ok, I can't get her to sit for the bupe. I may have to try a towel she's so hyper. Now she's down to 61 with no insulin since yesterday, how long does it take anesthetic to wear off?...should I give some medium carb food? She's managed to eat 1/4 can in the last hour and a half. Or just keep giving her some LC?
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AMBG +10 70 PMBG +3 61??

I'm glad you have Chyna home tonight. Has she eaten any more since your last post? It seems that cats react differently to anesthesia. It didn't effect Neko much, but I've heard some people say their cats were still feeling BG lowering effects the next day.
 
Re: 2/26 Chyna AMBG +10 70 PMBG +3 61??

I'm glad she is home too. She has nibbled at another 1/8 can, but isn't interested much. I just (finally) got her first shot of bupe in her mouth, it took a towel and a few videos online, lol. I was just a bit worried since she has gone down in glucose since she came home and has eaten a bit, with no insulin...I don't even know if you can hypo without insulin...just a worry wart :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top