2/26 Cargo AMPS 145, AM+2 230, AM+4 252

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Woohoo!!! Thank the good Lord we're back into the blues! Cargo sure likes to scare me to death! The dose increase was the ticket! Thanks to all who helped! :bighug::bighug:

Happy surfing everyone!
 
Hi @Gill & George! Yes, I'm home and will definitely get a +2 and probably a +4 since that's normally his nadir. He seems to be eating mostly well although he's not taking much interest in the raw anymore. I'm not sure if that's because he's getting tired of it or what. So these last few days I've been spoiling him with mostly canned, but I have an order in from a different raw company that has more and different proteins and hopefully that will spark interest again. I'm still trying to get a ketone test but right now, which is normally his litter box time, he's just sitting there staring at me like he knows I'm waiting for him and he's not having it! So I wait...
Energy-wise I'd say he's not up to normal, but he's still purring away on his favorite blanket on the couch so doesn't seem to be in pain.
 
Energy-wise I'd say he's not up to normal, but he's still purring away on his favorite blanket on the couch so doesn't seem to be in pain.
I'm glad you took the dose up, the lethargy and loss of appetite worries me, especially if he is on potentially not enough insulin, worries me.

It's good to see the numbers come down and that he seems a bit better.

I hope you manage to catch him for a pee, George always goes for a pee after breakfast, so I didn't have to camp out at the LB for too long.
 
@Gill & George Well, I guess we're not out of the woods just yet, he's headed back up at the moment when he should normally be going down. I was worried yesterday about pancreatitis, is that what you're worried about too or something else?

I waited for a while by the litter box and also tried to coax him up but he wasn't interested. He sounds like George - he goes right after breakfast normally. That's the only time that I know he consistently goes and I haven't honestly noticed any other times other than the random catch. :(

I'll take another test at the +4 and let's hope he's back in the blues...
 
Well with you saying that he was lethargic and off his food, and thinking that maybe he has pancreatitis, if he is not getting enough insulin, then it can lead to the perfect storm, that leads to development of ketones.
Some cats seem to be more prone to it than others, George has certainly been sick had numbers in the black, not eating etc and never developed ketones. But it is a concern, hence asking about getting that ketone test.
The fact he is eating better today, behaving more normally and his numbers came down, is a relief.
 
@Gill & George He's not totally off his food, just the raw stuff. He is still eating the canned food pretty well, but sometimes acts maybe a little nauseous.
Just had a funny thing happen - Cargo wanted to go out into the back garden so I let him out (supervised since he's not really an outdoor cat). There's another cat in the neighborhood that runs free and had visited out yard apparently because Cargo started intensely sniffing around and suddenly sprayed a bunch of rocks where that cat must have also sprayed. So I seized the opportunity (we were just talking about this!), grabbed one of the wet rocks (yuck!) and ran to my ketone test kit! I was able to get a good sample and fortunately it came back negative!
So thankfully that's one good thing at the moment. However I will continue to try to test on a daily basis while his numbers are going so crazy. I have switched to TR which requires me to wait 3 full days before a dose increase. If this is a pancreatitis flare up, does he have that kind of time?
 
Back
Top