2/26 Buddy PMPS#208 +1 131 +4 172 +8 298 +10 378 ~doh!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
OK, we decided on the er of caution in accordance to beginners A 4.4 (as best a we understood it) to shoot just a smidgen under the dose. We gave him just under 1 unit, maybe about .75. He jumped when we shot him, ether the stuff was to cold or we hit a muscle or nerve. I gave him some extra FF since Dad made him go meowwww!

BG was 208, I like that compared to what we where having but after today I want to make sure he does not start diving again. If he surfs tonight come AMPS we will go to 1u, then maybe to 1.25u. If it is too low then we will start the cycle all lover again, till this furdad gets to be better at this I would rather start it over than have him crash on me.
 
Re: 2/26 Mike's Buddy PMPS#208 +1 131

OK, 131. That is a 77 drop, will be staying awake I guess for a little while just in case.
 
Re: 2/26 Mike's Buddy PMPS#208 +1 131

Now wait a minute! I get out of the shower earlier than usual and I hear someone running about the place smacking the cardboard boxes.

It's Buddy! And here I am worried he may dive again! The little snit, lol! Still I will check on him a little more tonight anyways.

Sometimes these sudden bursts of energy make him just stop and plop to take a breather and they use to scare the poo out of me when he started doing this. But its one of those cat things...
 
Re: 2/26 Mike's Buddy PMPS#208 +1 131

sometimes these sudden bursts of energy make him just stop and plop to take a breather and they use to scare the poo out of me when he started doing this. But its one of those cat things...
:lol: :lol: :lol: Sounds like he's having fun.

Maverick flinches every so often too. If you go in parallel to the body you avoid hitting a muscle. Don't point downward at all. I'm sure the extra FF made him forget all about it :lol:
 
Well phooy! It blew the low readings to pieces this morning. I dunno, did we fudge it up with the low dose? :-x

So do we go back to 1.25u or 1u?
 
Mike I am not a dosing helper but I would stay at this dose--The protocol says that a dose reduction is earned when a new cat goes to 50's BG , and Buddy did not really do that..
You can consult the dosing helpers, & I'm sure you'll get some other opinions.
But I learned here that dose hopping isnt good with lantus, and it needs consistancy & patience..Makes sense?

Let's see where this goes rest of the day..
Buddy could be in a bounce from that 60's number from yesterday..or from the glucose gel.
Have a good Caturday! :mrgreen:
 
I think you could go with the 1.25 (if you are there to monitor). You were just starting to see some really nice numbers and the 62 was still a safe number (however scary it was to see). You didn't blow it with the lower dose - I would have done that too.

Sherry
 
Don't let the bounce get you down, Mike. It was coming at some point, no matter what you did. I've done the same in your shoes, and as you get more comfortable, you'll be able to shoot the full dose in situation.

Hope you guys have a good day!!
 
I think you have 3 yeses! Good luck with the dose! If Buddy starts dropping again you can aways feed some low or medium carb food to help slow the drop. Save the big guns (high carb, karo etc) for when he gets to low numbers 50's. Just a thought....and I am not a dosing expert, just my opinion. Remember consistency - Lantus likes consistency! I had the same problem and did "dose hopping" with Zoe when first dx'd.
 
I think you should stick with 1.25, and just consider this morning's 1.0u as a BCS (Big Chicken Shot). You can see on Willie's spreadsheet I did the same on 2/21. (see, you're not alone!!! :-D )
 
Sherry & Zoe said:
I think you have 3 yeses! Good luck with the dose! If Buddy starts dropping again you can aways feed some low or medium carb food to help slow the drop. Save the big guns (high carb, karo etc) for when he gets to low numbers 50's. Just a thought....and I am not a dosing expert, just my opinion. Remember consistency - Lantus likes consistency! I had the same problem and did "dose hopping" with Zoe when first dx'd.

OK. Thank you, you are using your experience and was balancing it with my own VERY limited experience.

Mike ;-)
 
Christie & Willie said:
I think you should stick with 1.25, and just consider this morning's 1.0u as a BCS (Big Chicken Shot). You can see on Willie's spreadsheet I did the same on 2/21. (see, you're not alone!!! :-D )

BCS huh, cute! :razz:
 
Hi Mike, I've gotten to the point with Choco because he is such a furry kitty that I spread his fur and kind of pick up his skin with two fingers and then shoot him with the other hand. That way I know I'm not going to hit a muscle. 9 out of 10 times he has no complaints. :O) I've only been on this board a couple of weeks and at first I was thinking I should shoot different doses according to his numbers but I too was told that Lantus likes consistency. Of course if I have to go to work and he tests a real low number than I have been know to give him a BCS dose just to be on the safe side. Good luck to you and Buddy. You are doing great! :-D
 
marleesan71 said:
Hi Mike, I've gotten to the point with Choco because he is such a furry kitty that I spread his fur and kind of pick up his skin with two fingers and then shoot him with the other hand. That way I know I'm not going to hit a muscle. 9 out of 10 times he has no complaints. :O) I've only been on this board a couple of weeks and at first I was thinking I should shoot different doses according to his numbers but I too was told that Lantus likes consistency. Of course if I have to go to work and he tests a real low number than I have been know to give him a BCS dose just to be on the safe side. Good luck to you and Buddy. You are doing great! :-D

Thank you! Yep, he needs a the luck and help he can get.
 
Binks gets a shave job where i shoot...he's not a longhair...but he's got that unbelievably thick manx undercoat...

i like you better in blues and greens, Buddy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top