2/26 Atticus, PMBG 78 Starting OTJ trial!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica and Atticus (GA)

Member Since 2011
99 at AMPS; this is after no shot last night.
Here's yesterday's condo (we got to 49):
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64600

So I think what I was calling a 0.20 was actually a 0.10 because I can't really go any lower in the syringe. I basically just stuck the syringe in the vial, and had to put the plunger all the way up to get it higher than the mark I was using. I went ahead and injected, but I don't think the plunger had anywhere to go. I figure maybe he got some insulin from whatever was in the needle. Should I continue doing this, or is it time to start an OTJ trial? I had wanted to go gradual, but I don't know if it makes sense to inject when the plunger's got nowhere to go.
Thoughts?
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99 and ?

like you say, there was probably a little bit in the needle.
if i were in your shoes, i'd see how things go with this tiny bit of insulin. a few cycles at 0.05 may be telling. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99 and ?

my tip for shooting a teeny drop is to be sure you hold the plunger in until the needle is all the way out of the cat. That way he's getting that tiny drop of insulin on the tip of the needle (if you let go of the plunger, it usually gets sucked back in). Almost there. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58

58 at +2. So he must have gotten a bit of insulin.

Thanks for the tip, Libby! I think I've been doing that, but I'll make sure I am.
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58

I agree.....verra exciting....Atticus...doing great there bud!!! Green green green!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

We got another 49! This is with barely any insulin, just whatever was left inside the needle.

What should I dose tonight? Another needle dose (what I'm calling 0.05)? Or nothing? Is it time to start our trial?

We are so excited!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

Hi Monica & Atticus,

This is very exciting. Having never been in your position, I'll just say "good luck" with whatever you do. Both Jill and Libby thought you should try a few more cycles with the "needle" dose.
You might try drawing the dose you think is .05 (or .01), then shoot it out into a paper towel to see if there is any insulin that gets expelled.
Maybe just wave the pen over the cat? :lol:

Atticus, you are doing GREAT!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

My advice is..... OTJ TRIAL!!!!!!

The instructions are:
  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If Atticus is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • If, after 2 weeks Atticus has stayed in normal numbers, we have a party!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I agree, it's time. Good luck!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

YAY!!! COngrats!!! An OTJ TRIAL!!!

Good luck!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D
 

Attachments

  • celebrate.gif
    celebrate.gif
    4.6 KB · Views: 1,095
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49, +6 65

Woot! OTJ trial time!!!

He's 65 now at +6, but he had some MC gravy at +5.

One question: in the mornings when I work, I won't be able to test until about +5 or +6 after I leave the house. How will I handle that if he's blue at those morning preshots? Feed a small meal when I leave, and see where's he at when I can get back?
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49, +6 65

Monica and Atticus said:
One question: in the mornings when I work, I won't be able to test until about +5 or +6 after I leave the house. How will I handle that if he's blue at those morning preshots? Feed a small meal when I leave, and see where's he at when I can get back?

That's perfectly fine. That's the nice thing about an OTJ trial, there's no pressure to rush around to get certain tests. The +3/+4 is mainly so you can see whether the pancreas is bringing the pancreas down. It makes you feel better, but doesn't necessarily affect the numbers very much. :smile:

Congrats!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, AMPS 99, +2 58, + 5 49! Advice?

:-D

you might want to update your subject line to share the news! everyone will want to be peeking in on you and atticus with all of this excitement!

make sure and thank atticus for making it so clear what he is thinking about getting those shots! :lol:
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, + 5 49, +6 65 Starting OTJ trial!

Woohoo! That is so exciting, way to go Atticus!! Congrats Monica!

Hopefully we can be OTJ trial buddies, if Bailey will get with the program tonight... :roll:
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, + 5 49, +6 65 Starting OTJ trial!

We've been so long without an OTJ trial and now we have two!!!! Congrats, Atticus (and, of course, Monica)!!! Good luck!!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, + 5 49, +6 65 Starting OTJ trial!

Super news!! Yay Atticus! Yay Monica!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, + 5 49, +6 65 Starting OTJ trial!

Yay Atticus! Way to go!
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, PMPS 78 Starting OTJ trial!

78 at would-be PMPS! I told Atticus: "last test of the day!" I swear he knows and is so happy.
Thanks so much everyone for all the good wishes!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, PMPS 78 Starting OTJ trial!

flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon flip_cat flip_cat :thumbup :thumbup


Go Atticus!!!!
 
Re: 2/26 Atticus, PMPS 78 Starting OTJ trial!

WOO HOO!!!! A trial!!! This is so exciting! Good luck and Atticus - you so totally rock.

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
WOOHOO! Go Atticus! (I just love the names of everyone's cats!) Fingers crossed that we'll be having a celebration soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top