2/26/14 Eeyore still bouncing all around

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
AMPS 427

Eeyore is still bouncing all over the place. We are hanging in there, trying to give the .50 dose time for him to get adjusted and form his depot. How long should we wait before we change his dosage? One of the challenges we have right now with getting nadir data is that I am currently out of town caring for my mother who underwent some intense surgery yesterday. My husband is caring for Eeyore and well capable but is a fighter pilot in the U.S. Air Force and has to work 7am to 5 or 6pm most days. Fortunately, this week he has been able to get home a few times during the day and check on Eeyore but he isn't always able to be there during the +6,7,8 time frame. Eeyore seems to be acting normally and eating normally but just continuing to throw all sorts of random numbers.
 

Attachments

  • Eeyore and Estes Spooning (640x480) (400x300).jpg
    Eeyore and Estes Spooning (640x480) (400x300).jpg
    86.9 KB · Views: 264
I haven't stopped by yet, so hello Melanie and welcome here. Very cute pic of Eeyore and his best buddy. :-D

For each new post, we like to link to our previous posts so people can see the history. Here is Eeyore's previous post. To put the link in, go to your old post, copy the URL address from the browser, then in your new post, click the URL button above and past the link inside.

To try to answer your questions, bouncing seems to be a very normal thing for most kitties. Some bounce longer and harder than others. As Eeyore spends more time in normal numbers, his liver will get used to it and the bouncing will get better. So for now, try to ignore the bounces and concentrate on the nadirs when figuring out where Eeyore's dose should be. If you can't get nadir for every cycle, you just try to do the best you can. Getting some mid-cycle and those +3 at night are very helpful in getting an idea of how Eeyore is responding to a dose. For example, on the night of the 24th, he started out at 455 and 3 hours later was at 200. That a HUGE drop. Personally, I would have set an alarm and gotten up 2 hours later to see where he was. Eeyore was definitely in the blues that night and maybe even better. In addition, large drops can make the liver nervous and also cause bounces. :roll:

To answer the question on when to increase, here is the quote from the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I've highlighted the relevant part. I suspect the nadir on the night of the 24th was less than 200 and the protocol says to hold for 6-10 cycles before increase to .75. However, since the Eeyore is also new to numbers under 200, you should hold a little longer. Today is cycle 5 since going to .5U, so I'd hold at least 3 more cycles.
 
Hi Melanie!

Hope your mom is doing well after her kidney removal. you've got your hands full!!!

I'm looking at Eeyore's ss and there's a 22 this afternoon, in between a 333 and a 420. My gut feeling is that is a bad strip - perhaps too much or too little blood. but OHMYGOSH, if it was accurate, that is dangerous territory. Did your husband do anything when he saw the 22?

Yesterday morning there was the 37 followed a half hour + food later he was at 420. I'm just not sure what to make of these numbers. If they are accurate, he needs less insulin.

Would you ask your husband, please, if he saw any signs of a hypoglycemia when he saw the 22? I'll insert the quote below on what those might be, also on how to handle things if you see a low number. When it's in the midst of high numbers, always get another test to verify it - don't feed, immediately retest, then take care of Eeyore following the directions below and then post for more help.

Also did your husband give carbs or do anything? I think this is important for us to try to determine if these are bad tests or if Eeyore is really getting that low. We don't want to stay at this dose if they are accurate tests and if he's reacting very quickly to the low numbers. It is possible the highs are being CAUSED by the low numbers. See the quote below on what a bounce is.

I'd encourage your husband to print out these directions and have them available just in case.

If he thinks it was a good test and valid number, he needs to reduce the dose to 0.25u.

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby





*** Suggestions made are intended for use with the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats ***

Here is an explanation of a bounce:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
when you increase a dose of lantus, you would expect the BG numbers to go lower, right? that's logical. more insulin = lower numbers. only there is a lag time sometimes - increase the dose and for some reason the numbers go higher. that can last a day or so, and then suddenly you start seeing those lower numbers you expected. we call those higher numbers "New Dose Wonkiness" or NDW.

this is the reason we wait following each dose increase to let it settle and see what it's really doing.

now not every cat does that, of course. ECID. sometimes you increase the dose and you immediately see lower numbers. the point of this post is to say that IF you increase a dose AND you see higher numbers, give it a couple of days for things to settle down and then you can assess the dose to see what it's really doing.



the second part of the post is saying that this doesn't apply to a cat when you DECREASE a dose. let's say mookie drops below 50 today and you decrease the dose. if you see higher numbers following the dose decrease, that's not NDW. NDW only applies when you're increasing a dose. higher numbers following a dose decrease can be from one of two things. one possibility is that it simply isn't enough insulin. another possibility is if the cat dropped quickly, or if the cat dropped into a lower range of numbers than it was used to, that can cause a bounce.

BOUNCING

Here is an example of a bounce from someone's recent condo:

you can spot a bounce this way (this only took me 6 months to learn and a bunch of people explaining it! i'm a slow learner!)

yesterday morning you had a 215 - then it went 235, 271, 270, and then 308 this morning - basically straight up. no curve. and then look backwards in the ss and the night before was that sweet little 148 12 hours earlier.

if you imagine that night-time cycle, starting at 148, kitty probably went down in a nice little curve, hitting something under 100 mid-cycle. that lower-than-usual number would've shocked her body. they get accustomed to whatever range they're in, and any sudden dip lower can set this off.

"HELLO WE"VE GOT A 911 HERE- KITTY'S GOING DOWN!" yells Mr. Liver. Fortunately, mr liver has a storehouse of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugar (in case kitty needs a little nommy sweets in the middle of the night) and when Kitty gets into a range of numbers lower than usual, Mr. Liver lets loose with the sugar and the hormones and sends Kitty on a rocket to the moon. this is the cat's body's protective mechanism to keep the cat from becoming hypoglycemic. unfortunately, mr liver doesn't seem to know that anything above 40ish isn't a crisis and it will do this regardless of the range of numbers, even at 200 if the cat has become accustomed to 400.

A second cause of a bounce is if a cat drops very quickly. 100 points in an hour, for example, regardless of the range the BG number is in, can cause a bounce as well.

So, what to do now? don't increase the dose because of these higher numbers. once this bounce clears, which can take up to 3 days of high numbers if mr liver is super-active, then if you had increased the dose, it would be too high. you are entering the phase of treatment that we say requires "Patience Pants." when you think you're seeing a bounce, you have to wait it out, then you can see what the dose really does. You will know the bounce has cleared when you start seeing numbers you were seeing before - like that 148 again.

edited for clarity.
 
Piling on what Julie said about retesting, especially if the number doesn't seem right. I got a 20 a few days ago, and retested and got a 197 which made more sense given the rest of the numbers in the cycle. Sometimes if you double dip, ie. go back a second time for a bit more blood, you can get a lower number than what it actually should be. Or if it's too big a drop, I've also seen that happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top