2/25 Stu AMPS 409 Advice please. PMPS 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Very Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=72747#p72747

Good Morning All, Stu seems fine after being under the weather yesterday. The only thing is: his bg is RED this morning. We are starting the 8th 12-hour cycle at the new dose (3 units). After a promising start on the new dose (on Feb. 22nd) and then bouncing, dropping, and bouncing again on Feb. 23rd, the numbers since yesterday seem to be on an upward trend. I think that this evening I will begin a new cartridge of Lantus (today is day 38 on the present cartridge and although the insulin looks good, perhaps it is losing its potency). TOMORROW IS OUR VISIT TO THE VET (the first visit since beginning the Tilly Protocol; the vet will learn what we've been up to!). Maybe I should wait to start a new cartridge until tomorrow evening?? (a new cartridge might be one more variable to deal with???). In any event, Stu has certainly not settled into his new dose and I don't think I should be raising the dose for a week or so. Advice and opinion are welcome today.

Many thanks!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 2/25 Stu AMPS 409 Advice please.

A cat can rebound for 2 days, so let's see what happens in this cycle-OK?--
You got some nice green 2 days ago, so let's hope Stu gets some nice numbers today..
If these high numbers continue, yes your insulin could be pooping out! I would nt raise the dose without the knowledge of our dosing consultants-- And if you start a new cartridge, Stu probably will drop somewhat..Are you sure you want to do that at night??
I do that when I will be home to monitor. Usually in the daytime..
Go to the vet with your SS, & a copy of the Tilly protocol--Dont get the vet on the defensive, be informative, but proactive..ask for vet's cooperation with this-OK?
Have a good day..
 
Re: 2/25 Stu AMPS 409 Advice please.

Actually, rebound hormones can take up to 72 hours to clear.

I can't get more than 28 days out of a cartridge. Gabby seems very sensitive to any alteration with potency in her insulin. IMHO, you're better off starting a new cartridge than using one that's getting toasty and you then have to completely rebuild Stu's shed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top