2/25 - Sami - AMPS 72; PMPS 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL,

Yesterday's Condo

Last night was another night with limited sleep. Here is a recap of last night:

PMPS = 124
+1 = 105
+2 = 76
+3 = 58
+3.5 = 50
+4 = 52
+5 = 51
+6 = 67
+7 = 97
+9 - 92
AMPS = 72

Fed LC until +5 when the LC wasn't bring him up, and I knew there was still a lot of active insulin to be working. AT +5 I did give a bit over a teaspoon of HC (26%) food and I was able to get a decent hour sleep. +6 was much better, but I still wasn't comfortable going more than an hour between tests so I got another one at +7. At that point, I was a bit more comfortable and slept through to +9. The only reason I got up at +9 was because Sami gets a MM at +9 to help curb the appetite until PS. Since I was up I got another quick test.

And then we get thrown the 72 at AMPS. I knew it must be a dropping number, but there was no point in stalling to find that out. I had a +9 that was higher so it had to be dropping or stable. I was very conflicted about shooting the full 2.0 dose at this number. I know that last night the Sub-q fluids probably played a part in the rapid drop, so I really didn't want to take a reduction in case it was a bit too soon.

Sami is going to work with me and I can monitor, but the Boss man is returning from vacation today and that means things will be a bit more hectic in the office and I might not have the time I need to properly monitor every 15-30 minutes if we hit a low. So I measured off the 2.0 dose and took about a drop off that. I am still expecting to see numbers in the 50's today, and I will go ahead and get the HC food ready. Depending on when and if he gets into the 50's I might just go ahead and give him a teaspoon of HC to head him off at the pass. And then, more than likely, I will for sure take a reduction tonight.

Sami did this exact thing the last time he was on insulin. In less than a week he went from a dose of 1.25 (highest dose was 1.5 at that point) to .25. So I am sort of expecting that to happen again. I will do my best to hold reductions for a long as possible but there is no reason to be unsafe. I know I can feed higher carb food, and I will, but that sort of defeats the purpose of giving more insulin. Why not just reduce when it is warranted.

Anyway, I need to get ready for work and probably won't have time until this afternoon to check the boards, so I hope everyone has a fantastic day and all the Sugar Kitties make it to the Lagoon for a mid week swim.
 
Last edited:
I would pack some honey or syrup in my bag, for just in case. Wishing Sami a good flat cycle and you a not so hectic day.
 
Maybe he is just adjusting to the fact that he is a boy and not a girl :P I still cannot believe that all these years you thought he was a she. So this may be a stupid question, but there isn't any difference in the way they will treat him at the vet or different things they will now be looking for that they didn't because they thought he was a girl?
 
Down to 51 at +2 even with ¼ teaspoon of 26% with the MM at +1. I just gave home another MM with another ½ teaspoon of 26%.

@Dyana Thanks, I will put the syrup in my bag just in case. I have loads of all different carb % at the office, but I think these lower numbers are making him more finicky.

@MollynSkooter LOL! No, I don't think there is anything different that the vet would need to look for but maybe when the regular vet comes back next week I will call to check in.
 
Well, I went ahead and over-carbed a bit because even after 1 1/4 teaspoons of HC (26%) between +1 and +2.25, Sami was still dropping at +2.5. So at that time I did give about 2 full teaspoons, just to make sure that the drop stopped. I did this for two reasons, 1) we were still very early in the cycle and 2) because I didn't think I would have the time first thing this morning at the office to be doing the every 15-20 minute monitoring if he should drop lower than 40.

Anyway, with yet another drop below 50 on this dose, it makes two back to back cycles, I am inclined to decrease tonight to 1.75 units. That is also based on the fact that I gave over 3 teaspoons of HC this morning just to keep him above 50. I know we are still working off the shed and all, but that is my thought. Unless for some reason PMPS is even lower or about the same as AMPS then I will shot a 1.75 unit dose. Now if PMPS is about the same or lower, I might be inclined to skip the dose just to empty the shed and then return to 1.75 tomorrow morning.

I would love to know your feedback on these two options. I know you might need more data leading up to PMPS, but hopefully with the two scenarios I have listed you can give me an idea which you would go with under those circumstances.
 
Hi there :cool:

My $0.02-
Given that you are fighting to keep Sami over 50 - reduce to 1.75u next cycle.
Regarding skipping to drain the depot - if you feel the need to you might consider a reduced dose for the one cycle rather than a skip.
See what others have to say. . . .

Sami is on a roll!
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty Thanks, I am leaning towards the reduction to 1.75 for tonights shot, but I guess it will all depend on what the PS number is.

Sami was at 99 at +9, but he got a MiniMeal so I am sort of expecting a small drop for PMPS, it might not happen, but we will see how it goes.
 
And then we get thrown the 72 at AMPS. I knew it must be a dropping number, but there was no point in stalling to find that out. I had a +9 that was higher so it had to be dropping or stable.
What you saw this morning was a Lantus double dip. Cats will often do that, where they do a little dip at the end of the cycle but they don't dip as low as the main nadir. It's fine to shoot those double dips.

I agree with Sandy, you can always decrease to 1.75U and see how it goes. You may still be feeling some of the depot from 2.25U. You could always do a BCS, lower dose/half?, for tonight to drain the depot some. It's another option beside skipping.
 
What you saw this morning was a Lantus double dip. Cats will often do that, where they do a little dip at the end of the cycle but they don't dip as low as the main nadir. It's fine to shoot those double dips.

I agree with Sandy, you can always decrease to 1.75U and see how it goes. You may still be feeling some of the depot from 2.25U. You could always do a BCS, lower dose/half?, for tonight to drain the depot some. It's another option beside skipping.


@Wendy&Neko Thanks!

Do you have any suggestions as to when to do which option? Say for instance should I do a reduced dose if PMPS is under 80, and the 1.75 unit if the PMPS is above 80. And if I do a BCS to clear out the depot a bit, what should I give, 1.0 unit?
 
Okay, at +10.5 Sami is at 127, but this is only an hour and a half after food. I guess if he is still around this number at PMPS I will probably hold the 2.0 unit again for tonight and see where it takes us. As Wendy mentioned we sill might be seeing some action from the 2.25 depot and last night very well could have been influenced by fluids more than we expected.
 
PMPS was 120, so I decided to go ahead and stick with 2 units. I will monitor closely and know that I can feed a low so I am not worried. If in fact we do get close to 50 or go under 50 and I need to use HC to keep the numbers up then I will decrease to 1.75 units in the morning.
 
I can relate a little bit to the sex thing. My poor boy Jackson, is using a bunch of Ginger's hand-me-downs, her pink bed, her pink blankie, and I just found a little pink dress that doesn't fit Ginger anymore.. Okay, I guess I will refrain from that. :)
I hope you get some sleep tonight, even though it looks like Sami is heading into another active cycle.
Your spreadsheet looks like you could use some sleep. I feel for you, and know the feeling.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top