2/25 Samba AMPS 142, +2 76, +3.5 44, +4 61, +7 150, +9 281, PMPS 267, +1 297, +2 219, +3 196, +4 203

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Sarah, his SS doesn't reflex that 44 @ 3.5. I think if he continues to soar upward like he is doing by PMPS, I would shoot the same dose through the bounce and then reduce in the morning to 2 units.

Good job bringing him up today. :cat: He is looking good, more blues and more greens.
 
Hi Sarah, good to see that Samba earned a reduction. i completely understand your concern about a possible bounce tonight.
I can't remember, but are you familiar with the concept of "shooting through the bounce"?
It's sometimes used if a cat goes high right after the cycle that earned them a reduction. Sometimes people will shoot the same dose 1 more time to help with the bounce. That's why it's called "shooting through the bounce".
It's too early to know if that's a good option for tonight because you need to wait and see what his numbers do.
All that said I am not giving dosing advice. :D
 
Hi Sarah, his SS doesn't reflex that 44 @ 3.5. I think if he continues to soar upward like he is doing by PMPS, I would shoot the same dose through the bounce and then reduce in the morning to 2 units.

Good job bringing him up today. :cat: He is looking good, more blues and more greens.
added the +.5s to his spreadsheet. Sounds good. Thank you
 
Hi Sarah, good to see that Samba earned a reduction. i completely understand your concern about a possible bounce tonight.
I can't remember, but are you familiar with the concept of "shooting through the bounce"?
It's sometimes used if a cat goes high right after the cycle that earned them a reduction. Sometimes people will shoot the same dose 1 more time to help with the bounce. That's why it's called "shooting through the bounce".
It's too early to know if that's a good option for tonight because you need to wait and see what his numbers do.
All that said I am not giving dosing advice. :D
Wasn't familiar, no, so thank you :)
 
It might be a good idea for you to get a +11 and post for dosing advice. I would expect that he is going to continue to rise. Let's see what he looks like at the +11 before you shoot.
I actually accidentally overslept today and would like to shoot on time today to get him back on track. I normally shoot at 8 & 8 but shot him this morning at 9:45am. If I shoot at 8pm, I cannot provide a +11. Will +9 & 10 be okay?
 
:
I actually accidentally overslept today and would like to shoot on time today to get him back on track. I normally shoot at 8 & 8 but shot him this morning at 9:45am. If I shoot at 8pm, I cannot provide a +11. Will +9 & 10 be okay?
Yeah get a +10 but then you probably should not shoot him any earlier than 8:30 tonight. Any thing earlier than that could act as a dose increase. Then tomorrow AM you can shoot your regular 8 AM time. To get back on schedule after it gets messed up is to
A: move the shot 15 minutes earlier each cycle
B : or move it 30 minutes earlier per day.
 
:
Yeah get a +10 but then you probably should not shoot him any earlier than 8:30 tonight. Any thing earlier than that could act as a dose increase. Then tomorrow AM you can shoot your regular 8 AM time. To get back on schedule after it gets messed up is to
A: move the shot 15 minutes earlier each cycle
B : or move it 30 minutes earlier per day.
Thank you. I'll wait until 8:30
 
Looks like Samba is on the rise. And that is not unusual that you would get this kind of bounce after today's reduction low of 44. Get a test right before you shoot at 8:30 EST and I would feel comfortable to shoot through the bounce at the 2.25 dose. And then tomorrow AM reduce to 2 units.

Looking good! Don't be discouraged. Samba is looking good. :cat::bighug:
 
Looks like Samba is on the rise. And that is not unusual that you would get this kind of bounce after today's reduction low of 44. Get a test right before you shoot at 8:30 EST and I would feel comfortable to shoot through the bounce at the 2.25 dose. And then tomorrow AM reduce to 2 units.

Looking good! Don't be discouraged. Samba is looking good. :cat::bighug:
Thank you so much...the bouncing is a little discouraging. I thought reductions were best earned after he reaches phase 3 and is keeping numbers between 50 & 200 on a consistent basis, but maybe I'm not understanding properly.
 
PS , I forgot to mention, please get a +2 test tonight to see if the cycle is going to be active or not. If the +2 is the same number or lower than the PMPS then it's going to be active and you would need to be vigilant. Good job today Sarah.

Just saw your post above . Nothing is consistent with these FD kitties until they reach regulation. Don't be discouraged. The good news is that Samba earned a reduction! Rejoice. :cat: They can sometimes go back in forth with a dose so don't give up hope. Look at Bubba's SS from 2016 and you will see how high he got until he started coming down the dosing ladder . He is working on his 3rd OTJ trail. ;)
 
PS , I forgot to mention, please get a +2 test tonight to see if the cycle is going to be active or not. If the +2 is the same number or lower than the PMPS then it's going to be active and you would need to be vigilant. Good job today Sarah.

Just saw your post above . Nothing is consistent with these FD kitties until they reach regulation. Don't be discouraged. The good news is that Samba earned a reduction! Rejoice. :cat: They can sometimes go back in forth with a dose so don't give up hope. Look at Bubba's SS from 2016 and you will see how high he got until he started coming down the dosing ladder . He is working on his 3rd OTJ trail. ;)
Will do. Thank you for your guidance and encouragement, and congrats to Bubba -3rd time's a charm! :cat:
 
I hope Samba behaves for you tonight. Since you shot at 9:45 this morning and shot tonight at 8:30, that is an hour an a quarter earlier. That definitely can act like an increase. That combined with shooting through the bounce could make things interesting tonight. :nailbiting: Typically we suggest you don't shoot earlier than 1/2 hour. You can go somewhat earlier if kitty really bounces, but I wouldn't call 267 that bad a bounce. He's already on his way down by PMPS.

As for shooting through the bounce, that's a technique that works for kitties that bounce longer than a couple of cycles. The danger of shooting through the bounce if a kitty clears the bounce quickly, is that you could be then be faced with dose (and depot) that is too high. Hence my cautionary note about tonight.
 
I hope Samba behaves for you tonight. Since you shot at 9:45 this morning and shot tonight at 8:30, that is an hour an a quarter earlier. That definitely can act like an increase. That combined with shooting through the bounce could make things interesting tonight. :nailbiting: Typically we suggest you don't shoot earlier than 1/2 hour. You can go somewhat earlier if kitty really bounces, but I wouldn't call 267 that bad a bounce. He's already on his way down by PMPS.

As for shooting through the bounce, that's a technique that works for kitties that bounce longer than a couple of cycles. The danger of shooting through the bounce if a kitty clears the bounce quickly, is that you could be then be faced with dose (and depot) that is too high. Hence my cautionary note about tonight.
Okay, it might be a PJ party again...thanks for the heads up
 
Just peeking in on you and Samba. Looks like the early shot and the shooting through the bounce kept him level. Wonder if he hit any blues last night after the +4? Since you did shot early, you should indicate it on the units that you shot early.

Nice job yesterday.
 
Just peeking in on you and Samba. Looks like the early shot and the shooting through the bounce kept him level. Wonder if he hit any blues last night after the +4? Since you did shot early, you should indicate it on the units that you shot early.

Nice job yesterday.
I just updated it. Sorry I didn't get any tests after +4 last night. I've been feeling pretty worn out lately. Yes, it looks like he handled it very well :cat: thank you for your guidance. I am now worried that he has been vomiting so much lately...two times already today and 5 times total just in the last week. This is not typical for him. I tried to test for ketones by putting the strip under his urine stream, but it made a mess, and I'm not sure I got an accurate result, so I might order a urine testing kit today that replaces his litter with something else that allows the urine to collect in drops. Have you encountered this issue with Bubba before?
 
I just updated it. Sorry I didn't get any tests after +4 last night. I've been feeling pretty worn out lately. Yes, it looks like he handled it very well :cat: thank you for your guidance. I am now worried that he has been vomiting so much lately...two times already today and 5 times total just in the last week. This is not typical for him. I tried to test for ketones by putting the strip under his urine stream, but it made a mess, and I'm not sure I got an accurate result, so I might order a urine testing kit today that replaces his litter with something else that allows the urine to collect in drops. Have you encountered this issue with Bubba before?
Try putting a long handled shallow kitchen spoon under his backside as he pees to catch a little urine. It doesn't take much. Then put the strip into the urine. I use this method with Teasel and it works well. The spoon now lives near the litter box and has his name on it.
 
oI ended up getting a blood ketone meter and tested that way as I could never catch Bubba in the LB and when I did he was rather shy about going. I bought a Abbott Precision Xtra meter. The meter is cheap, around 30 bucks on Amazon but the strips are pricey and the best deal I found was with a Canadian online Pharmacy ( Universal Pharmacy)

The vomiting: is it just froth or yellow bile or there food in it? Also, do you give more that a few meals a day? The reason I ask is that some cats get the "empty stomach vomit syndrome " so spacing the meals out through out the day can help with that. I feed Bubba 6 equally sized meals a day. Of course when he was coming down the dosing ladder and needing steering with food, he got more, which he didn't mind at all. :smuggrin:


ETA Kris suggestion was a good one if Samba isn't too particular about privacy.
 
oI ended up getting a blood ketone meter and tested that way as I could never catch Bubba in the LB and when I did he was rather shy about going. I bought a Abbott Precision Xtra meter. The meter is cheap, around 30 bucks on Amazon but the strips are pricey and the best deal I found was with a Canadian online Pharmacy ( Universal Pharmacy)

The vomiting: is it just froth or yellow bile or there food in it? Also, do you give more that a few meals a day? The reason I ask is that some cats get the "empty stomach vomit syndrome " so spacing the meals out through out the day can help with that. I feed Bubba 6 equally sized meals a day. Of course when he was coming down the dosing ladder and needing steering with food, he got more, which he didn't mind at all. :smuggrin:


ETA Kris suggestion was a good one if Samba isn't too particular about privacy.
There is always food in the vomit, even if it is hours after he last ate. When he vomited in the middle of the night, he had an empty stomach and it looked more like a hairball but wasn't strictly a hairball-there was brown colored drool all over my bedroom in various places. Then, after I fed him 1/2 cup of FF at +5, he immediately vomited it all up within 5 minutes and I walked in on him eating his own vomit :oops:poor thing.. lately, I've been giving 8 meals a day, 4 3oz cans divided into 1/2 can meals. Thanks for the info about the blood ketone meter. I didn't know that was an option. I am going to try the spoon and also order:

Non-Absorbent Reusable Cat Litter For Urine Collection - Used To Test For UTI, Kidne... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I2YTTNA/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

and see how he does with those first and then try that if need be. The vomiting is definitely a new issue for him though, which has me concerned. Maybe part of it is the empty stomach syndrome and the rest is that he is eating too quickly? It does seem to happen right after meals mostly and occasionally when there hasn't been food in his stomach for hours. Thank you for your insight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top