? 2/25 Panic AMPS 217 +4.5 283 +9 347 - Increase or hold?

Panic

Member Since 2019
Panic has had at least a couple lovely cycles on this dose but then she'll bounce and ruin her next couple cycles clearing it...or well, they look like bounces to me. Is it time to increase? I thought she was going to have a lovely cycle today but it looks like she bounced instead while I was gone. :/ I'm not sure how to decide increases when bounces are involved in cycle counting.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-63-6-5-70-7-5-73-9-107.225998/#post-2531347
 
Elizabeth --

I'm so confused! I can sort of understand why you held the 1.0u dose for 5 days. I can't figure out why. you've held the 1.25u dose for a week.

WithTR, you want to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles if the majority of nadirs are > 200. If the nadirs are generally <200, you hold the dose for 5 days. So, yes -- it's time to increase.
 
When she bounces I'm not sure if the cycle "counts" because it's bounce numbers. I sometimes hesitate with increasing hoping after it clears it will go back down. I just don't know how long her bounces last.

I'm not good with understanding spreadsheets sometimes ...sorry.
 
I watch for the next six cycles after the lower numbers or steep drop. I find usually the numbers stay higher when Mav is in his bounce, just like you saw with Panic for the next few cycles after the greens. Then you got a stretch of yellows, so that makes me perk up...maybe she has something planned, and we get an idea of the bounce trying to clear, like you saw on a.m. cycle of 24-Feb (cycle 6). To me, she came down out of the higher numbers, but not enough to say aha! Personally, had she hit greens that morning, I would have held the dose, but since she only got to 160s, that would have suggested to me you could increase that evening. You'd have waited enough time to see whether the bounce clearing got you back to greens, but it didn't. Does this help at all?
 
I watch for the next six cycles after the lower numbers or steep drop. I find usually the numbers stay higher when Mav is in his bounce, just like you saw with Panic for the next few cycles after the greens. Then you got a stretch of yellows, so that makes me perk up...maybe she has something planned, and we get an idea of the bounce trying to clear, like you saw on a.m. cycle of 24-Feb (cycle 6). To me, she came down out of the higher numbers, but not enough to say aha! Personally, had she hit greens that morning, I would have held the dose, but since she only got to 160s, that would have suggested to me you could increase that evening. You'd have waited enough time to see whether the bounce clearing got you back to greens, but it didn't. Does this help at all?
Thank you so much, that does help a lot. Because by cycle 6 the bounce should have completely cleared and we'd be back in "regular/true" numbers right?
 
Some kitties clear the bounces sooner, I've seen bounces that last for one cycle then clear that evening, so I hold the dose. At some point, they either earn a reduction or the dose peters out and you don't see greens anymore, so then it is time for a bump in dose. But yes, usually bounces clear after six cycles, so if nothing spectacular happens before then, you've given the bounce time to clear and you can increase.
 
Bounces are only factored into increases in that you want to avoid, if possible, increasing on the same cycle they clear the bounce. Bounce clearing cycles have downward momentum, adding an increase that cycle just makes it more exciting. Otherwise, just count the number of cycles at the dose, and look at where the nadirs are landing, especially since Panic is no longer new to green.
 
Back
Top