2/25 Mike's Buddy con't +5.5 124 +6.5 124 +9 160 +10.5 179

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
This is better, at least for the moment. Gave a 1.25u shoot, almost turned into a fur shot but I think we held close enough to allow for full insertion, checked the injection area and it was not wet.

At least 2 more cycles before an increase? But, these sores need to be addressed but a vet check is not possible for sometime I fear. There is no budget for it right now, including any medications. I guess maybe using a foam neck collar when home and sleeping and using some topicals for him.

Sores: previous problem areas last month (these were on the mend).

http://pic100.picturetrail.com/VOL913/4 ... 279869.jpg

http://pic100.picturetrail.com/VOL913/4 ... 279870.jpg

Another sore popped up on the opposite side of his face (cheek area), small but its raw last night. We are putting a topical on it and keeping it clean as long as he does not lick it off.

The Atopica is still possible, but should I use it?
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 ~sores still a problem?~

Hi, Mike & Buddy.. happy to hear the shot was not a furshot, I don't know about the ointment, but I do know Buddy needs to be seen.. is there anyway you can take him to the vet & work out a payment arrangment or something? I know it is tough.. sometimes I struggle financially too.. but I work extra or cut back some... I know it is tight for you (your budget) just hoping Buddy can get the medical treatment he needs :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 ~sores still a problem?~

Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, Mike & Buddy.. happy to hear the shot was not a furshot, I don't know about the ointment, but I do know Buddy needs to be seen.. is there anyway you can take him to the vet & work out a payment arrangment or something? I know it is tough.. sometimes I struggle financially too.. but I work extra or cut back some... I know it is tight for you (your budget) just hoping Buddy can get the medical treatment he needs :YMHUG:

Hi, thanks for a hello. Well, I already owe the vet that does take payments and its peaked at the limit they allow till paid off. We have a part time job but thats all gone with everything else by the time we get things paid. If not for the P/T job a lot of bills would not get paid or come up short resulting in penalties. Till then we just have to figure out other options.
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 ~sores still a problem?~

Okay, maybe Christie will stop by, she seemed to know a lot about this yesterday.. did you get a chance to post in Health?
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 ~sores still a problem?~

Hi, I have ten minutes to head off to work, I will see if I can... O.o
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 ~sores still a problem?~

Just checked his BG... 165!!! Thats some drop, do I need to stay a while!?
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145

I know you need to get to work, you are right.. this is a big drop, below is what a typical curve is supposed to look like.
How long will you be gone for? Does Buddy eat when you are away? Do you have appropriate carb content to leave out for him should he get low?

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145

Nicole & Baby said:
I know you need to get to work, you are right.. this is a big drop, below is what a typical curve is supposed to look like.
How long will you be gone for? Does Buddy eat when you are away? Do you have appropriate carb content to leave out for him should he get low?

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


We called in, the supervisor was OK with it.. We are staying home. It's going to hurt the work week but I am not leeaving my boy home alone. I have some 9 lives canned and some glucose gel.
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145

I understand, good to hear you will be with Buddy.. I am sure he will be just fine, good to see him in better #s.. healthy & healing, I would test him again at +2 to see where he is at. You are doing a great job.
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145

Its. 98!

We broke out the 9 lives canned and have to glucose gel ready...
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy AMPS#291 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 9

Mike I suggest feeding him some food, if you have mc that would be good..The insulin starts to take effect at +3, so it will be good if you can keep his number up there..Really most of us use karo syrup, it does do the trick..I never heard of that glucose gel..
But keep it on hand because he may drop today..Post next number-OK?
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy 391 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.2

Medium carb food which you can find in the food lists--Do you have them??
Here;s the link--Look on both the old & new lists for the food you have--
http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

Do you have any High carb food?? Like Fancy Feast gravy lovers?? Check under the 9 lives canned & see what the carbs are in the food you have--Did he eat after his shot?
 
Re: 2/25 Mike's Buddy 391 +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.2

Roni and Moonie said:
Medium carb food which you can find in the food lists--Do you have them??
Here;s the link--Look on both the old & new lists for the food you have--
http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

Do you have any High carb food?? Like Fancy Feast gravy lovers?? Check under the 9 lives canned & see what the carbs are in the food you have--Did he eat after his shot?

I have him on my lap, can't go anywhere yet! Trying to check him every 10 minutes. The 9 lives is chicken something, just can't get to it right now to read the can

Yes, he ate some FF during and after the shoot.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

OK you dont have to check every 10 minutes, food is assimilated at about 15-20 minutes, so save some strips..So far these are normal numbers, no need to panic & he is eating so that's fine..
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Roni and Moonie said:
OK you dont have to check every 10 minutes, food is assimilated at about 15-20 minutes, so save some strips..So far these are normal numbers, no need to panic & he is eating so that's fine..

OK, I will wait about what another 15 minutes?

BTW: Thanks for being here...
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

This drop is still from last night's dose. It looks like that increase 1.25u is finally kicking in. Try not to overload on the medium carb food since you don't want him to shoot up either. It is a good idea to keep a close watch on these numbers though. From the looks of it, you are probably ok to test every 30 min instead of every 10 min right now. That's my personal opinion though - it is up to your comfort level!
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Kelly & Oscar said:
This drop is still from last night's dose. It looks like that increase 1.25u is finally kicking in. Try not to overload on the medium carb food since you don't want him to shoot up either. It is a good idea to keep a close watch on these numbers though. From the looks of it, you are probably ok to test every 30 min instead of every 10 min right now. That's my personal opinion though - it is up to your comfort level!

I think thats a good idea. Too much carb and sticking can throw it off...
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Hi Mike, It would be good if you could set him down for a minute while you put some food out for him. Then test again in 20 minutes or so. If the 9 lives food is high carb with gravy, squeeze out into a dish some of the gravy with the lid of the can and let him eat the gravy by itself (all the carbs are in the gravy).
You may have to go out to the store and buy some of the high carb (and medium carb) foods on the list that Roni gave you the link to. Also, buy some karo syrup or some maple syrup to have on hand.
But for now, don't panic. Just keep testing and giving small amounts of high carb food. You need the staying power of the high-carb food gravy. These are not dangerous numbers.


Ella
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

You are doing just fine..I do, as Kelly suggested, test every 1/2 hour when I am checking Moonie's numbers..It is always good to have some asst. food around just in case...No thanks necessary.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

It is 4PM EST here, I think the next check could be about 4:30, does that sound OK? He seems to be OK, eyes are not dilated and he is alert, lazy on my lap but alert. Had a slight hairball couch attack for a minute but nothing came up.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

No worries yet, he is at 98, and that is not a worrisome number..but it is early in the cycle--
Remember normal bg in cats is 60-120, so he is still in normal numbers--Let's see what happens at +3.
Dont worry we will all be here for you!! Maybe he will have a nice surf in good numbers..
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

In my opinion that sounds just fine. Like Kelly & Roni said.. every 30 mins for now & see what the #s are.. Buddy is in healthy #s, they are not low.. we wanted to slow the drop since he dropped so much.. if that makes sense. We control the cycle with food, but like Kelly said.. we don't want to overload on carbs, we want him to surf these good #s ;-)
Your doing great.. you might want to remove the 911 icon
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Ok, the canned food is 9 lives Chicken and Beef.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Hey, Mike!

Sent you a PM about the skin issues. :) I know the venture into low numbers is nervewracking, but Buddy is doing great! You're getting solid advice! Keep it up!
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

Hi, thanks! Your furkid has almost the same mask as my Buddy. :) Will read it shortly, trying to gather the moments of past and present right now.

Thank you!
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy +1 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 9

You are doing great Mike! Greens can be scary the first time around, but you will grow to love seeing them. We just advise newbies to get some support the first few time until you learn to handle it. The 9 Lives chicken and Beef is 4% carb. That's Ok for now , but for the future you may want to get some MC (medium carb, 10% or 12%) and HC (high carb, 15% or 18%) in case he goes really low, syrup too. The syrup will give a fast bump in numbers but not last very long. The higher carb foods take effect more slowly but keep them from dropping again suddenly, well usually.

Find things that he really likes and keep a few cans on hand. Anything w/ gravy is higher carb. Often we just squeeze the gravy out of the can and use that so the cat doesn't get too full.

Most of us mark the percentage on the cans for quick reference and to avoid feeding the high octane stuff for a normal meal. Buy small cans, as you will probably throw a lot of it out, or you can freeze it.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

mybuddybinks said:

Heah, you might think so but its been scaring the poo out of us! I hope this does to go to low!
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Since we can all breathe now, I have a few questions about the sores you mentioned. I have not followed your threads on LL before, but Kat on FAR directed me here since you had such a drop.

What causes have you ruled out for the skin stuff? A lot of times skin sores are due to allergies, often times they are food allergies. Have you tried ruling out any of these?: gluten, poultry, fish, preservatives. You might try switching her food to a novelty protein like rabbit or duck for a week or two and see if it clears up. (Nature's Variety has a frozen version, or Innova EVO) If it does clear up, then add one thing back at a time - like try a seafood variety that has no gluten or poultry in it - for a week, etc. Gluten and seafood I believe are the number 1 and 2 culprits, so another angle would be to eliminate those first. Food options would be one of the fancy feast gluten free varieties.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Wow, still dropping there! With a +3 of 72, feed a little bit and test again in 30 min. Another thing to consider - try not to overfeed period bc you don't want to absolutely fill up the tummy by +4 and have a low number at +4.5 and they won't eat bc they are so full!
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Kelly & Oscar said:
Since we can all breathe now, I have a few questions about the sores you mentioned. I have not followed your threads on LL before, but Kat on FAR directed me here since you had such a drop.

What causes have you ruled out for the skin stuff? A lot of times skin sores are due to allergies, often times they are food allergies. Have you tried ruling out any of these?: gluten, poultry, fish, preservatives. You might try switching her food to a novelty protein like rabbit or duck for a week or two and see if it clears up. (Nature's Variety has a frozen version, or Innova EVO) If it does clear up, then add one thing back at a time - like try a seafood variety that has no gluten or poultry in it - for a week, etc. Gluten and seafood I believe are the number 1 and 2 culprits, so another angle would be to eliminate those first. Food options would be one of the fancy feast gluten free varieties.

Food- possibly all poultry but never confirmed. So maybe but he has not had any poultry for over two months now. Till now with the drop and got a carb hit. He is getting some ocean fish and salmon at the moment with his Beef. (all FF canned according to FDMB list)

Environment- also possible- again never confirmed. No one goes outside for the exception of a screen porch.

We would like to get him to a specialist but its not possible for a while so its mostly trial and error here and so far its all mixed results.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Mike, since the insulin onset is just starting, I would add a drop of karo (or maple syrup or honey) to a small amount of the 9 lives...about a teaspoon is good. Recheck in 20-30 minutes, please. You want to stay on top of this since the most active part of the cycle is just starting.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Mike, since the insulin onset is just starting, I would add a drop of karo (or maple syrup or honey) to a small amount of the 9 lives...about a teaspoon is good. Recheck in 20-30 minutes, please. You want to stay on top of this since the most active part of the cycle is just starting.

No karo but we have some glucose gel mixed a table spoon with the 9 lives. So far so good about him accepting it next check in about a few minutes.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Ok, give him a small amount of food (half a teaspoon, no more) with 3 times the amount of glucose you used before, test again in 15 minutes.

Can you send someone out to get a few cans of high carb food? Anything that says in gravy or with gravy will be high carb...that would help you. If not, we can work with what you have. I haven't used the glucose gel, so I'm not sure how fast it works. Just in case we need it....do you have ice cream (not chocolate), cake frosting, whipped cream? Those can be used in a pinch.
 
Re: 2/25 Buddy 165 +1.5 152 +.30 145 +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Ok, give him a small amount of food (half a teaspoon, no more) with 3 times the amount of glucose you used before, test again in 15 minutes.

Can you send someone out to get a few cans of high carb food? Anything that says in gravy or with gravy will be high carb...that would help you. If not, we can work with what you have. I haven't used the glucose gel, so I'm not sure how fast it works. Just in case we need it....do you have ice cream (not chocolate), cake frosting, whipped cream? Those can be used in a pinch.

Nope just me here, no neighbors to depend on around here. Gave him some 9 lives and some gel, I think he likes that stuff! LOL!

Wait Chocolate? Is that stuff not poison to cats?

I just cooked some rice.

Cheese spread, apricot jelly and pop tarts..
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

No, you can't use anything chocolate! No honey in the house either? Hmmm. I'm not sure about the cheese spread, that might help, look at the label, does it have carbs listed?

Do you have a store nearby? Anything within 5 minutes or so?

Jelly may be ok, not sure about apricots...let me check...brb.
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

No nothing on the label. I will test him again in about 10 minutes, then maybe go down to the shop and rob place if its safe to leave but I have to drag everyone off the porch.
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

No apricots...not safe for cats.

Let's see where he is, if he's about the same I would give him the same thing again (half tsp of food with glucose) and then run to the store quick and get a few cans of canned food with gravy. You want just the gravy, so make sure you get a few cans...you might need more than one. How much of the glucose do you have? I would get some sort of syrup too...maple, karo (corn), or honey.
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

OK, an anomaly here. The micro said 149 but I think there was not enough blood on the strip to be right. I used the Confirm and it says 114. So, where are we with this sudden hard turn!?
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

That's the glucose, it's a quick boost but won't last long. Go to the store and get the gravy food while you have the chance, ok? Test him again when you get back. I'll be watching for an update.

Good point, Barb...no onions or garlic!
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62

Mike once Moonie dropped & I did use maple syrup..As long as he is eating, & has some carbs he will be fine--Good thing you have that gel, although none of us know it's potency..Another thing to get is a food syringe, so you can just squirt food or food mixed with that gel or karo right into his mouth!
Just be careful, dont feed him too much because he will get full--and you may need to be able to feed him for the next couple of hours.
BTW the Carbs in the MC & high Carb food, is in the gravy, just FYI.. The Gravy has helped us all raise them up.
You are doing great! Dont be scared, you can do this, you are in control, and we are all with you!
You have food, you have the gel, & you have strips--If you can get some extra food it wold be great.
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62 +.30 114/142 whut!?

Hi guys .. late to chime in here, but I just wanted to say you are doing great .. these low greens can be scary the first few times around, but the people on this site will NOT steer you wrong .. No one wants anything to happy to your kitty ....you guys are doing awesome!! In just a short time you will be telling others new to the site that there's nothing to worry about with their first greens!
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62 +.30 114/142

Ok, we are home. Just checked, BG 143.

We got some Walgreens honey and some Friskies chicken and gravy.

Are we in the safe zone yet? nailbite_smile
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62 +.30 114/142 whut!?

143 is a perfectly safe number .. I would not give any honey on this number .. but that is just me .. you should see what others say ...
 
Re: +2 98 +.20 89 +.28 98 +3 72 +.30 62 +.30 114/142 whut!?

No, I wouldn't give anything right now. Just test again in an hour, see where he is then. Even if you don't need the HC tonight, you'll have it for the next time.

I guess the glucose really packs a punch! Now you'll know for next time that you don't need so much of it. I haven't used it, so I don't know how it works.

You're doing a great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top