2/25 MAX AMPS 112+2/81+3.75/38 +6/45+6.5 50+7.5/53+8.25/64 PMPS 131+2/151+3.5/135+5/98

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, so he might have gotten a tad extra juice last night and this morning because the bubbles were smaller and I measured the same. I left him for an hour and 20 minutes. I gave him some 9% before I left and left him with some. He ate some while I was here but didn't touch it while I was gone and I came back to a 38o_O. So now I don't think he really earned a reduction of .25 because I think he got some extra juice. I'm not sure how to handle tonight. What do you think?
 
Wow Max, slow down!

I don't have any dosing advice, but I am curious to know what the best course of action would be in this situation. Looking forward to learning today right along with you.
 
I'd see how hard you have to work to get him up, but I'd at least take the fat off his dose and am leaning to the full .25U. This is the second time below 50 on this dose and a big dive with 9% in him. I tend to ignore whether I got smaller vs. tiny bubbles - they are too hard to measure.
 
I'd see how hard you have to work to get him up, but I'd at least take the fat off his dose and am leaning to the full .25U. This is the second time below 50 on this dose and a big dive with 9% in him. I tend to ignore whether I got smaller vs. tiny bubbles - they are too hard to measure.
Yes, the bubbles drive me absolutely crazy. I will definitely take the fat off. The last two times I tried the 9% before leaving for 1 1/2 hours it worked too well. Then again he hadn't dropped into the 80"s I don't think. I need to look over his ss on that one. It's bad for me that he didn't eat the food left out while I was gone. Dropping like that I would have expected an empty dish. Definitely he is Mr. Unpredictable. Maybe he was bouncing with the blues? Thanks for looking Wendy. If you are around later let me know what you think after the rest of the day.
 
Wow on those greens for Max today. I hope he surfs safely for you the rest of the day. Good luck with the pumpkin.
 
Hi Elise!

Wow Max, way to keep your mamabean guessing! Looks like someone wants a little less juice. I think it would be prudent to reduce... I'd think that the "extra" juice he may have gotten due to a smaller bubble would be less than a "fat" or 0.25, so it probably wouldn't be so much extra juice, especially with the size of his dose, that it would have been enough to push him into the 30's just by virtue of a miniscule amount of extra juice. Make sense? LOL. With the 30's, I think the recommendation around here is to take the 0.25 reduction for safety reasons; however, Max has really done well in the past with shaving.

I'll be very curious to see where he's at for PMPS.

Have a great evening Elise! I hope your mom is doing a little better.
 
Hi Jen and Marilyn. It will be interesting to see where he is at PMPS. I do usually shave. So, I'm on the fence as to what to do tonight. When I increased we thought it would just be for a few cycles and it's been much more. Then the pancreatitis complicated things. I could go either way.
 
I was scrolling back through his ss to see how much you reduced the last time he held it, and all the recent dose changes are increases! So this is great to see the need for a decrease! That pancreatitis sure did set him back.

I'm really uncertain about how to decrease his dose. Everything in me wants to say just take the fat off the dose. He is so sensitive to small changes in dose, that might be enough. I guess I would lean towards that, but if you do, know that he might continue in low numbers. It might take more, but i'd just hate to decrease too much. In the past there were many times when 0.25u was too big of a reduction.

That's pretty ambiguous - i think you could make a case for going either direction, either a shave or a full 0.25u. Ultimately, it's up to you. If only we had a Max Manual!:p
 
I was scrolling back through his ss to see how much you reduced the last time he held it, and all the recent dose changes are increases! So this is great to see the need for a decrease! That pancreatitis sure did set him back.

I'm really uncertain about how to decrease his dose. Everything in me wants to say just take the fat off the dose. He is so sensitive to small changes in dose, that might be enough. I guess I would lean towards that, but if you do, know that he might continue in low numbers. It might take more, but i'd just hate to decrease too much. In the past there were many times when 0.25u was too big of a reduction.

That's pretty ambiguous - i think you could make a case for going either direction, either a shave or a full 0.25u. Ultimately, it's up to you. If only we had a Max Manual!:p

I'd order a manual and pay a premium if it would work. I think his decreases are at the end of his 2014 ss. I always shaved and a few times got to shave twice fairly quickly. I'm leaning toward shaving. Thanks for looking. Actually the shaves were in January, from 2.2 to 2.1 to 2 units.
 
I wonder if the pancreatitis is starting to fade away. You mentioned him playing yesterday too. :) That plus the second visit to the 40's later in the cycle meant he really wants the reducie. Good luck with it.

For anyone lurking, Elise is able to shave the dose, because of how much she monitors and how well she knows Max. This is not something we'd recommend for anyone else.
 
I just think it's up to you. You're amazing at monitoring, so there's no worry about him not being cared for. So each of those previous shaves were just 0.1u, but he was able to hold them.
 
So since he doubled his number from the last test until pmps I have decided to shave the dose :rolleyes:. If he needs me to shave again like the last time he decreased I will be happy to oblige. I bought him a Cosmic carrot today but so far he isn't interested in playing, just in laying with it. I just gave him a little 3%ff and am waiting to see if he eats it. I put some fd chkn on it just in case.

Thanks everyone for your input. What would I do without you all?:bighug:
 
I forgot to mention he definitely is done with the pancreatitis that surfaced after his dental. I stopped his ondansetron several days ago. :)
 
Hi Elise and Max! Good luck with the reduction! Sorry to hear that his pancreatitis flared up. I must have missed that. I'm very glad he is feeling better.
 
Thanks, Deanna. His dental led to a couple weeks of not feeling well.

Max hasn't eaten yet but he is not dropping yet. I just put some fd on his ff to see if that gets him to eat and he is at his dish still so maybe he will eat it. It worked.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top