2.25 Magnolia AMPS 152 Vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
WCR: Demanding, Furry, Lovey. 5 P's are good.

Vet update: Her vet called me last night with the results of the urinalysis. No UTI. She said the actual concentration (?) of urine was very good. She was worried about her kidneys due to the slightly elevated CRE level last week (2.4, up from 1.4 in October). She said if she is having kidney issues, it may be in a very early stage and that she feels comfortable to proceed with the dental on Tuesday. The rest of the kidney values in the blood panel were good. She will give extra iv fluids during the procedure to try to help the kidneys flush out the anesthesia. She also said the anesthesia she uses, Isoflurane, is kidney friendly.

Has anyone else ever seen an unexplained, elevated CRE? I know it can be early kidney disfunction, but she had mentioned that it's something you might see in trauma, car accidents..etc. The night they took Magnolia's blood, she fought them valiantly for at least 15 minutes. She screamed and howled, hissed and swatted, even tried to bite. Eventually, they had to wrap her in blankets to get blood. That night, and the next day she was so weak, walking gently, she couldn't even jump up on the couch. I would consider this muscle trauma...but is it possible that could have caused the elevated CRE? I didn't get a chance to ask the vet yet, but I thought I'd ask here in the meantime.

I asked her about the crown amputation and she said they do x-rays to see how advanced it is. If it has not advanced far enough, they do extract and scrape the bone fragments, but she felt quite strongly that Magnolia's teeth are far in the process of absorbing. She also advised me to lower the insulin dose to get ready for the dental. She said it's better to have a higher BG during the procedure than to have a very low BG and have to give glucose. She said I will definitely skip the morning shot and unless she is high, skip the shot the night before.

After the dental, I have a feeling we'll be searching for her dose again. Thanks Jill, for all the info last night. I don't know how I miss the black and white things in the protocol. I see that I needed 7 days of flat greens before the decrease. I'm going to try to hold this done until after the dental.

Yesterday's Condo
Link to all the dental info from last weeks condo

Yesterday's Recap:
+11 91
+12 58
+12, 15min 55
AMPS 66 (+12, 30 min)
+1.5 61
+2 72
PMPS 103
+1.5 88
+3.5 65
 
I wanna know too, any retest after that 50? :mrgreen:

I'm glad to hear Magnolia is doing well. I'm certainly no expert, but if just that one kidney number is elevated it doesn't sound like you need to worry too much yet.
 
Thanks for weighing in ladies, I'm feeling much better about things. I did retest, +6.25 was 66 with food spike. I just forgot to update. She's been napping most of the day. Until now, she's stalking me for her dinner. Her +11 was 64. She has another hour to wait for dinner. She is eating SO much less too...I know it's is influencing her numbers. It's the which came first thing...high bg's, big appetite, low bg's, little appetite. But more food makes the bg's go even higher...less food, lower...oh the dance...
 
Hi Sara,
Im sorry to hear Magnolia needs a dental, but glad you are going to be able to get it done.

When is the dental taking place?

That is a bit of a jump in creatinine. I would definately follow up on it. if the dental is in a few week, you may consider doing it right beforehand. otherwise maybe check in another month or so. Kidney disease is often present before it even appears on labs. So when you see elevated numbers in labwork, its usually present. Could you find out some other values for us? Specifically, BUN, phosphorus, potassium, calcium?

A word of caution - (sorry for those tired of hearing it, but if it helps one cat...)- most vets will use metacam injection for pain, often followed by oral suspension. Even the injectable should NOT be used in a cat with compromised kidneys. The manufacturer states that very clearly in the inserts. Many vets do it anyway. Since Magnolia has an elevated creatinine prior to the dental I would not take the risk. Please tell them no metacam and ask for an alternative. Because your vet said she was going to use plenty of fluids for the anesthesia worries me that she may think its okay to use the metacam (its vital for a cat to be well hydrated when receiving metacam). Let me know if you need me to beg you...or if I should send jojo in here regarding the topic. ;-) Take a few moments and read more information on metacam via the link in my signature.

Best of luck to you two. Let me know if you have any questions or want me to clarify.
 
In addiitition to the possibility of a kidney issue, elevated creatinine, especially if BUN is normal, could be indicative of a recent high protein meal, severe muscle inflammation, or dehydration alone, as well as kidney stones or high blood pressure. Creatinine can also be elevated in pancreatitis. .
 
PMPS 81, +2 105

Thank you so much for all the info!

The dental is scheduled for Tuesday Mar. 2. We will follow up with blood work after the dental procedure. Currently, she doesn't have symptoms of kidney disease. The vet did mention that her BUN was slightly elevated but she didn't mention any of those other things. I can ask for those values on Tuesday. I checked my notes from when she went over the procedure with me and I do not see Metacam anywhere. She said they give Buprenex both before and after the procedure. It sounds like you have had a bad experience with the Metacam, it does make it better to try to save others from the same experience. I wrote it down on my list of questions and I will be sure to ask.

The vet mentioned dehydration, but the said that she looked well hydrated. She didn't mention any of those other possibilities. I guess we'll see when we check it next month. Maybe it was a high protein meal and it will disappear. That would be great. The other things...not so great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top