2/25 Lucy PMPS=97;+1=122;+2=112

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMBG=52 (skip); +13=77; +14=122; +19=229
PMPS=254 (1u); +2=223; +6=176; +2=112

Today
AMPS=151 (1u); +1=148; +2=137; +3=133; +9.5=148; +11.75=54; +12=40; +12.25=40; +12.5=61; +12.75=77
PMPS=97 (1u); +0.5=106; +1=122


Lucy is doing good, and her appetite is better today. :smile:
She is in a good mood too.
She has an acupuncture appointment this evening.

I'm a bit worried about Ginger today.......
She loves food and she always eat her food clean, but she's been funny the past couple of days.
She begs and begs, but when I put down her bowl, she eats but doesn't finish.
This morning, she only ate about half at first, and I had to sprinkle some tuna flakes, then she finished.
This is still way better than Lucy's appetite, but it's very unusual for Ginger.
Even Ginger looked confused why she didn't want to eat........
I'll be monitoring her closely........

Sending vines all kitties and beans who need some, including my girls!
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

Hi guys .. pretty start for lucy this morning! Glad to hear she ate her fuddies .. fingers crossed it is nothing major going on with ginger and that her appy comes back soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

I'm glad Lucy is feeling good this morning. Sending some vines for Ginger. Happy Tuesday, Mariko!
Liz
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

Mariko,

I was just reading your condo and hope Ginger gets to feeling better. I saw you mentioned Tuna Flakes. Can you tell me what brand are these and where do you buy them?
I also have a Lucy cat who sometimes does not like to eat her food and would like to buy some of these. Thanks.

Terri
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

Hi Terri,
I buy my tuna flakes (bonito flakes) at the local oriental supermarket, not particularly for cats, but for myself.
It's as common as salt & pepper for us Japanese.
If you don't have an oriental supermarket in your area, Amazon sells good variety of bonito flakes too, even some of them for cats.
But I think they are basically all same, for human, for cats.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

Terri,
I also wanted to add.
If you are going to try tuna bonito, I recommend finer shaving that large shaving.
Some of the larger shavings are mostly for soup stock and are a little tough, sort of like wood shavings.... :lol:
Smaller shavings are soft, more suitable for sprinkles.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

Mariko,

Thank you very much. I will look at Amazon and buy some for Lucy to put on her food. She likes to foritflora but I can not put that on there all the time. Thanks again.

Terri
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151

I'm glad to hear Lucy is feeling good this morning! Sending along appy vines for Ginger. Could she be tired of her fuds, and the flakes made it tastier for her? I know Trix is SO not a fan of her Wellness, but she does love to eat...I always have to doctor it up with FortiFlora. Eat up, Ginger!

Sending along good acupuncture vines, too. Have a great day, Mariko!
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=137;+3=133;+9.5=148

I'm glad Lucy is feeling good and eating good. I hope Ginger feels better soon.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy AMPS=151;+2=137;+3=133;+9.5=148

I hope that Ginger is eating better for you tonight! Maybe she was just having an off day...or needed to poop ;-) Chyna did that when she was having stomach acid troubles...paws crossed she feels better. Appy vines have been sent!

I'm glad that Lucy is at least cooperating with fuds, one less worry for you :o . And beautiful blues today too :-D . Have a good evening, and appt tonight :razz:
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

I don't know if it's because of the acupuncture session, but +11.75 was 54, and +12 is 40.
I fed her with some karo.
I'm testing again in 5 min.
I don't know what I should do about the PM shot today.
Please help.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

There's no way you can shoot this. You need to bring her up above 50. Can you rub karo on her gums? Is she acting ok?
Liz
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

Hi - I won't be on here much longer... but personally I would not shoot this. A 40 is just too low. If you can stall and see if the numbers rise, then maybe. There is no harm in skipping this shot, you need to be comfortable in what you are doing, and be able to monitor her numbers for a while too.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

Nobody shoots a 40, so just keep giving either the HC gravy or Karo until she is above 50 and stays there without any more help from food.

Lather, rinse, repeat
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

Sorry, I was in a hurry.
I meant, should I shoot once her number is up with food and karo.
Her number is now 61 at +12.5 with half of her dinner + 2 huge drops of karo.
She's acting normal, but she had a diarrhea.
Her appy is very good.

Now, should I still skip?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

Are you able to stall or will that throw your schedule completely off for tomorrow?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

I can stall, but I already fed half of her dinner with 2 huge drops of karo.
I'm now testing every 15 min.
How long should I stall, and at which point do I know which way?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40 // FED, SHOOT OR NOT NEED HEL

The problem is the HC. It's not a problem that you fed HC although if you see a low number at +12, I might try LC or MC first. Also, it usually takes longer than 15 min. to see a response. I would wait until +13 and see where Lucy's numbers are at. Are they staying up or are they dropping back down?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40;+12.5=61

Today's cycle so far.

AMPS=151 (1u); +1=148; +2=137; +3=133; +9.5=148; +11.75=54; +12=40; +12.25=40; +12.5=61

She was fed about 1/4 dinner @+12, and another 1/4 dinner with karo @+12.25.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40;+12.5=61;+12.75=77

She is 77 @ +12.75.

AMPS=151 (1u); +1=148; +2=137; +3=133; +9.5=148; +11.75=54; +12=40; +12.25=40; +12.5=61; +12.75=77

PS: SS for this cycle hasn't been updated.
I have to figure out how to put everything after deciding if shooting or not.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy +11.75=54;+12=40;+12.5=61;+12.75=77

She is 97 @ +13.

AMPS=151 (1u); +1=148; +2=137; +3=133; +9.5=148; +11.75=54; +12=40; +12.25=40; +12.5=61; +12.75=77; +13=97

PS: SS for this cycle hasn't been updated.
I have to figure out how to put everything after deciding if shooting or not.

Should I shoot or skip?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy PMPS=97

Great shooting, Mariko! What a nice day for Lucy especially after a skip yesterday. I'm glad she is feeling so well today.

I know it's scary and hard to think clearly when facing a 40 at PS. Here's a reminder for next time:

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

I hope Ginger is eating better. Have you looked at her gums to see if they are red/inflamed?
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy PMPS=97

Quite the day for you Mariko. :YMHUG: Good job handling things tonight. I hope Lucy behaves for you. Interesting to see that drop after acupuncture.
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy PMPS=97

OK, thank you Marje.
Yes, I now remember reading that too.
The only thing I could remember at the time was "feed the 40's", and I was also afraid because this dive didn't make sense at all!!!
It's got to be the acupuncture.......

And thank you also, Liz, Michelle, Chris and Sienne for being there for me.
I thought I'd graduated the 911 icon. :lol:
I guess not!
 
Re: 2/25 Lucy PMPS=97;+1=122

Hi Mariko,
It looks like I'm late to the party. You handled it very well. I hope you all have a good night tonight. No more drama, Lucy. OK? And Ginger, I hope you will regain your appetite. Sending vines just in case!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow...what an eye-opening PMPS! Great job, Mariko...I hope Lucy surfed safe for you without any drama, and I hope Ginger's tummy is feeling better.
 
What a day Mariko! Great job shooting - I am bookmarking this, cause I, like you, only think feed the forties!!
I am hoping Ginger is back to her usual self, and that you and Lucy were able to get some sleep last night :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top