2/25 Kim's Simon amps 142, Flattening curves and dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Here is Simon's yesterday.

He had a nice pmps last night. I know Simon is doing so well. What is the objective from here? His nadir is good, but some ps are still too high. How do I flatten his curve and move to the next step toward reduction? I am not sure if he is going low at night and bouncing. I might need to wake up and test...sigh. Sometimes Simon smoothes out on less juice, but we didn't see that at .25u. We went up to f.25 this week. He has had f.25 for 9 cycles.

Happy caturday everyone!
 

Attachments

  • lolcat5.jpg
    lolcat5.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 294
Re: 2/25 Kim's Simon amps 142, Flattening curves?

Remember -- the pre-shot numbers (especially AMPS) are the last to come down. Simon's numbers look good. His curve is pretty flat. There is one way to work at bringing the overall level down but his level is already pretty green. You would increase insulin and use food to manipulate the curve -- using higher carb food to prevent a decrease. I'd like to have some others look at Simon's SS before you do anything. I think Simon just may need some additional time to see if his numbers are going to come down on their own.
 
Re: 2/25 Kim's Simon amps 142, Flattening curves?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Remember -- the pre-shot numbers (especially AMPS) are the last to come down. Simon's numbers look good. His curve is pretty flat. There is one way to work at bringing the overall level down but his level is already pretty green. You would increase insulin and use food to manipulate the curve -- using higher carb food to prevent a decrease. I'd like to have some others look at Simon's SS before you do anything. I think Simon just may need some additional time to see if his numbers are going to come down on their own.

Thanks Sienne! It's kind of hard for me to figure Simon out at this point because he arrived at some of these doses unearned: by accident or Providence due to vacations. I have often thought that he likes less juice, but I did not see that at s.25.
 
personally i think i would continue as you have been doing. increasing the dose and giving hc seems like overkill at this point and talk about having to monitor! i think sienne's right, just be patient and give him some more time. if he's still doing the same in another week or so, then maybe it would be worth trying. 9 cycles isn't that many.

perhaps others have some input into the idea, though. there's probably not just one "right" answer on it.
 
I agree with Sienne - his numbers look great :-D


Give it some time. . .
Any chance you could swing a couple random late cycle PM tests (between PM+6 and PM+11) once in a while ?
It would be good data for you to have.
 

Attachments

  • Simon 02-24-2012 - AM.jpg
    Simon 02-24-2012 - AM.jpg
    21.3 KB · Views: 272
Simon's numbers look very good! Mikey is just getting with the program as far as his PS numbers as well, but Simon is doing it even faster! Hopefully holding a few more days will help get those numbers in line!
 
There he goes; he heard us talking about him again! 52 at +3.25. We are off to DS's soccer game so I'm leaving fuds. We will be back in 1.5 hrs.
 
Hi Kim

Well, darn.....I thought that withholding those late cycle feeds was going to work! cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam Simon!!!

Actually, in order to flatten out the curve you want to start feeding higher carbs FIRST to raise the nadir, THEN raise the dose. However, I do agree with Sienne and Julie that I wouldn't go that step. I'd just be patient and see if the nadirs will come down. Nine cycles seems like a lot (at least in my book but I'm queen of impatience). But it's not really.

He's looking superb!!!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Kim

Well, darn.....I thought that withholding those late cycle feeds was going to work! cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam Simon!!!

Actually, in order to flatten out the curve you want to start feeding higher carbs FIRST to raise the nadir, THEN raise the dose. However, I do agree with Sienne and Julie that I wouldn't go that step. I'd just be patient and see if the nadirs will come down. Nine cycles seems like a lot (at least in my book but I'm queen of impatience). But it's not really.

He's looking superb!!!

Marjorie, I DO think that the feeding change did help. It just didn't seem to help this morning! We have seen improvement since I changed--I noted the cycle when I switched. I usually did not feed much after +5, but I tended to give a snack around +8 when I was home and the cat choir was singin' for fuds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top