2/25 KARAMELLE AMPS 361 +4 352 +6 368 PMPS 341 +3 350

Great. Let me ask some others if that means you can start TR asap and raise the dose tomorrow morning. I'll be back :)
Is that what the difference is between TR and SLGS? That you can raise and lower doses earlier? I dont quite understand what either is even tho Ive read the article a few times.
 
There’s not really any rule in this. I think I would give it a couple of days. When you increase I would want to be able to get a few extra tests at first in case it makes a big initial impact.
 
Would you be able to get a +2? That’s often a good indicator of how the rest of the cycle will go.
 
There’s not really any rule in this. I think I would give it a couple of days. When you increase I would want to be able to get a few extra tests at first in case it makes a big initial impact.
Thats fine. In two days it will be 7 days on .75, so I'll wait. The food is new. I hope she keeps eating it but you never know.
 
Is that what the difference is between TR and SLGS? That you can raise and lower doses earlier? I dont quite understand what either is even tho Ive read the article a few times.

So the MAIN differences between Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) is:

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 on a human meter. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for non diabetic cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one test per cycle in addition to the pre-shots i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food or raw food diet and no dry food.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
If you are stopping the dry and switching to TR, you can increase tomorrow itself. Today is day 5 on this dose and she's barely been under 200.
 
It looks like you're getting a +2 in the PM cycle. Does your schedule allow for a +2 in the AM cycle?
I could do a +2 in the am but I'd have to adjust my schedule. I usually leave the house about 1/2 hour before that for a couple of hours to go to my husband's house (he doesn't live with me) to medicate his cat and go for a walk. So by the time I get back home it's close to +4.
 
If you are stopping the dry and switching to TR, you can increase tomorrow itself. Today is day 5 on this dose and she's barely been under 200.
Im getting some differences of opinion here. I will give it at least another day and see what happens. Today was all pink. She ate all all pork primal raw nuggets (hydrated) today (shes still gobbling that down), and I just gave her some small batch bites after her +3 test before bed. She ate every last piece. Its almost like it went up with the new food, but that doesnt make sense. We'll see what tomorrow looks like.
 
I just checked the Primal pork and it’s too high in carbs according to one site. . I’m going to check Small Batch bites now.
 
I just checked the Primal pork and it’s too high in carbs according to one site. . I’m going to check Small Batch bites now.
On their website it says its 1% as fed, 1.1% dry matter.
I gave her two nuggets this morning but she only ate about 1. She might be tired of it already, after I went and bought two large bags sigh.
I put the rest in the fridge, but no idea if she will eat it cold and I know you cant microwave it.
 
I see that on their site. I got it from another review that said 22% but can’t find it now. They will take the food back if she won’t eat it. You can add a little warm water to get it to room temp.
 
Start small.Substitue it out for one meal maybe. Sounds like she has been picky for awhile and that happened with Max when his pancreatitis acted up. I give one 4 times a day which is 160 calories to Chai. Her sister only needs 120 calories.
 
Start small.Substitue it out for one meal maybe. Sounds like she has been picky for awhile and that happened with Max when his pancreatitis acted up. I give one 4 times a day which is 160 calories to Chai. Her sister only needs 120 calories.
I gave her a portion of weruva (1/4 of a 5.5 oz can) and she ate almost all of it after her +4 test. I think she just doesnt want the same thing all the time. i will rotate the wet foods. She LOVED the weruva jeopurrdy Licious pouch and was eating it like crazy and then one day, she just doesnt want it anymore. Same thing with the press your dinner that i just gave her. Karamelle is around 10.5lbs. I think she should have at least 200 calories.
 
Back
Top