2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 +6 273

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89625

I feel that his AMPS (436) & +4 (312) are most likely a direct result of all the "carb-loading" last night. I learned I should take it a little easier on the "low-number" feedings because the sugar-baby may need to be fed several times to get his numbers up and therefore, not to get him too full. I'm surprised my boy didn't burst, but oh did he enjoy all the food. I know him and how he operates; most likely, when he gets hungry today, he'll attempt to hold out for goodies (he got spoiled with the fantabulous banquet last night of cat treats, lunchmeat and HC).

Poor little boy needs his rest. I woke up on the couch with him plopped down on the top of couch in a sunbeam. He's playing with a paper ball in the basement as I type this. BRB. Okay, he was scratching the back door just now to go out onto the sun porch; I let him out in light of the fact that it's only 21 degrees out; he's earned it.

I hope his numbers come down today; I'd be thrilled to see him take a long dip in the pool :smile:
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436

Sleep well, you deserve it. I just read through your condo.
Congratuations on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Good Morning Dyana ~O)

You're a busy girl this morning to read through that 3 page condo!

I feel that his AMPS (436) & +4 (312) are most likely a direct result of all the "carb-loading" last night. I learned I should take it a little easier on the "low-number" feedings because the sugar-baby may need to be fed several times to get his numbers up and therefore, not to get him too full. I'm surprised my boy didn't burst, but oh did he enjoy all the food. I know him and how he operates; most likely, when he gets hungry, he'll attempt to hold out for goodies (he got spoiled with the fantabulous banquet last night of cat treats, lunchmeat and HC).

Poor little boy needs his rest. I woke up on the couch with him plopped down on the top of couch in a sunbeam. He's playing with a paper ball in the basement as I type this. BRB. Okay, he was scratching the back door just now to go out onto the sun porch; I let him out in light of the fact that it's only 21 degrees out; he's earned it.

I hope his numbers come down today; I'd be thrilled to see him take a long dip in the pool :smile:

I have a ?. As you know, he was given a dose decrease this AM shot. He was only on the .25 increase for 4 cycles. Is there a (good) reason why he'd get a low nadir which entitled him to the decrease; does this mean his pancreas MAY be healing? confused_cat

(note: most of this "conversation" will be added to today's condo at top of apge)
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

I don't know the answer to your question for sure...but, there have been times that I've taken Trix up for only a couple cycles and she has dropped too low to stay there, so I've brought her back down. Congrats on the dosecrease, and have a great day, Kat! I hope you both get some rest!
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Melissa & Tarragon said:
Congrats on the decrease! Have a great day!
Thanks Melissa! I see you've just increased Tarragon 2 cycles ago; hope you decrease as well. Believe me, if you don't have a well-stocked hypo kit (lots of strips & several cans of HC & dry (or hard treats) & karo & needless syringe large enough to syringe gravy into the mouth if necessary), I strongly suggest it. We had a "situation" on our hands last night and all I had was one can of HC, which he didn't care for. I did have plenty of strips & karo. It would of helped to have several different flavors of HC and the syringe. Have a wonderful day! Kat
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I don't know the answer to your question for sure...but, there have been times that I've taken Trix up for only a couple cycles and she has dropped too low to stay there, so I've brought her back down. Congrats on the dosecrease, and have a great day, Kat! I hope you both get some rest!
I looked at Trix' SS back from 2011- to present and see that you've adjusted here up and down, several times. I am going to assume, though ECID, the adjustments CAN be an ongoing thing. Of course, I am sure that there is still a chance that Gob may eventually go OTJ but note that many, many cats here go OTJ for a while, be it weeks, months or years, only to have their little "sugar-visitor" return :smile:
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Hi guys and congrats on the dose reduction! Yes, tiny amounts of food in lower numbers is the way to go, just so our little ones don't burst like you said :-D I'm sure Gobbles will be back down in no time .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys and congrats on the dose reduction! Yes, tiny amounts of food in lower numbers is the way to go, just so our little ones don't burst like you said :-D I'm sure Gobbles will be back down in no time .. have a great day!
Thanks for the congrats! Mocha's numbers are fabulous :mrgreen: I told my husband that I doubt he'll eat again for a while. I would guesstimate he probably ate the equivalent in calories to 5-6 cans of FF. His feast ended at 2 a.m.; should I be worried if he doesn't eat for more than 12 hours? All he had this a.m. was 2 small pieces of chicken, as a treat, at his AM+4 test (8 a.m.) nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Wow, Kat, what a night you had! GOOD JOB!
Congrats on the reducie, and I hope you are able to get some rest today!
Glad Gobbles is basking in the sun -- such a nice way to start the day :smile: .
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Thanks Josie...I kept him out on the cold sun porch for 15 minutes, then made him come back in the house. He's now crashed on his bed on my dresser, snuggled with his little pillow and one of the crocheted catnip mice that his mommy made for him the other day :-D Have a beautiful day & thanks for your support cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Morning Kat :-D

Not shocked by the AMPS, but he could have done it earlier and let you get to sleep sooner. ;-)
Some of that is bounce, but the +4 isn't all that bad.

should I be worried if he doesn't eat for more than 12 hours
?

No, but you know you will. :lol:
I don't think it will take 12 hours before he feels like eating again though.

Hope Gobbles enjoys his sunshine and you manage a few cat naps.

Carl
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

good job last night, i'm tired for you. :smile:
congrats on the decrease, its a good feeling.
hoping for a nice smooth day and night for you guys.
come on gobbles you can do it :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

eBay (but check expiration date and seller feedback, just like with testing strips...)

MJ
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

FortiFlora is a probiotic that many of us use if our cats are experiencing diarrhea. It can act to entice a cat to eat. However, if you are thinking of this for times when numbers are running low, it's not your best choice. It's best to not dump a can of cat food into a bowl when you see numbers are dropping. You should be feeding in teaspoons (1 - 2 teaspoons) and re-testing. You may want to print out these instructions on handling low numbers.

FWIW, some cats become constipated on FortiFlora.
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

Carl & Bob said:
Morning Kat :-D

Not shocked by the AMPS, but he could have done it earlier and let you get to sleep sooner. ;-)
Some of that is bounce, but the +4 isn't all that bad.

should I be worried if he doesn't eat for more than 12 hours
?

No, but you know you will. :lol:
I don't think it will take 12 hours before he feels like eating again though.

Hope Gobbles enjoys his sunshine and you manage a few cat naps.

Carl
Good Afternoon new BF! I can't thank you enough times, Carl, for all your help last night. You are a wonderful person. Gosh I hope you're a night owl and Gobby didn't keep you up. He barely has eaten, is very tired (however, I'm sure if I broke out the lunchmeat his appetite would change--shall I?)

Catnap? oh, maybe....I have actually gotten use to lack of sleep/interrupted sleep.
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

Sienne and Gabby said:
FortiFlora is a probiotic that many of us use if our cats are experiencing diarrhea. It can act to entice a cat to eat. However, if you are thinking of this for times when numbers are running low, it's not your best choice. It's best to not dump a can of cat food into a bowl when you see numbers are dropping. You should be feeding in teaspoons (1 - 2 teaspoons) and re-testing. You may want to print out these instructions on handling low numbers.

FWIW, some cats become constipated on FortiFlora.

Hi Sienne, actually the reason I was wondering about it is because some days he just picks, picks, picks at his food and I heard it can stimulate appetite due to strong smell. I am getting a little worried (ha ha) because his last "full meal" was during his carb feast--about 2 a.m. Therefore, as of this writing, it has been almost 12 hours since he actually had a meal. He picked at his LC (maybe 1/4 can FF), ate a few pieces of chicken and a nib of lunchmeat when I just now tested him. I know he'd eat more lunchmeat if offered ("ham off the bone") he'd eat it. He's probably just holding out for junk food...LOL..not happening, though,

Also, it would be good to have in case he gets diarrhea; while he's had soft stools in the past, and the occasional "squirt", it hasn't been something that happened more than once in a day.

Oh geez yes!!!! I learned my lesson as to why we are supposed to feed just a t. or T. when trying to bring numbers up....he was so totally ravenous when he dipped into the 40s and basically inhaled a whole can of FF LC (I've read that ravenous appetite can be a sign of hypo, so that's probably what it was).... I have the LPN & HTHLPN & Hypo Ref. Guide printed and kept in a tote next to my laptop....

Thank you so much, Sienne. Let me know your thoughts re: his lack of appetite today and feeding chicken or ham so he'll have something in his belly....
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

RubenTheCat said:
good job last night, i'm tired for you. :smile:
congrats on the decrease, its a good feeling.
hoping for a nice smooth day and night for you guys.
come on gobbles you can do it :mrgreen:
Thanks Sam & how is that little ex-sugar boy today? I know you can relate with me to staying up all night w/low numbers :)
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys and congrats on the dose reduction! Yes, tiny amounts of food in lower numbers is the way to go, just so our little ones don't burst like you said :-D I'm sure Gobbles will be back down in no time .. have a great day!
Today his has had very little appetite; I'm slightly worried, although last night he had a lot to eat: HC food, lunchmeat, crunchy treats, chicken --lots of HC--which made him "Xtra Sweet"!!! as I was trying to get his numbers up (though fed too much at once). Maybe his belly is upset? I have some Pepcid AC.
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? very little appetite

It could be a few things going on, all the fuddies yesterday, the higher numbers this morning, or just gobbles being a kitty .. I know it's hard to not worry about them, but hopefully it passes soon and his reg appy comes back ..
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? very little appetite

PeterDevonMocha said:
It could be a few things going on, all the fuddies yesterday, the higher numbers this morning, or just gobbles being a kitty .. I know it's hard to not worry about them, but hopefully it passes soon and his reg appy comes back ..
You're probably right. But his momma here worries; maybe too much. I wondering if it would hurt to give him some Pepcid AC, even though I really don't know what the problem is... have you ever given that to Mocha Jo? If so, how much?
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

TheBowHuntress said:
Hi Sienne, actually the reason I was wondering about it is because some days he just picks, picks, picks at his food and I heard it can stimulate appetite due to strong smell. I am getting a little worried (ha ha) because his last "full meal" was during his carb feast--about 2 a.m. Therefore, as of this writing, it has been almost 12 hours since he actually had a meal. He picked at his LC (maybe 1/4 can FF), ate a few pieces of chicken and a nib of lunchmeat when I just now tested him. I know he'd eat more lunchmeat if offered ("ham off the bone") he'd eat it. He's probably just holding out for junk food...LOL..not happening, though,...
Oh geez yes!!!! I learned my lesson as to why we are supposed to feed just a t. or T. when trying to bring numbers up....he was so totally ravenous when he dipped into the 40s and basically inhaled a whole can of FF LC (I've read that ravenous appetite can be a sign of hypo, so that's probably what it was).... I have the LPN & HTHLPN & Hypo Ref. Guide printed and kept in a tote next to my laptop....

Hi Kat,

I'm new to FDMB and treating cats for hypos but I have suffered from hypoglycaemia for about 15 years. I control it with diet only - what you said about Gobbles last night sounds exactly like I feel when I have a low and then am recovering. This is how it feels to me:

When I go low first I get hungry. This is the slowest part of the progression for me and the only point that I can turn it around without paying for it for the rest of the day (I think Gobbles did the paying for it part and may be why he didn't want to eat later on).

After a bit I get hungry NOW! If I can't eat, I get a bit shaky, panicky and angry with any one or anything that prevents me eating or even asks me difficult questions (like what can I make you to eat?). My old share house flat mates used to call me hangry from hungry angry. Once I'm like that, I can't think properly and often don't make the right food choices. After that (and this transition can be quite rapid) I get quite shaky, tired and need to sit down, I don't feel as coordinated, I can't quite walk in a straight line and my body feels heavy. I get upset and have cried in the supermarket! At this point, I'm really not thinking right and sometimes don't want to get myself food "because it's too hard".

However, from hungry NOW to crying in the supermarket if you put food in front of me, I would eat it all. Very fast. I go shaky while eating and can't eat fast enough. I've eaten two full bowls of pasta and still been looking for more. It's not a good thing to do as I suffer from it afterwards. My body is just looking for sugars asap and keeps wanting more until my BG has risen higher. Once I have eaten, levels come back up slowly but also stabilise very slowly and I will feel a bit sick for the rest of the day - it feels weird and I often am put off eating. If I have eaten too much in one go, I will feel the weird sick and uncomfortable from overeating at the same time. Maybe this is how Gobbles felt.

If I haven't gotten food by the sitting on the floor, shaky and teary point. I can quite quickly go to disorientation, strong lack of coordination (falling over), difficulty forming a thought and getting it out (my answer to most questions at that point is "ummm?". I also feel nauseous and won't want to eat anything. This progresses (in maybe about half an hour? but my memory isn't very clear by this point) to fainting. Thankfully I have no experience of any worse events than that.

This is my magic formula for stabilisation for me (a non diabetic human!):
  • If caught early ("hungry NOW") some carbs (like toast) followed quickly by a good protein meal to keep my levels stable. If I just go for carbs I can have another low afterwards (but I'm not sure if that happens for diabetics - it happens to me because of my insulin response to a sugar spike). The carbs bring my BG up and the protein will keep it up for longer without too much of a spike.
    If caught late (quite shaky, need to sit down, coordination issues, disorientation or worse), grains won't bring my levels up fast enough and I usually feel too sick to eat. This is where refined sugar is necessary to kickstart my body again, raise my BG just enough that I get hungry, will be able to eat some toast and then some protein.
    The sugar brings up the BG, grains to smooth out the spike a bit, protein smooths it out further and stops me going hypo again. However, my BG levels are up and down for hours after a low even after eating properly.

I don't want to give advice - because I think diabetes is more complicated than my hypoglycaemia. I just related to how Gobbles felt and thought that it might help to hear how I feel in a low.

I hope he's feeling perky soon!

Grace
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? low appetite - Pepcid AC okay ?

I give J.D. 1/4 of a Pepcid AC for acid tummy. And yes, sometimes after a feeding fest, he will go "off his feed" for a bit.
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? l Pepcid AC okay ?

Sorry I just checked back in, but no, I have never given mocha pepcid .. knock on wood, she always seems to want her fuddies!
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? low appetite - Pepcid AC okay ?

Hi, Kat -- I'm dittoing what Dyana just said:
I just started giving Ripley 1/4 tab. Pepcid, about 15 mins. before her dinner (I put it in a pill pocket, and it's her PMPS treat). It has made a HUGE difference in how she feels post-feeding.

Hope Gobbles feels better soon. Last night was like a Thanksgiving feast for him!
And, again, GOOD JOB!!!!

~Josie
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

GraceAndAngie said:
I just related to how Gobbles felt and thought that it might help to hear how I feel in a low.
Grace
My goodness Grace, thank you for your lengthy story & response; that is very sweet of you to go to the trouble :-D As I was reading it, I could envision Gobby going through something similar last night and it seems to me that perhaps a human's low and a cat's low have some similarities; sheds a little light on what may be going on in their furry little bodies during a low-sugar event...though ECID! I'm going to have to read that to him cat_pet_icon and see it he concurs (he truly does understand everything I say). And you've made me feel better regarding his low appetite today. As of this writing, since his AM shot, he has eaten about 1.75 cans of FF LC plus 8 pieces of chicken and ham, so its a bit more than it was earlier.... Have a wonderful evening :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? low appetite - Pepcid AC okay ?

Dyana said:
I give J.D. 1/4 of a Pepcid AC for acid tummy. And yes, sometimes after a feeding fest, he will go "off his feed" for a bit.
He ate about 1.75 cans FF LC & some chicken as of this writing. I gave him 1/4 of a (generic) Pepcid AC (hidden in a small piece of ham).
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? l Pepcid AC okay ?

PeterDevonMocha said:
Sorry I just checked back in, but no, I have never given mocha pepcid .. knock on wood, she always seems to want her fuddies!
Oh that's okay--no need to be sorry. He's eaten a little more and is up to 1.75 cans of FF LC & some chicken. I did give him 1/4 tab of generic Pepcid AC :-D Gobbles didn't earn his name for any old reason, so when he is picking, I kind of flip out..
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles PMPS 240 ? low appetite - Pepcid AC okay ?

Josie & Ripley said:
I just started giving Ripley 1/4 tab. Pepcid, about 15 mins. before her dinner (I put it in a pill pocket, and it's her PMPS treat). It has made a HUGE difference in how she feels post-feeding.
I just gave Gobbles 1/4 tab of generic Pepcid AC (hid in a small piece of ham)...yes, Thanksgiving indeed for him!!! Thanks :thumbup
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

TheBowHuntress said:
My goodness Grace
I've been living on this forum for the last few days. Perhaps it's time to remember some of my previous life!
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

I just looked at my stash of Fortiflora (which I am not using anymore), and I have 13 unopened envelopes with a expiration date of April 2013. They're yours if you want them. My FDMB PM box is full, so you'll have to contact me here: m.j.towler at gmail dot com

MJ
 
Re: 2/25 Gobbles AMPS 436 +4 312 ? Fortiflora ?

MJ+Donovan said:
I just looked at my stash of Fortiflora (which I am not using anymore), and I have 13 unopened envelopes with a expiration date of April 2013. They're yours if you want them. My FDMB PM box is full, so you'll have to contact me here: m.j.towler at gmail dot com

MJ
Yes, I'd love to have them. I sent you an email (as well as a PM, just in case). Thank you so much :YMHUG: Have a beautiful day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top