2/25 Frank PMPS 177 +7 54 +7.5 75, +8 81dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Last Condo

I was afraid, with his sugar bouncing around like it has been, we would run into something like this. His sugar was so high this morning, though, that I was worried about him being too high if I skipped a shot. He has been eating all of his food, he is just eating half then picking at it through the second half through the next few hours. Seems like he is working that insulin better now while he is sick.

+3.5 73
+4 73
+4.5 55
+5 55
+5.5 56
+6 59
+6.5 52

He was on 3 units of insulin so I cut back to 1.5. If his body is reacting this strongly to this dose, it seems to make sense to knock it back a little until he becomes more predictable again. I'm thinking of 1 unit, for the time being. Anyone else concur or have a better plan? He is eating 1/2 can of food (compared to a whole can) at shot time and picking at another half can (friskies pate) and he has diarrhea that is being treated with metronidazole. Otherwise, the routine is about the same. The doc suggested we ditch the schedule and just give insulin when he gets in high ranges. He jumps all over the place without insulin though. The other day he was in the 300's and plopped down to 120 without a shot. Arg... such weird stuff going on. :lol:
 
Re: 2/25 Frank PMPS 177 +7 54 +7.5 75 dosing advice?

Gave him a nice slathering of kayro at +6 that seems to be working. Got school in the morning so we need to see BGs up so I can sleep. Lol
 
Re: 2/25 Frank PMPS 177 +7 54 +7.5 75 dosing advice?

I wouldn't reduce him below 1.5u if he's eating. It is difficult to see what dose would work for him with all the skipped shots which I understand he wasn't eating and you were worried about shooting.

He's clearing a big bounce from the blues and also higher numbers from the skipped shots . Bounce clearing cycles can be active.

You're doing great getting his numbers up. remember you need two, rising numbers without food/karo before you stop testing tonight. HC like karo wears off over 1-1/2 to 2 hours so be sure you stay on top of it.
 
Re: 2/25 Frank PMPS 177 +7 54 +7.5 75 dosing advice?

Thanks, Marje. I know his spreadsheet is a mess. I won't be here all day tomorrow to monitor him. :/ I guess that's gonna be a call to make in the morning. I have a feelin we will both still be up. Lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top