2/25 Eleanor AMPS 306 +4 302 Update Question!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64575

Oh for heaven sake.
I'll raise to 1u.
Should I do a curve first? I need to reread everything again. Everything seems to have gone out of my head.
Monday I have to get some medical stuff done and I'm going to be gone for about 5 hours prior to her AM shot. I want to leave food down, but I won't be home until pretty much right at shot time, so I won't have any way of knowing when she ate so won't know if her test is accurate.

UPDATE with +4: I'm really worried, this is the highest she has stayed since she went into her bounce 2/11. I don't understand what is going on. I know I got her shot into her, I know it was the correct amount, in fact it was a kind of fat .75u. Amount, kind and timing of food is as usual...I can tell she doesn't feel good because she is walking around purring. I'm upset.
 
Looks like she just needs more juice Julie. You don't need to do a curve beforehand, you have enough data there to base the decision to increase on. It would be good to do a curve in a few days, after the new dose has had a chance to settle in and don't forget you may see some NDW (new dose wobble) so initially her numbers may go up before coming down so don't have a panic if that happens.

Your medical appointment is very well time based on Eleanor's results, if you're leaving at +7 that is when she seems to start coming up again so it will be a very safe time to leave her. You will probably feel more comfortable if you get a +5 or a +6 and then the +7 so you can see for yourself that she is rising a little. But don't panic if she's not, cats do like to be unpredictable as long as she's in the blue or upper greens and not still falling significantly it will be fine.

Five hours is a fair amount of time to go without food for a free feeder so I would leave a little food out for her but not enough to last her, it is unlikely that she'll need it for safety reasons but I think she'll be hungry if you don't. Chances are she will eat it within the first couple of hours.

If you get back a half hour or more before her shot you can do a test when you walk in the door and then another at PS so you can make sure she is not dropping but I really don't think it will be a problem so don't worry if you can't.
 
Julie, I wouldn't worry either. With the new dose, she should be fine soon, but like Serryn said, you may get NDW, but by Monday for your appointment, she should be doing better. It can't hurt to give her some food before you leave for appointment, also, like Serryn said, she will probably eat that sooner then later, and so when you get home she probably won't be food spiking. It all looks good I think. Also, just in case (I don't think it will happen), but maybe get another opinion, if you should leave just LC food, or some HC…not sure how much the new dose will drop her…but you should know by Monday.

Good Luck on Monday,... always hate to go to my DRs., they never really help me.
 
. I know I got her shot into her, I know it was the correct amount, in fact it was a kind of fat .75u. Amount, kind and timing of food is as usual...

....patience Grasshopper...

Increase per Sienne's advice. Remember - you're not giving her a chemical medicine that can be prescribed "take 2 and call me in the morning". Insulin is a hormone that is usually made by the pancreas which is falling down on it's job right now. Because her glucose levels can vary due many things..diet, stress, 'cos they're a cat....it's a careful balancing act. Her liver got used to not competing with anything - when you began giving it insulin again, he panicks and throws his sugar bowl around.

HUGS!!! You're doing great and you ARE at #4!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top