2/25 Edward AMPS-284, 318@+4, 310@+6.5, 374@+10, 343@PMPS

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
Last condo

We've seen pinks every day now since Friday night, and sometimes it seems like the insulin doesn't even do anything, like this morning. Makes me feel like I've completely messed up and I've let Edward down.

I hope you all are having a better day than I am. Kitties be safe.
 
I'm sorry.... these kinds of days are rough. You're doing everything right, sometimes you just have to wait out these periods of high numbers and weird responses (or lack thereof) to insulin. But it's definitely no fun to have to go through that and see those numbers over several days. I hope he comes down for you soon!

:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Last condo

We've seen pinks every day now since Friday night, and sometimes it seems like the insulin doesn't even do anything, like this morning. Makes me feel like I've completely messed up and I've let Edward down.

I hope you all are having a better day than I am. Kitties be safe.
Turn that frown upside down sunshine:):bighug:
We all go through the feeling of letting our furry loved ones down. But, it's not the case. You're going above and beyond what most people would do for their animals. Your dedicated to Edward, which shows the utmost love and loyalty. In a sense, we become like animals during this FD journey...we love unconditionally! You will find the dose that works for Edward! It just takes time and y'all are so brand new to this sugar dance. You're doing very good Kat! Don't let this temporary # change get you down. It WILL change, because that's the sugar dance darling.:bighug:
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) depending on today's data...isn't Edward safe for an increase this evening PMPS?

Hmm, good question. I'm a little hesitant just because the numbers for the last few days do seem out of character for Edward, so who knows if he's about to snap back to his usual. Other than that concern, it sure is starting to look like a failed reduction, so an increase tonight or tomorrow morning is in order.

Anything else going on with Edward these days that might be inflating his numbers?
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) and @Briere Fur Mom wahhhh :arghh: thank you so much for the encouragement! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I've been so down I haven't even wanted to post lately. I really appreciate the kind words <3

I cannot think of anything that has changed. Same food, same routine. Normal appetite (i.e. he eats when he wants - that could be better, I know). Good poops and pees. No vomit. He seems happy, affectionate, and playful. The only thing out of the ordinary was that 48 Friday night, but I would have thought that would have cleared by now??

I dunno... honestly I'm afraid to change his dose AT ALL, at this point. The absolute LAST thing I want is another <50 BG followed by 4 days of high #s. We've just been going round and round between .75u and 1u... maybe I just haven't given .75u enough time? Maybe he's just one of those cats who swings all over the place, no matter what? Maybe this is just a big lesson for me, from the universe in patience? I just don't know.

On the bright side, I have to commend you two... Amber's and Moey's spreadsheets are things of beauty... ya'll give me hope that some day I might be able to get Edward stabilized.
 
Last edited:
I think it would be perfectly fine to hold this dose a bit longer. I mean, I wouldn't go so far as to say that I expect Edward to pull a sudden switcheroo, but I also wouldn't exactly be surprised by it either!

In the TR guidelines, it is recommended to hold doses if the cat is "new to" good numbers. Even though Edward has now had several rounds of doses that brought him to greens and blues, he's still pretty new to FD overall, so I wonder if he'd benefit from sticking to those extended holds a bit longer? I mean, it seems a little odd to apply it right now, since he's spending most of his time in yellows and pinks, but he did have that 114 the other day, so he does seem to still be nadiring in blues.

Hang in there! You're doing great, and it's actually good that Edward seems to be feeling so good (even if it makes it harder for us to figure out what is going on with his BG :rolleyes: ). Our cats are more than their numbers!
 
Our cats are more than their numbers!

I need to remember that! Thank you.

I have no plans to increase his dose at this point. The last thing I want is to undo his progress again (such that it is :blackeye:), like I seemed to have done with the last increase attempt. Maybe I'll check in on that issue, closer to the weekend... see what the consensus is at that time.

Thanks again for the encouragement. I needed it.
 
Last edited:
This is the 7th cycle since Edward hit the 40's, so he should be over that bounce. Given that we had no test data the night of the 22nd, we can only assume he went lower again that night, triggering yet another bounce. Tonight should be the end of that bounce. If you don't see green by tomorrow morning, it's a failed reduction and I think you should increase tomorrow morning.

Let me explain why. First of all, I presume you are interested in the possibility of remission? Getting to remission means getting regulated first. Getting regulated means spending time in safe green and getting used to those normal numbers. Time in green is where his little pancreas can heal, by giving the insulin giving the beta cells a break. Spending time in higher numbers does not help, causes some glucose toxicity over time which ultimately means an even higher dose is needed for a breakthrough. It hinders progress, not helps it. The odds for remission are greater in the first six months since diagnosis. You do a great job testing. You also did a great job handling the 48 you got. He was just there briefly and you got him up into safe numbers quickly. Low numbers are scary, but become easier over time once you learn Edwards response to food.

It's not uncommon to have to go up and down in dose a bit. With time and experience, you will grow to love the greens.
 
@Wendy&Neko - whoa :banghead: OK, that totally makes sense. I hadn't even considered that he may have gone <50 two nights in a row, following that 337 at Saturday's PMPS. I figured he would still be bouncing all that night, as he didn't drop below 300 all day. Lesson learned: don't skip testing in those situations - he may surprise us.

Yes, I am absolutely interested in the possibility of remission; I'm just afraid of repeating the bounce cycle we just went through, as I feel like these bounces do more harm than good.

That said, I *SO* appreciate your advice. If he doesn't go green before tomorrow AMPS, I will increase to 1u tomorrow morning.

And THAT said ... ... ... Are you sure a skinny 1u wouldn't be a good idea?? Instead of a flat 1u? I'm just afraid of repeating the roller coaster wild ride we've been on.
 
Ugh, I just saw Edward's highest # ever - 374.

Could our insulin be bad? Bad test strips? Gah.
 
Back
Top