2/25 Eddie AMPS 81, +2/81, +3/82, +6/82, PMPS/136, +2/76, +4/80, +6/83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 2/21 Condo

Recap of last couple days:
2/23: AMPS/113, +2/83, +3/70, +8/77, PMPS/104, +2/98, +3/73, +5/76, +7/91, +9/96
2/24: AMPS/86, +2/96, +3/82, +6/89, +9/96, PMPS/115, +2/110, +3/88, +5/70, +6/70, +8/65, +9/87
Today: AMPS/81, +2/81, +3/82, +6/82, PMPS/136, +2/76, +3/77, +4/80, +6/83

Hello LL!

Stopping by with an Eddie update. His numbers continue to look great! Mostly green with a smattering of blues, and he's surfing like a pro! I think it was only about 3 or 4 months ago that I had started to get gun shy shooting numbers in the 120-150 range because Eddie was consistently crashing into very low numbers very early in his cycle - invariably as I was trying to get out the door for work. Now, we're shooting 80's, 70's, and even 60's without batting an eye. To Eddie's credit, he's really hit his stride while I've been home recovering so I've been able to see exactly what he's up to during the day, so I can leave him to go to TBP knowing he will be safe.

One could make an argument that we could try a normal numbers reduction again. However, Eddie's consistently getting a single reading in the 130's about every third or fourth day. I see a few cycles that might be inverse...for example, the AM cycle of 2/18, but I'm not seeing that pattern regularly. Mostly he's pretty darn flat. There's lots of times that his numbers most definitely come down after his +9 snack, so it looks like his pancreas is doing what it should be doing, with a little help from a few drops of insulin. On the other hand, it's crossed my mind to attempt an increase to see if that will wipe out those remaining blues. Would it be crazy to try that? Do a couple days of 0.5u to see if that will kickstart him a bit? Or, just sit back and watch him surf? :D I have yet to schedule Eddie's dental, but it's on my to-do list, so maybe we ought to just wait it out and make any dose adjustments after his dental. Anybody want to chime in any thoughts on that?

Eddie's been a snuggle monster since I've been off work. He's going to be really sad when I go back full time I think. Tonight, he had a good blast around right after PMPS, playing tag with one of the civies. Over the past several weeks, he's had at least one good blast around every day. The pumpkin has also been getting a work out. Right now, Eddie's draped over the arm of the couch napping until second supper.

Thank you @julie & punkin (ga), @Wendy&Neko, and @Amy&TrixieCat on your input and links to OTJ kitties. The project has begun. :joyful:

Prayers and vines to all kitties and beans in need.
 
Last edited:
I don't think I'd increase his dose at this point . . . everything under 120 is considered normal and he's just had a few recent 130's with everything else under 120. i think i'd be patient, but if you want to increase, since you're using calipers you could just give it the smallest possible increase.

just a heads-up - we're trying to discourage people from filling in cells on the ss that don't actually have tests. no test = blank cell. no worries - you've got a sea of green no matter what! :D

when you're looking at the tests, remember that there can be a 20% variance on the meters. I don't see anything that screams overdosed cat on his ss.

As far as the dental . . . it's so hard to say. Some kitties end up with complications (like infections, which is what we dealt with) after a dental. For others, the dental and getting any problem teeth fixed/removed is the key to going OTJ. I don't know how anyone can know what Eddie's response will be. I'd hate to upset him when he's so stable right now, at the same time, maybe it's the achilles heel that's preventing him going OTJ. You've gotta make that call.

Yay for the snuggle monster and the zoomies! nothing says happy cat like having a good blast around the house! :)
 
I've been watching Eddie's ss anxiously and expecting a decrease some time soon. I never even considered an increase. I don't know how much plaque is on his teeth. My vet was quite surprised to find Max had two broken teeth and a really bad cavity. If there's a chance that Eddie might need an extraction I think I would go for it. However, it hasn't helped Max's numbers. Then again Eddie doesn't have any other health issues in the way so I think I would go for it. To clarify I mean go for the dental and not the dose increase.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Julie - I wouldn't increase Eddie's dose, either...he really seems to love where he's at right now, and it sounds like he's feeling pretty awesome. I wouldn't want to rock that boat!
 
+2 = 76. Wowza, he was in a hurry to get rid of those blues tonight! :D

Hi @carfurby! Thank you for stopping by!

Hi @julie & punkin (ga), @tiffmaxee, @Amy&TrixieCat! Thanks for your input ladies. On the dental, on one hand, like you said Julie, there are risks, and it's tempting to not risk messing up a good thing and hold off on the dental to see if he can go OTJ by pushing the dose. But, at his annual visit, he had some pretty significant tartar (that's the hard stuff, right?) build up and his gumlines were red. Vetty didn't see anything obvious that needed extracting, but only x-rays under anesthesia will show that for sure. So, the dental has to be done regardless. Other than my fear of wrecking his numbers, there probably isn't any significant upside to waiting any length of time to do the dental is what I'm thinking.
 
ah, if your vet saw clear signs of dental issues, both the tartar (yes that's the hard stuff) and the gingivitis that he could see without putting Eddie under, then it's very likely there is more to be discovered. Given that situation, I'd get it done. Often people see no signs of anything wrong pre-dental, but they still end up needing extractions. Diabetic mouths are notorious for problems.
 
I agree with everyone, I'd hold the dose. The nadirs are awesome, and is the rest of his spreadsheet. :D

I too agree on going ahead with the dental. For Neko's last dental, I wanted to get some gum work done. She only had minor tartar and no red gums, nothing that flagged issues with teeth. The dental specialist always does X-rays, even though I didn't think she needed it. He found one tooth with the roots gone and a hole down to her jaw and two of her canines beginning to lose their roots. Only the one needed to be extracted for now. Marje just had Gracie go for a dental - again, no sign she needed anything but she was tilting her head a bit when eating. One extraction required. So much lurks below the gum line and red gums should be dealt with before the gingivitis turns into something worse.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top