2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3) +1 311 (R+4) +2.5 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

All is well in Cobbworld this morning. He's napping on the sofa while Matty slams his cars together on the floor. He doesn't seem phased at all.

Cobb didn't seem as hungry last night. But his hunger comes and goes depending on his numbers. All 5 p's are in place!

Happy Tuesday!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb AMPS 346 +2.5 352

Hi guys .. it's always nice to read that all is well in our kitties little worlds .. just as it should be! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb AMPS 346 +2.5 352 +6.5 327 +9 363(.1R)

Cobb is stubbornly sticking in the mid-300s. :YMSIGH: So I gave him .1 of R. Hopefully that brings him down for his PMPS and lets the Lantus do a little work.
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb AMPS 346 +9 363(.1R) +10 312 (R+1)

It looks like Cobb and Ole are R brothers today.

Come on boys! Work that R!

Rebekah.
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3)

R question: am I seeing the response I want to see from at? I obviously see that it brings him down. But then I see he the jumps back up. Not far enough for me to think it's a bounce, but just that it wore off within 2 hours. Just curious. I know it brought Cobb's BG lower for tonight's PMPS, given where he was hovering today. Just curious.
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3) - R question

Hi Rebekah! You have to consider with R where the BGs *might* have gone without the R. It definitely held him flat and even moved him down 78ish points in the second half of the cycle when he might otherwise have been going up. We just want R to move them down enough that the Lantus can work better.

I'd say that was great. Let's see what he does in the pm cycle - most of us have noted that the next cycle after the R cycle really shows the improved numbers. He's starting his pm cycle in pink, but i imagine he'll be in yellow shortly, possibly getting into blue.
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3) - R question

Hi there :cool:

It looks like R nadir today was R+2. Although you never really know what may have been had you not used R, it seems you got a respectable move down in numbers.

Next time you might try an experiment shooting R at the same time as L and see if that may be helpful.
Remember with L you are shooting at a number 3 or so hours down the road, when onset occurs. So, theoretically if you shoot R at +12 along with L, by the time R nadirs L onset begins.
This way L has a better starting point and an easier job.
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3) - R question

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Next time you might try an experiment shooting R at the same time as L and see if that may be helpful.

Would you stick with the "don't shoot R unless above 350" recommendation?
 
Re: 2/25 Cobb PMPS 315 (R+3) +1 311 (R+4) - R question

I agree with Julie and Sandy. I think, especially if he is headed up fast, you might really have been getting more out of the R than you think because it might have really curbed where he was going. I also found that when I first started using R, as soon as it wore off, Gracie would go back up. But after using it for a period of time, she quit going back up and started to just flatten out from where she was. Yes, there were times I gave it at a different time which might have influenced it but there were a lot of times I gave it to her late in the cycle after her nadir to stop her from heading back up so when she'd onset, she'd still be at a reasonable number (as Sandy was stating).

I am not aware of a "don't use it unless he's above 350". Gracie hasn't been over 300 in quite some time. What I look for and what you should, too, is a really fast rise. If he's going up super fast and the nadirs won't coincide, I'd try it.....of course, as long as you are there to monitor.
 
Hi there :cool:
cobbsmom said:
Would you stick with the "don't shoot R unless above 350" recommendation?
Since shooting R at your usual L shot time is something you have not yet tried, I think it would be best for Cobb to be 325-350, something like todays AMPS. It would provide some leeway to accommodate an unexpected drop should one occur. The data you collect will serve as your baseline to work from in future dosing decisions.

Different scenarios may require different dosing strategies.
You may find that shooting 0.10u R at a PS >325 gives a different outcome than shooting 0.10u R at +8 or +9 >325. .
You may find that using R to cover a skipped or fur-shot or head off a bounce to the moon needs 0.25u rather than 0.10u.

In any case, while you are experimenting with timing and dose, lean toward the side of caution
Some examples of BKs R scales are on the 2nd tab of his ss. I didn't start out shooting 3.5uR at PSs of 160-180, I got there systematically, shot by shot

It takes a little time but once you have accumulated more data on how Cobb reacts to R you can develop a scale to guide you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top