2/25 - Bandit - AMPS(228) +2(202) PMPS(166) +2(81) +3(65) +4(70) +5(73) - Back to back reduction?

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
Previous thread - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-24-bandit-amps-383-lessons-from-yesterday.226109/

Didn't take any readings after the AMPS +2 assuming it would be a bounce cycle. As always, she seems to have dipped lower at the end of the cycle.

+2 reading at 81 is much lower than I expected. The skipped shot day before yesterday doesn't seem to have drained her depot? Is that what I'm supposed to assume?

This is just the 4th cycle on the reduced dose of 2.25. Another reduction so soon on the back of one is bound to fail, right?

P.S. She is eating less since it's warmer. That's how it is with her.
 
Well, look at Bandit go!

If she'll eat a little LC snack now, you can try that to see if it helps level her off in these good numbers for a while.

In terms of a reduction, I don't think it's necessarily too soon. We usually try to avoid "back to back" reductions, which usually means in adjacent cycles, but you've had 4 cycles (plus a skip) on this dose, I don't think it's likely that the previous dose's depot is in play here.

Go Bandit!
 
Yeah, I am quite surprised. Especially after the skipped shot and the reduction.

65 @ +3

Fortunately she is munching on her LC food. She is a grazer and you can be sure she won't eat when you want her to. Unless of course it is the 18% carb kibble that she's addicted to!

Regards back-to-back reductions, we took one last month (one after 4 cycles from the other) and that didn't hold. Was at the time that we were transitioning her to YA. But I guess:

Expect the unexpected.
you are working at gaining positive change via insulin therapy. One of the changes is the counter regulatory reactions eventually calm down. Back in the day we called it “liver training “ ;)
When it comes to treatment decisions it’s best to focus on what you see in the data from the past 2 weeks. Anything older is pretty much ancient history.
 
Last edited:
70 at +4. Possible food bump and not the beginning of a bounce. In her previous avatar, she would have bounced to 200 already.
Will continue testing.
 
73 at +5. Nice surf. Looks like a repeat of 2 days back. She dips at the end of the cycle, so if she goes below 50 at +10 or +11 what do I do?

She will not eat any more YA by then. Choice is between honey and 18% carb kibble (a few pieces).
 
Last edited:
Back to back reductions is not mentioned in SLGS. With SLGS, you reduce immediately if you get an under 90, or whatever you are using as your reduction point. Nice to see Bandit clearing bounces faster. Congrats on the reduction.

I would be helpful to us if you put something like “SLGS, reductions at xx” in your signature.

Below 50, give her a little high carb food. If you test at +9.5, you can feed HC and have it out of her system by AMPS.
 
Back to back reductions is not mentioned in SLGS. With SLGS, you reduce immediately if you get an under 90, or whatever you are using as your reduction point. Nice to see Bandit clearing bounces faster. Congrats on the reduction.

I would be helpful to us if you put something like “SLGS, reductions at xx” in your signature.

Below 50, give her a little high carb food. If you test at +9.5, you can feed HC and have it out of her system by AMPS.

@Wendy&Neko She has bounced and is 230 at +8.5. You would recommend I take a reduction? So close on the back of the previous one?

I honestly don't know what to set as my reduction point. Just that it should be lower than 90. I had been thinking 60 or 70 and today her nadir was inbetween those so it's a coin toss!

Do you think her depot still looks too full at 2.25 like it did at 2.50?

Can I shoot through the bounce at 2.25 and reduce in the next shot (PM tomorrow)?
 
Wow! Looks like Bandit had a happening night! Did u manage to grab few hours of sleep?
The reduction worked. That’s great!
 
AMPS of 243. Took the reduction to 2 and hoping it holds.

Wow! Looks like Bandit had a happening night! Did u manage to grab few hours of sleep?
The reduction worked. That’s great!

Yeah, looks like Bandit's body was signaling that it needs a reduction from 1.75 itself but the bouncy liver was obscuring the signs for me. The AMPS today at 243 was lower than what I would have expected given last night's lows. I figured that since she went so low last night despite the skipped shot and only 3 cycles on 2.25 and the lower AMPS today, that she needed a reduction. I could be wrong.

Wouldn't mind an experienced member throwing some light!
 
Sorry, my mistake, should have remembered she wouldn't even eat HC wet. We don't have data on how fast it takes kibble to leave the system, but do know it takes longer. The only studies have been on wet/raw food. Though we do know honey/syrup leaves the system fairly quickly, that is also an option.
 
No sweat. That's why I gave her a dash of honey when she went sub-50 the other evening.

I'm even wondering whether I should consider a switch to Levemir at some point for its late onset. Bandit eats only when she wants. This morning she has barely eaten - just too hot, I guess and the food isn't as enticing as the 18% carb kibble she loves. She has nibbled a little at +2 and I'm glad she is on a bounce - I don't need to worry about her going too low without food. With Levemir's late onset, I would get 4-5 hours to get food into her.
 
Back
Top