2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485,+4.5~446

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485 Need addvice

Now I know for sure it was a fur shot...and his fur smells like Lantus. if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it. With this high number so far from Alex's next shot should I be doing giving him any more insulin? I don't know what to do
 
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485 Need Advice Plz

Now I know for sure it was a fur shot...and his fur smells like Lantus. if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it. With this high number so far from Alex's next shot should I be doing giving him any more insulin? I don't know what to do


Are u talking about another shot of lantus? NO I would not
its still early, see how the cycle pans out, hang in there Caryl
 
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485 Need Advice Plz

The rule of thumb with fur shots is that you can never be sure how much insulin went in and how much didn't. Therefore, it is not advisable to dose again, even a token dose as you just don't know and then could cause all kinds of wonkiness.

So, sadly, it's best to wait, note it on the ss as possible furshot and start again tonight.
Just keep a sniff on him as he's ketone prone and treat accordingly.

but man I hate seeing this high a number on him. And you just may find that he'll have a HI tonight - but with the correct shot and no furshot, he should get back on track.

He's just using up his shed right now and it will take time to replenish.

Make sense?
 
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485 Need Advice Plz

Ronnie & Luna said:
Now I know for sure it was a fur shot...and his fur smells like Lantus. if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it. With this high number so far from Alex's next shot should I be doing giving him any more insulin? I don't know what to do


Are u talking about another shot of lantus? NO I would not
its still early, see how the cycle pans out, hang in there Caryl

Yes that's what meant...Lantus.
Okay thanks. I didn't know what to do
 
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485 Need Advice Plz

Hillary & Maui said:
The rule of thumb with fur shots is that you can never be sure how much insulin went in and how much didn't. Therefore, it is not advisable to dose again, even a token dose as you just don't know and then could cause all kinds of wonkiness.

So, sadly, it's best to wait, note it on the ss as possible furshot and start again tonight.
Just keep a sniff on him as he's ketone prone and treat accordingly.

but man I hate seeing this high a number on him. And you just may find that he'll have a HI tonight - but with the correct shot and no furshot, he should get back on track.

He's just using up his shed right now and it will take time to replenish.

Make sense?

See I didn't know that was "the rule of thumb" for fur shots...there's a lot I don't know and this just sent me into panic state. I think that some of the shot must have gone in because Alex takes a large enough dose so that his fur would have been really wet if none got in. Not enough to keep his bg down though. I only felt a little wetness that's why Initially, I wasn't sure if it was a fur shot. I felt the needle come out of his skin...I must have shot through the other side or something?

I hate seeing his number so high also. I don't think there will be a ketone problem if he stays hi for only one cycle...I'll keep my nose open

Thank you Hillary..I'm going to test him now and then go tend to my migraine
 
Re: 2/25 Alex AMPS 317,+3~485

See that's just the problem with fur shots - you don't know how much went into cat and to shoot again, could cause an OD situation, because you just don't know.

Now if you told me, you took the syringe and shot yourself and not the cat, I would say go ahead and shoot the cat, but saying you shot the cat and his fur stinks (hey aren't you glad now that I told you way back when to squirt lantus into your hand and SMELL it) - you just don't know what he got or didn't get.

What's going to happen, is he will use whatever you shot in him up along with depleting the "shed".

So, yes, he may be HI tonight and may be higher for a couple days, because you have to essentially "start over" - replenish the shed - which takes time and give the regular shot.

I can honestly say, that is one thing I never did with Maui - furshots.

Now piercing her ears repeatedly - oh yeah did that, but not the furshot. Of course half the time I shot her, I always questioned it as it was such tiny amounts and I never believed it truly went in and stayed in..... :?
 
Re: 2/25 Alex PMPS 392 and ketones

I smelled Alex's breath at +11 and it was a little acetone...apparently this time it wasn't a precursor to the ketones because they are in full bloom. blood ketone is 2.6 which is high. but it's ketosis not dka..I can tell the difference at this point.
He's had his shot and will be getting subq fluids tonight. He has a great appetite and is feeling fine so I'm sure the insulin, lots of food and water, and the fluids will take care of it. I've already spoken to the vet.

Thank you Ronnie and Hillary for answering my call for help before. I realize that some people don't read my posts and I was scared. I knew my cat was in trouble. A fur shot for Alex can be a big deal. And it was.
Thank you again ♥
 
Re: 2/25 Alex PMPS 398,+2~368

Alex had his fluids at +2.5 and was sooo good about it :) Didn't squirm at all. hopefully this will start flushing the ketones out. Gave him 100ml. I'm not going to check ketones again until tomorrow because they stay in urine even after they're leaving the system so I'm just going to let the insulin and the fluids go to work.
 
Oh, gosh, Caryl, I've been distracted for days -- and just saw what a hard day you had. (((Caryl & Alex))) These things do happen. You are SUCH a good mama bean. Tomorrow will be better. :YMHUG:
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Oh, gosh, Caryl, I've been distracted for days -- and just saw what a hard day you had. (((Caryl & Alex))) These things do happen. You are SUCH a good mama bean. Tomorrow will be better. :YMHUG:

Alex's numbers are already down....probably in part from the fluids. I'm sure he'll be a lot better tomorrow. I always worry when there's a ketone situation, even though I've handled them before. I really don't know much about insulin dosing yet and still need help with that....I'm always afraid I'll do something wrong.

I know you have a lot of "problems" right now but thanks so much for stopping by with the nice words

:YMHUG: back at you (and Kitty, of course) :razz:
 
Dosing is scary. Nature of the beast! No pun intended. :mrgreen:

The fur shot especially. At least it's a lesson no one has to learn twice.

:YMHUG: back at ya! Hey, it's a wave! :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top