2/24 Willows Pmps 124bg 72bg@+4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys

As you can see by Willows SS she headed into scary danger zone. My wife ended up giving her a whole can of HC gravy food and two cans of MC fancy feast. Willow still stayed blue green. Doing a reduction of .25
She likes to keep us on our toes

Previous post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-willows-pmps-312bg.173682/

Of course, I'm still pretty new at this, but I don't think Willow needed a reduction. She only went to 54BG, and only once. As I understand it, to earn a reduction Willow would need more frequent and lower stats.

However, I do know how scary it is when you see that light green.

If I might make a suggestion? When thinking it might be time for a decrease in insulin, you might want to first check in with our list. Many here are extremely experienced, and very good at spotting when increases or decreases are needed. My suggestion is based on how much I was helped when trying to determine TiTi's reductions and increases. :bighug::bighug:
 
Of course, I'm still pretty new at this, but I don't think Willow needed a reduction. She only went to 54BG, and only once. As I understand it, to earn a reduction Willow would need more frequent and lower stats.

However, I do know how scary it is when you see that light green.

If I might make a suggestion? When thinking it might be time for a decrease in insulin, you might want to first check in with our list. Many here are extremely experienced, and very good at spotting when increases or decreases are needed. My suggestion is based on how much I was helped when trying to determine TiTi's reductions and increases. :bighug::bighug:
Hi

Thank you for checking in on us tonight, little rough of a day for Willow.

She is currently at 78bg +3.50 her pmps was 124bg any time any of the three number preceding a pershot number is lower then the preshot you will have problems later on with going into the danger zone. Today after giving her a large full can of gravy she should have blasted into pink or red. She only went up about 150bg and started coming back down all day. She also has had three times her normal amount of food today. This alone should have sent her into pink. My wife ran by the house because I asked her to check on Willow because her post shot numbers were too low. My wife had to leave and did not have the time to hangout so Willow could earn a reduction. When she saw the 54bg she panicked and gave a large can of gravy. We have had some major close calls with Willow.

Willow had just changed her food, she is on antibiotics and a inhaler. All of this is new so we don't have her on a safe amount just yet. Any time there is a big change in their diet it could take a few months to get her stable.
It's been very frustrating with the food change.

With the current food she is eating she should be at 1.5 iu however she was in the danger zone red and has a history of Keytones this is why I had jumped her insulin to a much larger amount. We had to get her back into blue safer numbers.
She has stage one kidney disease and at this point we have stopped if from going into stage two.

Yep she has been a handful

Again thanks for checking in on us, looks like I'll be up until she starts to surf.
 
Sorry for the crazy day. Good thing your wife was able to check on Willow. I hope you can balance everything out and get her back to surfing safely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top