2/24 Weezer PMPS 284 +2 303 +4 250 +5 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 266 (16u Lantus + .25 u R)
+4.5 345
+8 385
PMPS 334 (16 u Lantus + .5 u R)
+2 339
+3 336
+5 288
+6 325
+11 400

We need to get these numbers down! We will be changing to Levemir at the beginning of the week because it looks like the Lantus just isn’t working for Weezer. We increased her dose from 15 u to 16 u on Monday and her BGs went up. Her daily averages are still higher than before that increase, and it’s not the first time that has happened. Just looking at the numbers, we would be increasing her Lantus dose, but I don’t want to do so if it may be the Lantus she is reacting against. I will be more aggressive with the R until we get the Levemir and can make the switch.

I started writing this condo before Weezer's AMPS. So, after writing that last sentence I get a 277, after a 400 one hour ago! The 400 seemed to fit the upward trend from last night, so as unwelcome as it was, I didn't retest. The 277 earned a retest, which was not easy given that she could see her breakfast waiting, with some shredded deli turkey on top. Anyway the retest was 282, so no hokey pokey. I would ordinarily shot .25 R at this AMPS, but if she really is dropping at that rate, I don't dare. So DH will test at +2 and if she is rising wildly, add some R to the mix then.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Nice AMPS Weezer! Quite the drop from +11. Good luck with the Levemir. I hope it helps with the large doses and high BGs. Have a great day Linda!
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

nice amps!! and yes, what a drop - good thinking on the R. I hope Weezer had a good cycle this morning. Good luck with the Lev - I hope that works better for her.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Hi Linda, quite a drop. It has to be so frustrating for you to keep raising and see not much change. I wish you and Weezer well on the Lev come next week. Have a nice day, Linda.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Wow, Weezer sure does like to confound you, doesn't she? Keep on coming down, Weezer. I hope the lev works better. What does will you start at?
Liz
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Anne & Zener said:
Wow, Weezer sure does like to confound you, doesn't she? Keep on coming down, Weezer. I hope the lev works better. What does will you start at?
Liz
To answer the first question: YES! :roll: On the second, we've thinking to start at half her current dose and be ready to quickly move up.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Hi Linda, it'll be interesting to see how Weezer does on Lev. Hope she surfs nice and yellow (or blue would be nice :smile: ) for you today.
Hope you have a nice day, Linda :-D
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Hi guys .. yes I bet that 277 took you by surprise! I hope weezer has an awesome day in store for you .. and I hope the change over to levemir is what this sweet girl needs .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277

Good job surprising the beans Weezer :o but can you please slow down a little bit now.

Thanks for visiting Vyktor on dental day I was more than a little bit nervous. I just gave him his first dose of tramadol which I was also nervous about since he doesn't take kindly to me trying to shove anything down his throat . I was successful this time but I'm glad the vet warned me about the drooling that would likely follow, it was pretty messy. I have lost the element of surprise now so not sure how I'm going to go with the next one in 6 hrs. Vyktor was not a happy boy!

No treatment for his arthritis suggested at this time (but the foods he now eats contain greenlipped mussels or krill oil so that should help a bit). It will be interesting to see how he goes without his dreadlocks. If he still seems have pain at that end I will look into treatment.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311

I guess she missed the pink, so she's back to it. DH gave her .25 R at +3 and will be monitoring her closely.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311

Weezer Weezer. .
(I wonder if the 400 was a weird reading. . .)

Fingers crossed that the Lev may work better for her Majesty. I have no idea about a starting dose when switching, or what affect the switch may have from the IAA side of things.

In the mean time, you may want to consider adding a +6 R dose into the mix, using your current scale, to try and beat down some of that pink (not on today's AM cycle as you have already given some at +3) When we were in the thick if it I gave BK R at +6 in addition to the R he got at PS time, sometimes AM and PM.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311,+5 250,+6 273

Hi Linda & Weezer,
Nice yellows today, Weezer! Keep up the good work!

I don't know what the exact dose equivalent would be in switching from Lantus to Lev., but I recall reading somewhere that the comparable Lev. dose is somewhat smaller. Lisa (Do Lou) switched from Lantus to Lev., went back to Lantus, and has since switched back to Lev. Do Lou has IAA. You might PM Lisa to see what her experience has been.

The Wikipedia article on Lev. is very good:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Levemir

Good luck with the switch and I hope that it will help Weezer get better regulated. I have been very happy with Lev. once I got my head to accept the time differences between Lantus and Lev. (Stu had been on Lantus; with Lev. onset is later, as is the nadir). I didn't switch Rusty to Lev.: he was already on it when we adopted him. He had been on Lantus when he lived with Claudia. Phoebe switched him to Lev. when she adopted him because her cat Tiggy was on Lev. and she didn't want to deal with two different insulins. So I have no direct knowledge of how to go about switching. I would imagine that there would be a shed overlap--the Lantus shed draining while the Lev. shed is getting built. Both Marje (Gracie) and Ann (Tess) switched from Lantus to Lev. and they may have some observations for you to ponder!

I guess you'll be doing some intensive reading this weekend! Have a good one,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311,+5 250,+6 273

Weezer is having a good day! I hope the Lev makes her numbers even better, Linda.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311,+5 250,+6 273

Hi Linda I'm sorry I've missed your condo (and many others) lately. I heard you were thinking of switching to levemir.

I would check in with Libby. Jazzy, who was an acro kitty, started on lantus and Libby switched her to levemir. She was on 14u lantus and Libby started her lev with 12u. So she would be an excellent resource.

We changed Gracie to lev not because she was not responding to lantus but because she was just a dive/bouncer on it. We have never regretted the switch.

I can give you some general observations about lev.

1. expect that she may have even higher numbers as you drain her lantus shed and fill her lev shed. Check out Gracie's SS; we increased her dose aggressively but it took 6 days to start seeing the numbers come down. I think it is also a good idea to ask Libby how aggressive you can be with the dose changes. According to the Tilly protocol, when switching cats from one insulin to another, you can increase doses a little faster. I started Gracie on .5u and after two cycles raised her to .75u and after four cycles raised her to 1u. Pretty fast.....but please check with Libby/Jill on whether that is appropriate for Weezier.

2. it can take weeks or months for a kitty to progress to where they were with the previous insulin....in other words, the effects are not immediate. For Gracie, we did see her flattening out in pretty short order. But she didn't really start churning out alot of good back to back cycles for about 5-6 weeks.

3. While the "typical" lev curve might have kitty onsetting at +4 and nadiring anywhere from +8 to +12, Gracie onsets about +6-+7 and nadirs usually +13-+14. So her a.m. shot usually nadirs 2-3 hours after I give her pm shot. She gets some really nice overlap with levemir that she never got with lantus. I don't think any of the other lev kitties like Tess, Alex, Do Lou, Rusty, do this. My point is....Weezer is going to do her own thing but she will most likely onset later and nadir later than she does now. I would encourage you to study the above cats' SSs and look at the possible trends. I think they are all different ;-) :-D :-D

4. Lev draws differently than lantus. It's thicker; it took me a while to figure out how to draw it without bubbles in the hub of the Monojects. I think you may be using Ulticares and so it could be different. If you have any trouble drawing, let one of us know. The one thing I have noticed is that if I have a bubble...do not flick the syringe....it only makes it worse. If there is a bubble after I've withdrawn the syringe from the pen, then I draw air into the syringe so all of the insulin and the bubble are 3-4u below the needle side of the syringe. Then I slowly express the air.

Please let us know if you have any questions or we can help in any way. I hope this helps Weezer like it did Jazzy.....and Gracie. I wish I had switched her long before I did.
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311,+5 250,+6 273,+9 292

Good luck with the change to lev! Hope this will be the answer for Weezer...Many here can help you with this and if anyone will succeed with this change I know it will be you two!! :-D :-D :-D
Hugs & love from us!!!
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer AMPS 277,+3 311,+5 250,+6 273,+9 292

Way to turn it around, Weezer! Good move with adding that R in at +3! I hope you see some good action with the switch to Lev!!!
 
Re: 2/24 Weezer PMPS 284

Weezer was yellow most of the day, with an average of 278 for the cycle. That isn't as low as we would like, but it's better than it has been. :-D She got .25 u R with her PM shot. I hope it keeps her yellow (dare we hope for blue?) throughout the night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top