2-24 Snickers - AMPS=627, +6=569

SingsToCats

Member Since 2020
I posted a few days ago for the first time. I appreciate everyone who posted in my thread, it may me a little calmer.

Snickers' glucose is still very high. I tried setting up my signature line, I hope it works.

I haven't given him his nightly injection yet. He seems to feel bad most of the time.
 
For those who didn't read your previous post, here is the link to it for some background: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...glucose-keeps-going-up-to-600-and-700.226011/

I can your spreadsheet - so good job on getting the signature working!

Is it possible for you to get any tests at night? Maybe one just before bedtime? Many cats go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, hence the desire to get some night time data.

How is Snickers feeling other than his numbers? How is his appetite, litter box contributions OK, purring, grooming himself, any play? Cats are more than their numbers and only you can see those aspects.
 
Hon? Remember this, Snickers didn't GET diabetes in a few weeks, it won't be controlled in a few weeks. Don't get discouraged. He's at a good dose to HELP his body heal and acclimate to the insulin.

Wendy asked you some really important questions above.

You're doing great, hang in there!
 
One more thing, are you testing for urinary ketones? Always a good practice when they are staying in high numbers.

Out of curiosity, how much does Snickers weigh?
 
He currently weighs 14.3 points. He's been holding steady. He gained some weight when all this started, he feels very round.

I'm not testing for ketones, I don't know how.

He still eats often, but he's not eating as much. He drinks a lot and pees a lot. I don't think he's grooming himself as much. He's been a little grouchy lately, which means he doesn't feel good.

I don't know if I can do any nighttime tests tonight, I think we're getting low on strips. I need to order some more tonight.

Thanks to both of you for replying. This has all been very stressful and it's great to have some reassurance.
 
Hi Liz and welcome!

Do yourself a big favor and get a human meter. You’re going to be needing a lot of strips and the Alphatrak strips are expensive. Additionally the dosing methods we follow here are based on values from human meters. While you’re at the pharmacy purchase some ketostix. They are strips that you hold under your kitties urine stream to check for the presence of ketones in the urine. Very important.

midcycle tests can reveal a lot about what’s really going on. An ugly AMPS does not always mean more insulin is needed, it very well could mean that kitty went lower than normal overnight and the high number in the morning is a reaction to that.

Hang in there and hang in here.
You are in the very best place you could be to learn about safely managing feline diabetes.
 
Back
Top