2/24 - SHAKES AMPS 265, +6 381--ADVICE PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone
Hope all is well, wish we were doing better
Shakes numbers after the insulin keep rising instead of going down
my vet says to increase but when I do his nadir numbers keep going up
why does his numbers get better when the insulin is wearing off??
and why do his numbers not go down at all

everytime after I give him his injection, his gets lathargic, his pupils gets large and he just wants to sleep,
Is this normal after injections?

I do no want to raise him anymore,
I amthinking of switching to PZI
any input? please
 
Good morning!! Sorry that Shakes' numbers aren't where you want them to be.

I see from your spreadsheet that you just started antibiotics a couple days ago. Infection can totally wreck havoc with a cat's numbers and their curves. If you look at Willie's spreadsheet in January, you can see that he was doing the same thing... his numbers had no rhyme or reason, but once I got the ABs back in his system and had a chance to settle in, his numbers, while still high, at least started moving in a more traditional curve like pattern. Honestly, until the infection passes, I think you will see wonkiness on any insulin you are using and you may see mostly high numbers. His body may just have a lot going on right now.

I'm not sure about the symptoms... what are the ABs treating? It may just be that he isn't feeling well overall?

Hopefully others will chime in as well!
 
We are waiting for the test results from the vet for a urinary tract infection
The vet put him on them just in case so we are not sure yet if he does have one
I will check your spreadsheet though
and than you so much for your input
 
Thank you, I just got a call from the doctoe and he does not have a urinary tract infection.....so if there is no infection, what could be going on?
 
I think you are holding on to doses way too long. If you look over the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky you'll note the following:

"General" Guidelines:

* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I think Shakes needs more insulin.
 
looks like shakes needs more insulin to me.
doses have been held far too long. the longer a kitty remains in higher numbers, the more it takes to cause a break through.

if shakes were mine, i would check for ketones often and become more aggressive as allowed in the tight regulation protocol:

Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

i think there's room for at least a 0.25u increase.

what do you think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top