2/24 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2 372 +4 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Very Active Member
amps 297, got home a little earlier from work and Scrabble and Sabrina were chomping at the bit for me to feed them. Needless to say Scrabble was not having his bg test and I had a hard time (actually wasted 2 strips!) getting a reading but finally got one. Poor guy, I poked him like 4 times!!!! He was starving, he didn't care about his test. I am happy to see a yellow and hope that maybe we can go into blues today!!!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7168
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297

Question, how long does a bottle of lantus last? I have read so many things about the duration of it? and what does everyone use, the bottle or these cartridges I am hearing about?
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

Michelle, it is much more economical to use the cartridges or the Solar Star Lantus pen. You get 5 in a box instead of having to waste most of one vial. You draw the insulin from the cart or pen the same way you would do it from the vial.
Your vet needs to write a script for it.
I have never used a vial, pen or cart more than 30 days. Many people here use them much longer but I believe the instructions say not to use past 30 days.

It is a little more expensive upfront than the vial but you get 5 months worth of insulin vs. 1 month.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

Hi Michelle,

I'll ditto everything Miriam said.

Using Costco as a guideline, you'll pay approximately 94.00 for the 10ml vial and you dispose of more than half of it. For the cartridges or the Pens, you'll pay about 188.00 (at least at the Costco where I live) and get 5 months which makes that about 38.00 a month and depending on how long you use the 3ml cartridge, you'll get a lot more out of it. Alex is on a fairly high dose(4.75 bid) and I used almost the whole cartridge last month using it for 28 days.

I don't use it for more than a month but many others use the Lantus until they see the bg's starting to get wonky or the lantus starts looking "funny". (Cloudy or with little particles in it)

Hope this helped too....

Caryl
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

My pharmacist will sell the cartridges singly. It costs more than buying a box of 5, but it's not such a large outlay of cash at one time. Ask at your pharmacy. Good luck!

Ella
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

What Miriam said!!

If you read the Tilly Protocol, the authors (from the German Lantus/Lev forum) say they have had Lantus last for 6 mos. The manufacturer's recommendation is to not use Lantus for more than 28 days once you have started a vial or cartridge. I do think there are some cats who are exceptionally sensitive to the potency of Lantus. Gabby is one of them. Any time I've gone beyond the 28 days, even though my cartridge is pristine -- no floaties, not been shaken, rattled, or rolled -- Gabby's numbers have suffered.

Costco seems to have good prices. I'd also suggest checking at a university medical center pharmacy. I've found they have very competitive prices and will sell single cartridges which most retail pharmacies will not do.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

We are on (were until last week when we started pur OTJ trial) the same vial of Lantus that we bought on October 19. We have used it for 4 months so far.

Call me a cynic, but I would put NO faith at all in what the manufacturer recommends. Of course they want you to dispose of it as quickly as possible and further, will take no risk whatsoever, so you can bet that their recommendation is SO far into the caution zone as to be meaningless.

One of the advantages of the vial over the pens is that the pen and cartridge combination comes with an awful ot of plastic packaging. (We have a set of cartridges as a backup and I was kind of surprised when we got them how much stuff is in there!)

I would say the key is taking good care of the vial or cartridge, whichever you use. Don't shake it. Keep it constantly refrigerated. I would say cartridges also, because the reason the manufacturer says do not refrigerate an open cartridge has to do with pen use and we don't use pens for our kitties. Some say when the pen is cold it doesn't work right and some say that it keeps the insulin cold even while you are shooting it (in human size doses via the chilled pen) and that is painful.

Them's my two cents!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297/lantus question?

Thanks everyone for your 2 cents! I was wondering since this is my first vial of lantus. Just took Scrabble's +6 # & I was expecting it to go down a lot and it is higher than his preshot?! Damn, why is this happening? Is he still feeling the effects from Sunday night? I know Sienne had told me that the effects could last up to 72 hours? Just wondering if anyone had any insight?
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

+7 399 don't understand what is happening???? why is he shooting up rather than going down??? I am so frustrated!!!!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Hi Michelle,
He may be getting ready to break. Often cats will go wayyyyyyyy up before they break.. not sure why they do that but let's see how the next cycle pans out.

Another thing to think about is we have a blank cycle from last night. His numbers trending up this cycle could actually be rebound from a breakthrough last night. On 2/22 you had an AM cycle where he did the same thing after a run of blues.

I know it's very very hard to watch this happening and not want to jump up in dose but always remember that Lantus is all about patterns. We'll help you watch him and give you pointers, ok?
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 ???

Most meters have a 10% to 20% accuracy rate, so it could be meter variance. You're still in the early days and things do change a lot. Also when was the last time he ate in relation to the test? He could have gone down and then up again in the 6 hours between tests too. Remember, he's a cat! They always do what they want. ;-)

I use the cartridges and am just past the 28 day mark on my first and have seen no ill effect yet. I'm considering getting the pen just as a protective cover for the cart. Right now I have it in a baggie in some padding, not happy with that though.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

I fed Scrabble after his amps number, I shot him and then went to bed, I don't think he ate between his shot and his +6, if he did it was minimal, I fed him after I did his +6, so he ate in between his +6 and +7, yes I see Cat's do what they want, but he is killing me!!!!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Thanks Carolyn, I had a blank night last night because I work nights and Tuesday is the night I have to be in early. So there isn't any way I can test on Tuesday nights. I don't have to be in til later tonight so I can do a couple of tests before I leave.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

While Ann's correct about meter variance, I suspect that the upward trend from your AMPS is likely due to one of the reasons that Carolyn suggested. Given that you had a blue cycle 2 nights ago, my guess is that Scrabble had low numbers last night and this is a bounce.

I'm wondering if there's any possibility of adjusting your shot times so you are able to get one spot check in the PMs so that it fits around your work schedule. It's just a thought.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

I wish I could adjust his shot schedule but like I said Tuesday is the only day where I cannot do a test after his pm shot. I work 30 miles from my home so with my work and driving schedule I am sometimes gone for almost 12 hours so 4pm/4am is the only time when I know for sure I will be home!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

I understand, real life intervenes. It's ok, just be careful when you see a cycle like this that you don't automatically assume you are doing anything wrong. It often takes several cycles to see the pattern, so we can help guess scenarios that make sense until the picture becomes more clear.

And I'd catch a +10 and PMPS. Sound good?
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

By the way, Scrabble is a gorgeous cat.. do you have a larger pic of him? He appears to look a lot like my Leo--same belly hair, same tail, same coloring.. the avatar is Leo's glamour shot, but he's all hair LOL
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

I will do a +10 for sure, I always feel like I am doing something wrong! It gets so frustrating when I think I am turning a corner and then all this happens. I was so excited on Sunday night when I saw lots of blues after an increase that I thought wow we are on our way! Now since then it is like I am at square one. I will post another pic of Scrabble(as I have many!!) He is all hair for sure!!!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Leo is about to get a haircut, but his belly hair is a minimum of 4 inches long. :)

Don't let the individual numbers and individual cycles bring you down. It takes a while for Lantus to get to working properly and it takes the body awhile to get used to working with outside insulin. Keep an eye on the big picture only, that's why we are always looking for the WCR. If the cat is happy, feeling good, playful, peeing and pooping normally, periodic high streaks are nothing to lose sleep over. Believe me, your SS looks like pretty much every other kitty starting out on insulin. :)
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Thanks Carolyn, I guess as any cat mother, I go into panic mode right away. Yes he does seem happy and I was playing with him last night before bed, he was quite wild! His appetite is definetely there and he uses the litter box regularly! I just want to do all I can to help him, it just frustrates me when he doesn't "cooperate"! :) I will post again @ +10
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

awww what a terrific WCR!

I will probably be out by your PMPS but I'll pop by and see his SS tonight when I get home or in the morning :)
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

put up a new pic of my boy, will be back @ 2pm for a +10, thanks for all your help everyone! and for keeping me semi-calm!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Michelle, Carolyn was the one who helped me in the beginning with my "pounding my head against the wall". It gets really frustrating especially at the beginning. Webber would have cycles where I would litteraly be thinking "I am so confused, what is going on here?" That's why we call is the sugardance. :mrgreen:

Hang in there, you are really doing great!!!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

I know it's easy to say and hard to do.. but if scrabble is bouncing.. it is actually a step forward and not a step back like it feels like.. its hard to accept this.. I know.. I was saying it over and over to myself all day yesterday trying to convince myself of it because my kitty had a bounce too :) (I've always thought my cat was half duck because she loves water.. I'm thinking the other half is kangaroo).

I've also been beating myself up because I couldn't stay up late to test or test during the day because of work, so I don't know exactly when the bounce happened or how low she got.. (not that it really matters now.. but I can't help myself :) ).. so I can say you shouldn't feel like you do all I want, but I know it's not that simple.

My brain says I have to work.. intense deadlines this week and working lots of overtime this week means I can hopefully have some time off next week for her surgery.. but my heart doesn't much care what my brain thinks.. the reality is.. need to work to afford to care for her, can't care for her as well as I would like because I'm working..

All we can do, and all our kitties would ever expect of us, is to do the best we can. I'm pretty sure you are doing that.

Maybe knowing your not the only one being unnecessarily "emo" about it today will help a little bit :).
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

@michelle, he's handsome!!
@dawn and paige, thank you both for your great posts, and sharing your experiences. It really does help people to know they are not the only ones trying not to stab their eyes out with a spoon or decide if sleep is really a necessary component of daily life with a diabetic cat :)
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

Ok +10 is a 381 thanks to all for their kind words, & yes I do feel like bashing my head against the wall!!!!! My head has been pounding since I got up and nothing is helping. Anyway, will be back with a pmps #, we'll see what tonight brings. I will be able to test a +2 & +4 before I leave for work. Oh and also I opened new test strips and used the control solution (just to make sure the other strips weren't faulty :) ), yes this is my obsessive compulsive disorder coming out!!! Hahahaha
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE AMPS 297 +6 312 +7 399 need help??

pmps 384, so guess it is one of those stinky pinky days, guess I am not really supposed to get it yet! hahaha! Hope I will see a little action with +2 & +4 then off to work.
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 :(

Maybe a good time to stalk the litter box :lol:
Thanks again Carolyn for coming to the rescue :-D
Like I said before tomorrow is another day- Hang in there Michelle your doing great and I know how much Scrabble loves his mommabean !!!
Talk to you later-
Sherry & Squirt
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 :(

Thanks Sherry for your help, I did catch him in his litter box right after and put a stick in and it was negative for ketones so we are good there, looking forward to seeing his +2 and +4, hope they go down!!!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2 372

Just checking in on you. Hope the bounces clear soon. Yes, it can take 72 agonizing hours some times. And Every Cat is Different. He's had blues, he'll get them again. You're doing great!
 
Re: 2/24 SCRABBLE PMPS 384 +2 372

Thanks for checking in, just wish I understood why he is not back in the blues, it is making me blue! LOL! Not funny really because I want to rip my hair out but hopefully he is down a bit in an hour before I leave for work. Keeping an open mind about tomorrow! Come on Scrabble!!!
 
michelle, he is beautiful! :)
lots of cats start out in liver training school. numbers that seem fine to us they react to until their systems finally realize how much happier they are in lower numbers. it works itself out. lantus is definitely one of those "slowly build up to where you're going" kinda insulins so follow tilly and you'll be all right.

as for the 28-day "rule," i followed it for a while til i realized i needed to save money (LOL). sometimes cats go up for whatever reason (sneaking an illegal high carb snack, fighting with another kitty, etc), and we used to ascribe it to old insulin. but many people have used vials a long time. i've learned cleo's cartridges/pens last to the last drop, which is about 9 weeks for us. it's a different story for people, who have their lantus pens in all kinds of temperatures and not refrigerated most of the time. for them technically the insulin wouldn't stay good as long except for the fact that their daily doses are generally higher than most kitties' so they empty them out faster. if you suspect it's gone bad, always keep a thermometer near it to make sure it didn't freeze partially, look for particles (floaties) in it, or what works for me is noticing whether it smells really strongly like bacon instead of the normal lantus smell. that's the only time it's gone bad on me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top